We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a staycation. The hotel staff were friendly, the one bedroom suite was nice and the general appearance was warm and relaxing. The beach was lovely and quiet, very relaxing for a nice getaway without leaving Barbados

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amina2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
There are newer reviews for Bougainvillea Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Hotel is clean, service good just a simple ordinary hotel. I expected more from the pictures. Minor inconveniences like no electric plug in the bathroom for ladies, no dresser in bedroom-desk type with small drawers. Saw one show and it was pitiful. Would not go back I prefer a little more for a vacation. Someone reviewed and complained about the hamburger place which they were just trying out but it was the best hamburger I have ever eaten. We used one taxi driver and thank you Julius for all the suggestions of restaurants etc, he helped make the trip a good one

Room Tip: Third floor/ pool and some ocean view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband is not usually expressive one way or the other (unless it is really bad) so it was a big compliment for him to say Bouganvillea Beach Resort is his favorite compared to others we have visited. It is truly beautiful with all of the landscaping, flowers and small waterfalls throughout and right on the beach. The staff were all very helpful and provided excellent service. I asked them in advance for a ground floor unit as stairs are difficult for us, and they were able to provide us a studio with a patio out to the pool area. We were fortunate to find an available timeshare trade and enjoyed a lovely week. We would definitely return so 5 stars!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda_34695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent three weeks at the Bougainvillea in June and July, and it was a magnificent and unforgettable holiday. The suite was immaculate like last time and the house keeping ladies were wonderful. Daniel gave me help on how to cook flying fish and Kelly at the front desk took time to offer and find all the information we needed. Most staff and the managers were sincere and genuinely helpful. The beach was breathtakingly beautiful and we did not even mind the stormy day. The clouds and sunset were glorious the night before. Most people on the island have time to talk to you and answer your questions. This included the ladies at the Oistins fish market, a cashier at a souvenir shop on St. Lawrence Gap, Marlin (the computer technician) at Bougainvillea, and many others. We took the bus to Bathsheba and River Bay and they were beautiful, very different from Maxwell Beach at Bougainvillea. The kids liked finding white crabs on the beach at sunset, checking out the red ones on the lawn, and on our last day's stay, they found a great big green one.

I would also like to thank the staff for sending the ipad chargers back to us in the mail as we left them behind.

Oh, I also must mention the fish cakes we bought plenty of on Saturdays at Lanterns.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 378KZ378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived at the resort on 19th July and stayed until the 29th we had a fantastic time. I have been to Barbados a number of times but this was the first time we have stayed in a hotel for the whole stay. It was a good time in a prime location. The staff were professional and helpful at all times. When we arrived we had a problem unlocking our safe and the balcony doors got stuck, but maintenance came along very promptly and fixed the problem. Impressed with the speed compared to other hotels we have stayed in. Nothing was too much for the staff. When we checked in as a family of 4 we had two rooms, we were told that one of our studios rooms had been complimentary ungraded to a suite. We were very pleased. The room was huge, even the standard studio room my mum and daughter stayed in was a good size.

The rooms were cleaned daily by about 11am every day. Nice and early, so already clean if you wanted to pop back into the room during the day. there was always plenty of sun loungers available on the beach and around the pool, which made a lovely change from typical holidayers hogging sun loungers with towels from 5am in the morning!!

The staff really made this resort special, we ate at Lanterns a few times. the food was good and the service pretty quick. I had read previous reviews about really long waits, We didnt experience that at all. Prices in general are not cheap in Barbados, we found it expenisvie. Our first meal on arrival at Lanterns was burgers and chips not very Bajan I know, but we just wanted something quick. That meal with soft drinks cost BDS 160 so roughly about £55 for 4 burgers and chips, not cheap. The portion sizes were good and other meals were tasty and good quality. We did find cheaper places locally to eat, but did return a few times to Lanterns. food in general in Barbados wasnt cheap. We were suppose to go to Tides restaurant but couldnt be bothered to drive there and went to Brown Sugar instead, We were not impressed, the food was ok, There were only 2 other tables occupied on a Saturday evening. I think most people do the buffet which is BDS 60 each at lunch time. So pretty good value.

Make sure you are clear on breakfast, they have continental, full English and buffet. The buffet is a small selection. There was confusion as we thought the full breakfast we payed for covered the buffet but it doesnt. If you wanted the buffet you we were told we would need to pay an extra BDS 10 pp a day. So check what you have paid for. The staff at reception explained this to us on the second day and we decided to upgrade on days we wanted the buffet. The staff at Lanterns in general were great, with a special mention to Darlene,Ann, Selma and Nicole. The two egg chef's were lovely too. They were so helpful and worked hard in the sweltering heat.

We did an island tour with Bambi Taxi, Jamel Philips was professional, early and such a scream. We laughed all day and he told us about the island and gave us all the information about the history of the island. He was brilliant really made our day special, if you fancy a reasonable tour and a very modern air conditioned spotlessly clean space cruiser give him a call 234 7010 or visit Bambitaxiservice.com you will have a super day.

Sonia at the pool bar, always had a smile and made the best rum punch and my daughters chocolate milkshakes.

Not much happening in the evening at the resort but St Lawerence Gap and Oistins 5 mins away in a car. We felt very safe in Barbados, visited locally beaches, BridgeTown and ended up at Oistins on Friday night until 1am no hassle at all. Just be sensible like you would anywhere.

One other thing, the sea at the resort is pretty rough, on one occassion the wave knocked my husband over into the sea and he lost his sunglasses. Its beautiful and clear but you do battle the waves a bit,head up the coast a bit on a day you fancy something a bit calmer. There are loads of nice pools to enjoy also though, so something for everyone really. We didnt complain sunbathing on pure white sand, stunning!!

Overall a great holiday and will definitely return to this resort.

Room Tip: Check what level of breakfast you have booked and paid for!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed from 16th July to 26th as part of a package with BA Holidays. This was our first time in Barbados. Transfer from the airport was easy and relaxing. Arrival and checking in could not have been easier. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Room (a delux suite overlooking the pool and beach) was very spacious and spotless clean, with full self catering facilities if required. There are three different pools located within the complex, one of which is adults only with a swim up bar. Three bars on site, two of which offer happy hours (at different times), giving great value during our stay.
Stunning beach with white sand and safe crystal clear waters. Water sports at hand; including kayaks, Hobie Cat sailing, and body boards - all free. Jets skis are also available for a charge. Loungers, umbrellas and towels in plentiful supply.
We took Breakfast and dinner at Lanterns restaurant a number of times. Food was very good, reasonably priced and service was always impeccable. We paid for continental breakfast daily which was good, but more variety of pastries and cereals would have been welcomed. Every single member of staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. We had a fantastic time in a fabulous hotel and beach location.
All in all an excellent 4* + experience which I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Block 5, room 103 (periwinkle) was a good ground floor room, with direct access to adult pool and be...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

For the 4th time in 5 years we found ourselves back in the Bougainvillea beach resort this July. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the tireless and ever helpful Leena Hyland ( a good irish name), were checked in by Sue and had our bags delivered by Anderson to our beautiful room, we felt welcome and well looked after. The beach is less than a minutes walk from any of the rooms, the restaurants ( Lanterns by the Sea and Waters Edge) are reasonably priced and full of friendly and helpful Staff who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and relaxed. The pool bar is in the middle of the resort and happy hour is 3.30 to 4.30 daily when the lovely Roxanne and Sonia along with Jose ( a Barbadian Cockney who spent most of his life in Spain) look after you very well.The beach is clean, beautiful and the water safe yet interesting. There are clean towels and umberallas available on demand from the ever helpful staff in the water sports hut. The many jewellery sellers that come and greet you along the beach are friendly and not overly persistent. We found that as long as you smile and chat, they can tell you a great deal about their lives on the island. Remember.. They exist on very little so when haggling.. a little to you is a lot to them. The rooms contain a small kitchen (fridge, cooker, microwave) so you have the option to cook for yourself. The St Lawrence gap is nearby and contains a variety of reasonably priced and excellent restaurants - for us we find Pieces, Apsara and Harlequin worth a visit as is Chefette for their Rotis ( a wrap containing a mixture of chicken or beef and potato and daal. Well worth a try and quite cheap. ). We ate breakfast most mornings in the Lanterns restaurant and about half our dinners. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Always greeted us and all other guests with a smile. It was wonderful to be greeted each day as if you were one of the family and we must give a special thanks to Marvi, Darlene, Ann, Nicole, Selma, Onika for making our stay so enjoyable. We started saving for our next trip the day we arrived back in Ireland.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank TConnell1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,083 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,708 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
2.1 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $172 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing