We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bougainvillea Barbados
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Barbados Beach Club(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandals Royal Barbados(St. Lawrence Gap)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sandals Barbados(St. Lawrence Gap)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbay Hotel(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melbourne Inn @ Car Rentals(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Two Resort & Residences(St. Lawrence Gap)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteray Apartment Hotel(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,067)
Filter reviews
2,067 results
Traveler rating
1,179
666
159
33
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,179
666
159
33
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslanterns restaurantpool barsand acresthe gapdeluxe studiost lawrence gapmaxwell beachboogie boardsbeach resortfull kitchenthe activities deskhappy hoursouth coastself cateringa short taxi ridebeautiful beachsmall kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
976 - 981 of 2,067 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Everything about our stay at this resort was wonderful! The staff, dining (food and service), entertainment, pools, beach, beauty/general appearance of the resort, attention to every detail, etc., was just outstanding! The owner most definitely knows how to run an A class resort and was seen asking vacationers about their stay. Everyone on staff goes out of his/her way to make sure you are well taken care of. We had an amazing time and definitely hope to return someday!

Room Tip: Every room we saw appeared to look out over the ocean, but if not - it is well worth it to have this view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was such a wonderful Vacation. The rooms were one of the roomiest most inviting rooms we have ever stayed in!

The pools were clean and so refreshing. The huge beach front on either ends of the hotel were great.

I will be back!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Aarmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bougainvillea for 12 days in April for our wedding and honeymoon and let me just say it was absolutely wonderful! Our families also joined us for 4 days and they too loved it! Had a smooth and impressive check in. We were taken off the line and checked in by a girl at the activities desk and another lady brought over nice, cold wet towels for us. We then met our wedding coordinator, Ria, who patiently explained everything about the big day to us. We were given free drink vouchers and brought to our room, despite being there before check in time. The room was lovely and spacious, beautiful bathroom/shower, comfy bed and gorgeous balcony overlooking the pool and beach. Heaven! Bougainvillea was placed all over the room, there was pink champagne in the fridge and a card from the staff congratulating us on our upcoming wedding. The hotel itself is beautiful and just has such a wonderful feel about it. The swim-up pool bar is awesome, the grounds are gorgeous and the beach is definitely one of the best along this coast. Plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas too. The water as some have said can be a bit rough at times but usually later in the day and if its too rough theres 3 great pools to cool off in. We ate dinner twice at Lanters and breakfast there almost every day. We did the dinner bbq buffets and they were quite good! Didnt do the breakfast buffet--because their omelettes are to die for and i ended up having one almost every day! Some have complained about the service at Lanterns but we never had any problems. The manager in the evenings, cant remember his name (but he jokes about how people think he looks like obama if thats any help), is wonderful, friendly and really deserves recognition. He was fabulous the night of our wedding, made us feel very special as did our waitress, I think her name was Lakeisha. All the waitresses at breakfast were wonderful as well. Not one was unpleasant. Actually, no staff member we encountered was unpleasant. Baffles me when I read some reviews that state otherwise. Getting around the island is no problem! Taxis are always outside the hotel and all the drivers are wonderful. Read some complaints about them. If you use Bougainvillea taxis you probably wont have any problems. Just stick to the guys right outside the entrance and avoid the ones who hang out in the lot across the street. These guys will get to know you and will look out for you. Our taxi drivers always waited for us or came back to get us. If not, they had a trusted friend or colleague get us. For the person who said in their review that Barbados is run down, unloved and unfriendly-im sorry, they must be mad. Barbados is beautiful and weve traveled the caribbean extensively and i find the people of Barbados to be the most friendly. This was our 3rd time back to Barbados. We chose it for our wedding and for our family for a reason. As for the hotel being a bit out of the way, well everythings a little out of the way in Barbados but nothing a short taxi ride cant get you to. You are 10 min. from nightlife and amazing restaurants. Dont be scared by negative reviews of the gap being run down and people chasing you to buy things-not true. Maybe if your in Jamaica, lol, but here they sit at their tables, selling their items. Nobodys being pushy or coming after you, and they gap area is actually clean and well lit. Safe to walk along at night, but of course always be aware and use good judgement. Just as you would at home. And people, Barbados isnt the U.S. or England. Its the caribbean and parts of the caribbean will always look a little run down, will always have cows, chickens etc. To me, its authentic, its real and its part of the charm. If your looking for glity, fake or vegas in the caribbean, go to Aruba or the atlantis in the bahamas. If you want a caribbean of yesterday, heres your destination. I cant stress enough how great this place is. Go! And if your considering a caribbean wedding, these guys are fabulous and the locations to die for. Ria and Shemora are outstanding, and even though it rained on our wedding day, they had it all under control and we had the best time ever. And by the way, dont listen to lady who complained about frogs being noisy at night-its not that loud, and its kinda soothing. I am saddened at some of the recent negative reviews i read. I love this island and hotel, and those reviews are unjust. If anyone is thinking of a visit and has any questions, feel free to message me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank kitten11694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had a really lovely stay here. Room was more of an apartment than a room:separate bedroom, very big bathroom; kitchen well stocked with fridge freezer; toaster; kettle; bowls, cups, glasses; tea towels etc; dining area; couch and then out onto a big balcony with table & 4 chairs plus one lounger. Room was always clean. Found staff at reception fine and booked a couple of activities with them which all ran very smoothly! (The catamaran trip has to be done - snorkelling with the turtles is great!).
Swim up pool is great to have and there were always plenty of sun loungers both around the pool and at the beach. (We were there in off-season). Availed of the free body-boards also which is great to have available. The guys at this kiosk are great and very prompt at getting sun umbrellas and also noted that they were quick to call in the jet-skis/sailing boats when a guest asked for same. Plus there is outdoor chess and shuffle board! There are also some indoor games such as a pool table; indoor hopscotch etc. but you need to buy tokens for to play. We ate at lantern's restaurant twice - once for lunch and once for breakfast. Lunch service was fine but took a little while for food to come. Breakfast was more problematic - we were standing for quite a while waiting to be seated. The place was not busy - 3 other tables out of approx. 30 and 5 or 6 staff members. We ordered off the menu - again took a while to get order taken. When we were initially given the menus, we were asked if we wanted tea or coffee - my partner ordered coffee and just as I was about to request tea for myself but the waitress had turned on her heels! When the coffee arrived, I ordered some tea but this was forgotten about until the next request when the food arrived! I had also ordered some pineapple juice which wasn't available - they only had orange and cherry. Not a huge deal but one of their main drinks at the bar 10 feet away is rum and pineapple so its a juice that is stocked at the bar. Food finally came, mine was missing potatoes and waitress was a tad abrupt - even the small gesture of slapping one hand off the palm of her other when the item was requested left me uncomfortable. While I have never underpaid for food, I do reserve the standard tipping policy of tipping if and when service is good and warrants it. What is gauling is when it is automatically added! We had to pay an extra 10% service charge automatically for slow service. Food is good here by the way - no complaints at all about the quality by the way but the concept of tips is an additional charge that customers may opt to leave if the service has been particularly good. I thought the location was great and overall I did enjoy my stay here - one breakfast blip was not going to ruin the holiday!
As an aside, the taxis are a rip off. They charge $20 BRD/$10US to get into St. Lawrence Gap - we twigged after the first evening that you can easily walk in along the beach up the Gap in about 20mins. you pass a couple of the other hotels where people are eating out and we didn't encounter any problems (unless you are a little nervous of crabs scuttling about every now and again...but they are very cute!). If you want to get into Bridgetown - wait for a Reggae Cab - these are white mini-buses with a maroon stripe. It will cost each person $2BRD/$1US each way. All taxis have a "Z" reg and these are ZR. Definitely head to Oistinns Fish fry on a friday night! Great fish and great fun! A must!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreMuse_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Resort and our room was very nice, The air conditioning is just ok but it does work and it is set up with motion detectors so when you are out of the room it heats up. The kitchen had everything we needed to make breakfast everyday which we like to do so we do not have to get up and dressed if we do not want to. The check in was great only about 5 minutes and they gave us great lemonade. Water is safe in Barbados so no problems doing dishes etc.
Check out was also easy.

Good things: great Ocean view and pools were very nice. Two Restaurants on site and room service pizza one night was very good but menu is limited and if you are on a two meal a day schedule this could be a problem as dinner does not start until 6:30 PM each day. Dinner menu is just ok for us but service was good but as other reviewers have said count on 1.5 to 2 hours. The beach is very nice and you can take a nice walk which in many places in Barbados is not possible. Third floor room had a great view and sea breeze all the time. Cable TV so we could watch the Master's Golf tournament.

Bad things: The room was pretty clean but could have been better the floor would get your feet dirty, The shower water temperature would change a lot but never to the point of scalding you mostly got cold for about 30 seconds just plan on some time to take a little longer shower as you wait for the hot water to come back.

Room Tip: Room 3333 is an end room overlooking the pool and beach view. Very quiet no elevator but they will carry everything up.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews