We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise is not the word love this place you will understand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Utica, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise is not the word love this place you will understand”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband and I have been going to this resort twice a year for about 14 years we just came home and already can not wait to go back the staff are so real just good people will help in any way they can they treat us like family and we treat them the same the rooms are all ocean pool and garden view I mean all 3 you have it all with all the rooms the views are breath taking the water is multiple colors of blue so pretty sand is white beach is very clean make sure you let Margaret on the beach braid your hair or get some island handmade jewelry from her she is so funny the 3 pools and one kids pool are beautiful waterfalls and beautiful flowers everywhere also well maintained great entertainment and buffet at night also fire floor show or just music to dance too we always have a good time also this island and resort are so safe you never have to be afraid you can leave the resort and never worry the locals are wonderful people as well and Friday nights are a must to be at ostin's the whole island is there it is a big party with great food and dancing but get ready there are so many people there you can not even imagine you'll see and you will have a blast !!!! And for lunch you have to eat with Leroy he is the food cart right outside the door of the resort he has the best food on the island for only10.00 us his coleslaw is the best I ever had I only had one issue with this resort they do not like cats and all the guest love them and while I was there these 4 little kids were playing with the cats and they told me some lady that works there told them not to feed the cats because they we going to get rid of them so these children asked me if that mean't they were going to kill them what a horrible thing for an adult to make a child think shame on them there parents were upset as well The bourgainvillia does not realize how many guest just love those kitty's with that being said book your next vacation in beautiful Barbados and stay at the bourgainvillia and you will keep returning as we have Linda and Fred brown

Room Tip: If you can not walk well book a room on the ground floor as there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    638
    146
    33
    28
See reviews for
598
949
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This is our third time to Bougainvillea and we wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island. The staff are ao welcoming and many remembered us. My son is three years old and all staff were so friendly to him. Very attentive too. We only ever plan to stay here on any return, great beach, great people. Anyone who comes and who doesn't experience such great staff either has way too much expectation, lack of patience or just doesn't get what Bajans are about. Roxi, Walter, leena, Hayden, Jose, Ryan, Jamal, Anthony, boy you make thai place wonderful. Love it love it love it. Thank you for everything. Jilly, Richie and ravi

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jillykor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We spent a week here 1st week May '14. On arrival, we weren't sure of the area around it as it looked quite run down, but once we saw the beautiful beach (we think best on the island - they are building a Sandals nearby) we loved it. The watersports team will get a beach parasol to put wherever you want it, plenty of sunbeds all free of charge. The restaurants are right on the beach too, which is unusual as they are normally set back. The staff were so friendly (Jose, Roxy, Ryan on the bar) as were most guests staying there, and the guests were a good mix of ages Many go out in the evening to St Lawrence Gap, my only criticism is that the restaurant menus are limited and not changing during the week, bar a few specials. We did enjoy the Caribbean floorshow, the Manager's cocktail party and bbq though, we went to Oistins fish fry, an Island tour and Catamaran trip to the West Coast to swim with turtles. Our room was large and well maintained. We spoke to several guests who return year after year, (one for 15 years!) and the staff recognise them and are friends. I had a medical problem one evening and Shivaun and other staff were so caring, arranging a taxi and doctors appt for me and enquired how I was for days after, this was so lovely and reassuring during our first visit to Barbados.

Room Tip: If you're not happy with the room allocated, ask if there is another - the staff are so willing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdmg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Coming back for the last 20 years should evidence how wonderful this resort is.
The Staff actually remember us each year and we have made some great international 'same time, next year' friendships.
Hotel management superb and interactive with guests, one always feels welcome and special and the service is superb.
Looking forward to many more visits!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I was very disappointed on my first visit to Barbados. I travelled solo for my birthday. This is a very old building. The room that I was given was really warm and the air conditioning was not working properly. Windows were wood made and did not seal completely so bugs could easily enter the room. Food was very poor at the only restaurant at the resort. Staff seemed not to care I was there. At checkin I was charged 200$ for incidentals and I only had my debit card with me. It took like almost 2 months to get my money back from the bank. I would have given them the deposit in cash instead. The zone was very sketchy, on my way back from the supermarket I was walking and I was approached by 2 locals who were bugging me, and had to run back to the hotel. On the other hand I have to say beach was gorgeous! That "saved" my trip. I do not recommend this hotel. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Newman21890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We are sorry if you were disappointed with aspects of your visit. As it has been quite some time since your stay, we cannot verify or respond specifically to all of your comments.

However, we would like to advise that it is customary at hotels around the world to have a credit card authorisation or (if a credit card cannot be provided) a cash security deposit taken at check-in. For Bougainvillea, it is in the amount of $400 Barbados dollars (US$200). No charges are applied to the credit card and cash deposits are fully refunded as long as equivalent charges are not incurred. We regret if there was a delay in your card being cleared but this would have been an issue with your bank. Had we been aware of your challenge, we would have been happy to contact your bank to try to assist in expediting the process for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We enjoyed an 8 day stay here in late April 2014. After the short 15 minute cab ride from the airport we were treated to first class service despite our 10 p.m. check-in. From the front desk people right down to the food service staff everyone is very knowledgeable and friendly. The level of service and housekeeping is of high quality. The hotel maintains two restaurants and the food is very good and reasonably priced for the island. The property has a small beach with waves and you can walk a couple of hundred yards farther west if you traverse a small set of stones. It is a 10-15 minute walk along the beach to an access path that leads to the famous St. Lawrence Gap. The "Gap" is the location of many restaurants and nightlife spots. If you choose to rent a small car for a day or so the agencies deliver the car to the hotel for you. English is the predominant language and the guest population is an even mix of British, American, South American, European, etc. which makes for interesting happy hour chat at the swim up bar.

Room Tip: The closer to the beach the better the breeze through your suite. We never used the air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azdesert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Like many people before us we researched the hotels thoroughly on tripadvisor and ended up with Bougainvillea meeting our budget. We selected a superior studio suite on a breakfast only basis.
We were given a room on the third floor on the eastern side of the resort with a balcony overlooking the Waterfront Restaurant roof, and onto the quieter (and more windy) beach.
Transfer from the airport was short and at check in we were warmly greeted and quickly taken to our room. Mathew carried our bags and familiarised us with the functional aspects of the room very well.
Overall the hotel facilities and our room were in very good decorative order and like the gardens, well maintained. The hotel does provide guest facilities if you have to check out early which are simple, but very useful and effective.
Being on the third floor gave us a great view and we felt we would have been disappointed if we had been allocated the room on the ground floor or the floor below us which only had a view of the kitchen entrance to the restaurant. The kitchen extractor was audible on the balcony until the restaurant closed around 11pm but this is mostly drowned out by the noise of the waves crashing on the beach.
The room was very spacious, the bed extremely comfortable, with a large L shaped seating area, TV, IPod docking station, a quiet fan and air conditioning unit. The bathroom has a shower big enough for two, with a good supply of hot water. There is also a built in mirrored wardrobe and a safe, which easy to use. A fresh supply of towels were delivered daily.
The kitchenette was well equipped, with a large fridge, microwave, kettle, old style coffee percolator, utensils and plenty of crockery. As previous reviewers have stated, the water is safe to drink but it needs to be stored in the fridge if you ever want it cold!
The front door to our room (3315) wasn't particularly sturdy and you needed to make sure it was shut when you left. However we did not mention it as we felt very safe in and the around the hotel, with very vigilant security staff making rounds day and night. Room was kept spotlessly clean by Judy on a daily basis.
There are two beaches you can use, one more windy than the main Maxwell Beach which is directly in front of the Lanterns restaurant. There were always plenty of sunbeds, so no reservations were required. The Watersports boys were always available to erect a parasol, with an ample supply of beach towels.
The main Maxwell Beach was narrow which meant it felt rather busy at times and the sea conditions were rough, with red flags, as described by other reviewers. The hotel pools were clean, family friendly with one having a lovely swim up bar.
The second beach is the other side of wedding point and is a lot quieter. It is more exposed and windy however.
Breakfast is served at the Lanterns and was somewhat more frugal than we are used to in other Caribbean hotels we have stayed at, however there were a variety of options available and menu choices at an additional cost. We ate at both restaurants and had meals outside the hotel, all very nice and reasonably priced.
There is a small shop selling the basics, 200 yards along the road. A larger supermarket is a 5 minute taxi ride away.
On the whole, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend it. All the staff were extremely helpful, polite and friendly. A credit to the hotel and made us feel they went the extra mile.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bart45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,658 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
2.1 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Property: Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#5 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing