We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled holiday in great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed for 12 nights at the Bougainvillea in late August early September. From the moment we arrived felt very relaxed. We had a great room on the ground floor direct access to the pool and beach. It was beautiful having breakfast on the patio in the morning. The staff are very friendly, a mind of information and always smiling. Sonia and Roxanne were great bar staff at the pool bar. Corey was very helpful and the beach and always gave the children prep talk on being safe in the sea :). Our room was very clean and well equipped and felt like it had been recently decorated.
The pools are small but more than adequate. There was always plenty of sun beds available both by the pool and beach. Having been round the island the Bougainvillea does have one of the beaches.
We ate at both restaurants and the food was good. The waters edge was closed from the 1 Sept for refurbishment. Easy access to Oustins, The Gap and Dover Cove all walking distance. We accessed all forms of transport when we there. Bus Tavel easy from main road, car hire cheap and mini vans crowded but a great experience. Would taxi in the evening set prices which is helpful, 20 BDs
Friday Oustins fish fry is must for good food and the Barbadian vibe.
I did speak to reception about the cleanliness of the adult pool and this was addressed the next day. My only criticism would e the bar prices, we would have happily spent more money at the hotel if these ad been slightly more reasonable. We went to the supermarket in Oustins to purchase soft drinks and alcohol.
Great holiday overall and would highly recommend the Bougainvillea.

Room Tip: Ground floor room 5123 deluxe studio excellent gets the sun from sunrise and stone throw from beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tegandoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here in early June with my girlfriend for 10 days on our first trip to the Carribean. Very easy to get to the resort from the airport - taxi was around 20 dollars and we were met at the hotel by friendly staff offering cold towels and a complimentary drink to begin our stay. The staff were great throughout our vacation including helping us to hire a car for a day - all done through the activities desk on site. Plenty of taxis can also be found outside the entrance so no need to worry about booking one - check fares with the front desk first just to make sure you aren't overcharged.

We were staying in a junior suite with sea views. The room itself was lovely, with a nice comfy double bed and a sofa to lounge around on. Our room also came with kitchen facilities to cater for all your needs and a large spacious bathroom with a powerful shower.

There is a small supermarket just down the road from the hotel which serves takeout sandwiches for a few dollars where we had lunch most days as this is a lot cheaper than the resort. Also it sells banks beer for cheaper then the hotel outside of happy hour. We ate dinner one night at the lantern restaurant - food was lovely however service was very slow.

Events are organised on various nights at the resort, we chose only attend the complimentary cocktail party as we preferred exploring the restaurants on the island. However many people did go to the hotel organised nights and most guests (us included) made use of the "happy hour" at the pool bar everyday.

Beach was beautiful with plenty of sunbeds available. For the first few days we used the smaller beach beside Riverfront Restaurant however we soon switched to use the main beach as we found we were less pestered by beach vendors/sellers.

Overall the room was excellent, very spacious with a lovely view of the pools and sea. The on site facilities such as the bar are good and the beaches are beautiful. Our stay was very relaxing, enjoyable and we felt safe day and night. I would highly recommend the bourgainvillea beach resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family and I have just returned from another fantastic holiday at Bougainvillea Beach Resort! It is just like going home when we get there and are greeted by the staff like long lost friends! From the kitchen staff to the maintenance guys, nothing is too much trouble. The resort is immaculately kept and the rooms have everything you need for your holiday to be perfect and we stayed in the same one as the previous year for easy access to the pool and beach! As someone else has mentioned, I also love the orange sunbeds! Next time I fly in to Barbados I will use them as a beacon to guide me home!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family checked in for a short vacation. Reception was friendly and the we were soon taken to a suite. The room was clean and in very good repair. The food was very good in the main restaurant Lanterns and the pizza in Water's Edge was great. We abosolutely love the bright orange sunbeds.

Room Tip: The one-bedroom suite was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizAssist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for two weeks in July. The hotel is very clean as are the grounds and beach. We found all the staff from the front desk very friendly and professional. I reported at the front desk that our A.C. was not always working correctly, and two minutes after returning to our room , maintenance arrived and fixed it ! We stayed in a junior suite that had a very comfortable king size bed, a good sized modern bathroom, all shampoo, conditioners,soap and body lotion was supplied in liquid dispensers and plenty of towels (two colored ones for the beach). We had a small cooking area as we entered the suite, which had a modern, two burner electric ring, electric kettle and coffee maker (coffee not supplied) a nice fridge and all the cooking equipment,needed to prepare meals. There was cutlery and china for four people, and a sink to wash up in also supplied with liquid soap. Next to the hotel is a convenience store where you can buy beer, bread, jams, ice cream, sun oil etc. There is also a nice store in the lobby where you can buy sun oil, coffee, gifts and post cards etc. also postage stamps for the cards and a post box just out side.. We found the two restaurants nice but a little too pricy ,and opted to buy local food from the two vans that arrive daily outside the hotel. A big plus is being able to drink the local water which saves a lot of money over bottled water. We have travelled to other islands and learned very quickly that you must drink lots of water! I read that some people thought the waves were too rough to swim, but in July I saw lots of small children enjoying the water with their parents, I expected the North shore of Hawaii by some peoples reports ! On the beach is a water sports shack where you change beach towels, take out water equipment and they also set up sun umbrellas for you. Beach vendors were not a problem and a polite "no thank you" is all that is needed. We had a good vacation and would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: We always choose a second floor room for security, so no one can just wander in and not too far to j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bristolboy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Bougainvillea Beach Hotel surprised me by being able to be attractive for couples and honeymooners on one side and on the other side to families with kids. The resort is lovely and the staff tries its best every day. Every room has a kitchen which makes it easy to cook your own food. There are also two restaurants on property, which have very friendly staff!
The hotel offers everything from water sports equipment over Kids Clubs and animals (don't miss the baby tortoises!!!) up to many events on property or tours around the island. The local food for Sunday lunch is a must-have.

Thanks to the whole Bougainvillea Beach Resort Team!
I enjoyed working with you very much and loved be a guest at the hotel itself in the end! The room with the private plunge pool was fantastic! Many thanks especially to the hotel manager Ms White for letting us stay here!

Room Tip: The ones with the private plunge pools or the ones on the 4th floor near the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrincessResi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The swim up bar pool should be for every one. Lanterns bar is quite poor (do not go). The beach is top class. The pools are nice . Little trimming is needed. The rooms are Clean . The little Carib store is good.

Room Tip: Get a new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adolfo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
363 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#5 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $198 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing