We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a very good resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here from 3rd to 14th March 2014. The staff in reception were all very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We had booked a Superior Studio but were upgraded to a One Bedroom Suite, with beautiful views of the beach and sea. The rooms were very clean and serviced daily.

The watersports equipment was a bonus and having sun loungers on the beach right in front of the hotel was really good. We visited a couple of other beaches where we paid 30 dollars for loungers/umbrellas.

We booked a catamaran trip and hire car through the hotel's activities desk and they were very helpful and efficient. We would recommend having a car for a couple of days as the scenery on both the east and west coast is stunning. For local trips we used the bus and some evenings we booked Wayne's taxi. He was very friendly, always on time, and was waiting for us when we arrived at the airport.

Most evenings we went to St. Lawrence Gap where there are plenty of good restaurants and bars and you can pay as little or as much as you want. A trip to Oistins Friday Fish Fry is a must but can also get food there on other nights.

We felt the only let down at Bougainvillea was the service in Lanterns Restaurant. Breakfast was a bit haphazard as to the speed of service and having the table fully laid with crockery. We had lunch one day and waited over an hour for food. I think they seemed under staffed but the food was very good once it arrived. We had one evening meal in the Water's Edge Restaurant and the food was excellent and the waitress was very efficient.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GJP542013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have had a week at this resort, at night its extremely noisy until 10pm. We stayed in a studio apartment, the outlook was wonderful but at night it was so noisy with the entertainment.
We will not stay here again when booking for Barbados, we spent our first week elsewhere which was much quieter.
We arrived early and the room was not ready we asked again 2 hours later but still not ready we had to wait until well after 4pm until we were given the keys to the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. We do offer entertainment several nights each week - with two "big" nights - Saturdays and Thursdays. On Saturdays, we have the popular Ladies Group, "Virgo" and on Thursdays, we have our Caribbean Buffet and Floor Show. Entertainment offered on other nights is more "low-keyed" and in most cases actually within the restaurants and therefore unlikely to be the cause of your complaint.

We try to strike a balance between providing the entertainment, which most of our guests expect and enjoy and pleasing those guests who prefer not to have it. For this reason, entertainment ends at 10 pm. We also try to moderate the volume but it is difficult to find a level that pleases everyone as while in your experience it was noisy, for those who were in the immediate area and watching the entertainment, it was not.

Nevertheless, we do regret that it affected you and offer our sincere apologies for this and any delay that may have been experienced at check-in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

There are dozens of resort hotels and apartment blocks along this southern stretch of coast on the island of Barbados from The Crane in the east to The Hilton in the west and in the main many along the more built up part are all pretty much the same some better than others.
The Bourgonvillea Resort does not appear to operate as an all inclusive establishment and has two restaurants and two bars one of which, The Waterside, is closed most of the day and some evenings. Lanterns the main restaurant offers breakfast from 07:00 and closes around 22:00, and offers a reasonable range of dining with special theme nights twice a week. Some entertainment is on hand on occasions during the evenings and almost everyone gets to enjoy this as most suites face the beach and therefore the restaurant bar areas.
The bars and restaurants during our stay were somewhat short of staff and one should be prepared to wait, both to get served but also to pay afterwards.
All of the suites offer a self catering area with stove and fridge included and what many appeared to do was fill up the fridge with food and drink from a local supermarket so as to get what they wanted, when they wanted it and at a significant saving.
Tip one is steal a salt and pepper pot from breakfast as the rooms don't have them as standard.
Our bed described as king but definitely queen was not as comfortable as it might have been, but in the main the room and bathroom were well appointed.
Lawrence Gap is a twenty minute walk up the beach but there are difficulties gaining access through the hotels that line that end of Maxwell because of security and the walk down the road takes three times as long being the other three sides of a square.
The Gap is OK for nightlife but pretty dead during the morning and vastly overpriced and low in quality, which is a shame as Bourganvillea has limited to offer in some respects.
One recommends getting a car hire and journeying out to other parts of the island, one of the open topped "Mokes" are affordable, from Stoutes the rental firm near the airport.
Not a bad resort but it could do better. Some come back year after year but I suspect I shall not be among them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaddyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Spent 3 weeks here. All staff very helpful and polite. Accommadation very nice and right on the beach.Food Excellent duing the day and in the evening. Entertainment good most evenings.Short distance to St lawrance gap and Oistins. Overall a very enjoyable Holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
3  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel has been around for a long time. it is on a lovely beach and the staff try very hard

the problem is they are charging 4-5 star rates for a tired room- they advertise beach view and if you stand on the edge of the balcony you can almost see the beach

the rooms are small and choppy- very small if you need to stay for an extended period of time but ok for two nights before a cruise

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lorne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your review and for acknowledging the efforts of our staff and our great beach.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your room. Certainly the description given is not one that we typically see from our guests. Likewise with the room rate as ours is generally comparable to resorts of similar standard in Barbados.

We do have several room types of varying sizes ranging from Studios to Junior Suites to One and Two Bedroom Suites. Our guests can select the room type (and size) that best suits their needs and if you contact us directly, we are happy to assist.

All of our studios and suites are ocean facing and many do offer direct ocean views. However, aside from our beachfront suites, we actually advertise that they offer views of the ocean, pools or gardens. This can be verified on our website bougainvillearesort.com.

Thank you again, we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We picked this hotel as it was reasonably close to the south shore for kiteboarding lessons. Lovely hotel - we booked a two bedroom beachfront which was perfect for us. The restaurants are pretty good, nice beach, staff are outstanding. Unusually good gym for those who want to work out.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, which we preferred, but some might like walking straight out onto the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We love Barbados. It is our favorite island. The people are friendly. This Resort is half hotel and half timeshare. It is located on Christ Church beach and we really enjoyed our stays there. The staff was warm and friendly. The two restaurants were fun and good and nice to be right on the beach. We did not have to have to go out to be in a nice place. I felt at home here. They recently upgraded the furniture. The grounds are special and very well kept. The views were beautiful. It has a swim up bar. The sister resort is just steps away called Sand Acres. They share the facilities. The great ting bout the place is meeting all the Brits. They were hardly any Americans. I loved the accents and their point of view. The diving on the island is second to none. Great places to eat. My favorite is Champers. The meals there are the best on the island. The baked red fish at Oistins is good every night and inexpensive. They resort has taxis there for $8 round trip. This place is my kind of heaven.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you do not want to climb the stairs ask for level one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RufusLeaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
363 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#5 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $198 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing