We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bougainvillea Barbados
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Barbados Beach Club(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandals Royal Barbados(St. Lawrence Gap)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sandals Barbados(St. Lawrence Gap)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbay Hotel(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melbourne Inn @ Car Rentals(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteray Apartment Hotel(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,088)
Filter reviews
2,088 results
Traveler rating
1,193
671
160
34
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,193
671
160
34
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslanterns restaurantpool barsand acresthe gapdeluxe studiost lawrence gapmaxwell beachboogie boardsbeach resortfull kitchenthe activities deskhappy hoursouth coastself cateringa short taxi ridebeautiful beachsmall kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
1,031 - 1,036 of 2,088 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Me and my wife and two kids spent a week at the Bougainvillea Beach Resort over March Break 2013. We read the reviews and thought it would be a good spot. We were not disappointed. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with wonderful flowers. One of the big selling features of this resort was that many suites had kitchens. We have some dietary restrictions and it is helpful, not to mention much cheaper, to eat many meals in our room. Our unit was a one bedroom. The units are older, but well maintained. While there is no bad view, our room had mainly a garden view as it was further from the water. The front staff were very friendly and helpful. We checked in an out quickly and we were given some drink vouchers on check in while we waited for our rooms. The beach at the resort was great. It was fairly private and was pristine. The water was warm, the waves calm and there was very little undertow. Perfect for young swimmers. The resort provided beach gear like boogie boards, kids sand toys, beach umbrellas, towels, etc. at no charge. We were only approached 2 times by locals for souvenir/trips and they did not push when we declined.

The restaurant on site was great. The food was good, the chef took care to make sure our son's food allergies were taken into account. Service was very friendly (occasionally on island time, but we were pretty relaxed). The menu had enough variety, but the catch of the day...everyday was mahi mahi. There was some entertainment throughout the week which was nice.

We went to the supercentre and Oistins fish market for our grocery shopping both only 5 minute drive away. Very convenient

Ultimately we wanted a quite, beach vacation and the resort really fit the bill. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you want a beach front room you will need ask for one further from reception. The west side seemed the nicest.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing, chilled-out, Caribbean holiday beside a beautiful beach, Bougainvillea Beach Resort is unlikely to disappoint.

The nature of the sea and coastline changes dramatically between the eastern Atlantic coast with its dramatic cliff-faces and strong ocean currents and the western Caribbean coast which conforms to more stereotypical expectations with palm-fringed, white-sand beaches and gently lapping waves. The waves on the southern beaches are big enough to satisfy Boogie Boarders but not surfers.

Bougainvillea is a neo-colonial style building situated at the south-west of Barbados, on Maxwell Beach. Accommodation is provided within the main 'old' building and a series of annexes. Our one bedroom apartment with kitchenette provided clean, comfortable and spacious accommodation. We had a large balcony with an ocean view and the resort was thoughtfully designed so all of its excellent amenities were within close proximity to the accommodation.

There are two restaurants on site, both providing good quality, reasonably priced food in attractive surrounds. Service is friendly and occasionally ponderous but this is in keeping with the chilled-out ambience of the location and so, for us, was not a source of annoyance.

The two swimming pools provide the option of a quieter adult environment or a more bustling young-family experience. The pool bar was a popular focal point for the resort community, especially around happy-hour, which occurred daily between 3.30-4.30pm.

A real highlight of our holiday was time spent on the adjoining beach and in the warm, azure water of the Caribbean. The combination of soft white sand, swaying palm trees and lapping waves, allowed for a sensory indulgence and a longing for more.

The modest size of the resort encourages an intimacy with ones surroundings and a familiarity between hotel guests and staff without feeling suffocating. Interactions with staff in all areas of the hotel - including catering, cleaning, maintenance, gardening and reception - were consistently noteworthy for their friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism.

Bougainvillea proved an ideal location for our first visit to the beautiful island of Barbados. We enjoyed a holiday that will love long in the memory and returned home feeling relaxed, energised and planning our return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The sole purpose of this particular trip for us was to do absolutely nothing and completely unwind! And I have to say the Bougainvillea certainly helped us do just that. This was our first time to Barbados and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Bougainvillea is a lovely little boutique type of hotel with a very down to earth, comfortable atmosphere. The rooms are huge (in fact we had a one bedroom suite and I don't recall booking that!) and clean. The staff were wonderfully friendly (here's to you Jose Manuel!). Centrally located but tucked away on a quiet road on a picturesque beach. We weren't familiar with West vs South but we did hire a car for a few hours and whilst the West is ever so slightly prettier (and more expensive) - to really experience genuine Barbados culture we found South to more appropriate (fish fry Oistins!). But whatever your reasons for visiting Barbados I would definitely recommend Bougainvillea.

Room Tip: There is a hotel map on their website which is helpful but to be honest the hotel layout is generally good and I think every room has a view. The hotel website did say you could 'request' rooms but I am not sure they actually do! Tip: We completed a shopping list (I think they called it a 'Commissionary') ahead of our visit and the hotel filled our fridge before our arrival which was super handy as there is only a very small shop near the hotel (selling no fruit which was unexpected).
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobLJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Bourgainvillea in eight years and was our wedding anniversary/my wifes birthday. We had a fantastic time as usual. The management were aware of this and we found a card and a bottle of sparkling wine in the room. A big thank you to them.
From choice we requested a room in the 'old; block on the east side as we prefer the loction although they are a little dated in style.
Apart from one niggle which I shall mention later it was a perfect holiday again.
We downsized to a studio appartment this time as we only sleep in it. This was really large, large washroom and a well equiped kitchenette behind a wall.
Room, pools and grounds are spotless, sheets and towels are changed every couple of days unless you request it more often.
Wifi is now available and can be patchy but is very welcome.Cable TV has 27 channels, including a couple of kids ones.
The niggle/restaurant.
Upon our arrival the 'Waterfront' was closed for the week, so the only one functioning was 'Lanterns'. We dined there every day. The quality of the food was first class, however they need to get a grip on expediting the food out. On the 19th it took over an hour from order to get a dish on the table and this was not the only time. Food was coming out to people who arrived long after us.Tickets seemed to have been mixed up. It was not the fault of the waitresses as they were standing there waiting for something to do. Its in the kitchen. We took to dining at 6.30 when it opened. Did it spoil it for us? No, it is situated on the beach so we just had another drink and chilled.
You do need to book in the evening to get the time you want as it can get busy. I note the comments on the price of food, but it is expensive all over the island.
I note from a reply to a previous post by the management that there was a change on the 19th in the kitchen so this may be the reason for the delays. Most nights there is free live enterainment as well which is a bonus

We will be returning again as soon as we can..
Steve.

Room Tip: The 'old' part on the east side overlooks the garden, pool and beach. This is the quite bit although the whole complex is quite. If you cannot manage stairs mention this at the time of booking as there are no lifts. Little store five minutes walk where you can stock up.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent 5 days there (March 12th-18th.) BEWARE -No lifts and some areas have 4 floors. Requested a ground level room in three different communications and guess what? Yep, first night on the third floor after a 19 hour travel day...no way to fix it. Day 2...another 3rd. floor. So 2 days of my vacation was wasted getting moved around and trying to sort out the room situation. Finally got on the first floor, the room was nice with good beds, a 2br. ocean front. plenty of patio space. When problems like this happen, they are not very good at making things right. The restaurant is a complete waste of time. I get "island time" this place is so slow it is beyond stupid. First day, seated at 12noon ordered a chicken wrap at 12:15pm, it got to the table at 1:10pm. When the food finally comes it is good but very expensive and not worth the frustration/wait. Getting a refill of anything is another ordeal. Do not waste your time and money on the evening Buffet. We did a couple of grocery store trips and ate in town. Lovely beach with good beach lounges. A quiet property which is a very good thing. No problems with getting a taxi. I would give this place 5 dots but the restaurant is just unacceptable. There are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity.
close to any rest
.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a ground floor if you have any issues with stairs. NO LIFTS.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank pwm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to highlight some of the wonderful things about the resort as well as your challenges.

We understand that it is disappointing when a request is not fulfilled. We do our best to honour requests but regrettably, it is not always possible, as there are a finite number of rooms/room types and floors along with variables, which can be beyond our control. For example, we have had instances where the hotel is fully booked and we have one guest who requests a ground floor based on preference and another who requests a ground floor based on a medical issue. In a circumstance like this, priority would have to be given to the guest with the medical issue.

With regard to the restaurant, we are working hard to correct all of the issues noted and this includes the restaurant management change on March 19th. It is a work in progress but significant improvements have already been made and this will continue as it is our intention to provide delicious food with excellent, timely service. We look forward to earning those 5 dots on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews