We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for the lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Bougainvillea Beach Hotel surprised me by being able to be attractive for couples and honeymooners on one side and on the other side to families with kids. The resort is lovely and the staff tries its best every day. Every room has a kitchen which makes it easy to cook your own food. There are also two restaurants on property, which have very friendly staff!
The hotel offers everything from water sports equipment over Kids Clubs and animals (don't miss the baby tortoises!!!) up to many events on property or tours around the island. The local food for Sunday lunch is a must-have.

Thanks to the whole Bougainvillea Beach Resort Team!
I enjoyed working with you very much and loved be a guest at the hotel itself in the end! The room with the private plunge pool was fantastic! Many thanks especially to the hotel manager Ms White for letting us stay here!

Room Tip: The ones with the private plunge pools or the ones on the 4th floor near the ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrincessResi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
There are newer reviews for Bougainvillea Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

The swim up bar pool should be for every one. Lanterns bar is quite poor (do not go). The beach is top class. The pools are nice . Little trimming is needed. The rooms are Clean . The little Carib store is good.

Room Tip: Get a new room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adolfo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

First time to Barbados and myself and my family were unsure what to expect. We had read up most of the reviews on Bougainvillea and thought we would stay there for the first week of our two week stay in the Island.

From the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome. The staff were friendly, respectful and helpful especially Leena the Deputy Manager who went the extra mile to ensure any concerns were promptly and appropriately addressed. The entertainment was good and there are plenty of bars, clubs and restaurants a short bus/taxi ride away. Our 2 yr old grandaughter made full use of the children's play room and outdoor play area where there is also a pets area containing rabbits and tortoises.

The food in the hotel is very good but a little expensive for large families so we usually bought our lunch from local venders. The kitchens are well equipt and there is a large supermarket and restaurants about 5 minutes drive away.

There is life a guard and a security guard on the beach and we were rarely approached by people selling things. The location and the beach is spectacular. We had a fantastic time at Bourgainvillea and would of happily stayed there for the entire two weeks. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay soooo enjoyable. See you again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

SUMMER 2013

Just back from a wonderful holiday with the family. Amazing atmosphere as we were greeted by front desk staff and made to feel at home and relaxed immediately. All the staff from housekeeping, front desk, entertainment, restaurant etc are so friendly but not intrusive at all. Everyone knows you by your name, especially the lovely Leena and Avril to name a few. Our one bedroom suite this holiday was in the older section of the hotel “Sandacres” which is so tranquil. The ocean view from the balcony of our first floor suite was breathtaking. We spent many mornings there having breakfast and feeding the birds. We also had breakfast at Lanterns Restaurant a few mornings and as ever the food was simply delicious and very local with lots to choose from the buffet. It has somewhat become a family tradition to have the local flying fish and scrambled eggs at least once during our holiday at Lanterns Restaurant and although it isn’t on the breakfast menu, the delightful chef supplied it on request.
Water’s Edge restaurant has so much on offer this year from a Jazz band playing there the first weekend we arrived. It was just wonderful to sit and enjoy the music while sampling the new light finger food on offer. Another new addition at Water’s edge is the afternoon tea. There was a choice of several varieties of tea and a delicious menu of delicate sandwiches and mouth watering cakes to choose from. Needless to say we made several visits to the well stocked gym most days to work off the excesses!!
Another brilliant holiday this summer and a big thank you to all the staff who made our trip so special again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandy66London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Bougainvillea Beach Resort last August and had such a fantastic time, we went back for two weeks in August this year. It once again exceeded our expectations.

From the moment we walked in, we were made to feel welcome and we were remembered from the previous year. The staff are extremely professional but there is a very friendly atmosphere across the whole hotel. We were made to feel very valued and nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms are very clean, well equipped and spacious, with balconies overlooking the pools, gardens and the sea. The gardens and pool areas are absolutely immaculate with many beautiful flowers and trees. The lawns are beautifully kept and there really isn't an area of the hotel that does not look well looked after.

Having visited here twice now and spoken to many of the staff, it really comes across how much they all enjoy their jobs and also they really take a pride in what they do.

I have two teenage daughters, aged 13 and 16 and both years they have made friends with lots of other kids and we have hardly seen them! There is a games room in the basement of the hotel and it is a great place for them to all meet in the evenings and it is a very safe environment. Also in the basement is a very well equipped, air conditioned gym.

My husband and daughters love water sports and the water sports staff were very friendly and helpful. Also they kept a very close eye on people in the water and offered help when required.

We have visited other hotels in Barbados and have not found any that match the Bougainvillea.
Sometimes, when you visit the same place twice you can be disappointed. However, this is not the case at the Bougainvillea. It was another perfect holiday and provided everything we could ask for on a family holiday. This visit has left us counting the days until we can return next summer! A very big thank you to the management and staff for being so fantastic!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicki704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I went from Cesars Palace (Las Vegas) on my way back to Germany inbetween to Barbados.
I was travelling alone (male, age 25).
The first Hotel i checked in was horrible, so i went straight out and...

THAN I WENT TO Bougainvillea:
the homepage and the first phone Contact was very nice.
I was so lucky that i made this choice, as it was the best decission i ever made.
The hotel itself is just beautifull, lovely detaills, rooms clean, direct acess to the beach, good food (fair prices) and the best point: a very lovely hotel staff.
Several Pools and also a pool with an bar that you can access from the water.
The bar is open till 11pm (after 11pm its mostly quite in the hotel - you just hear the waves).
The rooms have AC + Fan's.

Beach:
Beaches in barbados are public area, so dont be afraid if somebody trys to sell you something, the beach is protected by police guards, life guards (+the beach activity guy, he is taking care of the "hotel beach" as a life guard as well) and hotel own security.
Even as i was by my self, i always felt safe.
At the beach activity point you can rent for free diving masks, Kanus, these little surf boards? and more. You can exchange your beachtowel to a new one as often as needed and on request they have a lot of extra sun umberellas.
There is also a freelancer which offers trips to turtels, jetski drives, katamaran etc. (i didnt tryied it).
The water is always warm + clean and the sand is plain white.
Surprisingly the sand never gets to hot! The sun is shining the whole day and it always stays confortably warm.
BTW Make sure to protect your skin even when sun is not shining as you will get burned easily...

Food:
As my suite had a kitchen i could have cooked, but as i m the worst cook i didnt tried...there is a big supermarked 10min away with the car/bus and a very small one right next to the hotel.
The restaurant offers a fixed menu + daily changing specials. The prices are fair anb the taste is great!
As a single i didnt tried the buffet as i just picked goal orientated my choices..
Anyway if i would be with somebody else, the buffet would have been my choice...

shopping, nights out and transportation:
>The airporttransfer is 20 USD per way via Taxi.
>The busstop from Bougainvillea is round about 5min to walk, but as soon as its dark, i would recommend a taxi. anyway busses only drive i think until 0 or 1am.
>Most of the time there is taxi right in front of the hotel, if not you can request it and it will be very quick there. make sure to set the price before the trip.
>Rental Cars: Rental Cars are availeble from the hotel, as they drive on the left side of the road i didnt tried it :-)

Sheraton Shopping:
There is a shopping mall it's called sheraton nearby, but this was for me personaly not worth to go there.

Hole Town Shopping:
There is a very luxury shopping place: Cartier, Prada and many more! Unfortunatly they were closed on sundays, but the place looked great!

St. Laurance Gap:
you can walk there during the day, but mostly in the night (start round about 10pm it is good to go there. Some restaurants, other tourists, bars and nightclubs are on this street. The price for a Taxi was 10 USD per Way. If you are early or in groups you can take a bus.
This is the place to be for nights out :-)

Fishmarket:
10 USD per Way via Taxi. i didnt went there. But should be cool on fridays.

Fazit:
There might be hotels on barbados with more stars (rating) but this hotel has definitly the staff members with the best eyes for detaills and love for their visitors.
The key to the best experience in this is hotel is to aks for what you need!
the hotel staff will take care as best as humanly possible, but if you dont ask they will mostly not disturb you to make sure you get the escape that i was looking for. :-)

Sorry für alle die kein Englisch verstehen... ich wollte das es für soviele wie möglich verständlich ist.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have a great view, the rooms at the ground level have access to hotel inner place...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Konstantin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

First, I want to say that my husband and I had a great stay here. It's right on a secluded beach, which was so nice, and the water is crystal clear - very relaxing! The pool is really nice and I love swim up bars - it's a must for me for a beach vacation! The staff is generally really friendly, with a few misses. The rooms are clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had a fantastic ocean view.

The food at the restaurant is nothing special - I would recommend going out to eat at night, and maybe bringing in some things for lunch during the day. But the bar staff makes really good drinks.

With regards to the room - we booked the honeymoon suite, as it looked like it was a standard room with an extra outdoor space. Well, that wasn't really the case. Most of the standard rooms in the resort come with a really nice sized balcony - so there's no need for the extra outdoor space. And, all that the outdoor space does is take up room. All of the other rooms we saw were really spacious - the honeymoons suite is TINY! There was no room to walk around and it didn't have a sitting area like all the other rooms. And, it's a walk up FOUR FLIGHTS of stairs. Not exactly relaxing. I recommend the staff making this more clear, as they did not at all when I called to book the room.

Other than that, I would go back, just stay in a different room.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the honeymoon suite! Way to small and up four flights of stairs!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,083 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,708 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
2.1 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $172 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing