We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Bougainvillea style!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bougainvillea Barbados
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Bougainvillea in Barbados is our home away from home. We've spent many, many idyllic summers there with the children but this trip there were lots of high expectations as it was our teenage children’s first Christmas in Barbados. We had booked two weeks over the Christmas period and there were expecting a lot!

My husband and I and the teenagers were literally spoilt, we felt so special. The staff at Bougainvillea was, as usual, extremely attentive and it was their mission for us to have a fabulous time.

We arrived on the 19th December and were pleasantly surprised to see the carol singers is full swing belting out Christmas favorites and the hotel decorated very festively indeed. This set the scene for what was in store over the Christmas holidays and we were not disappointed.

The highlights for us were:-

The annual fashion show which was a great hit with our teenage daughter as she was allowed to strut her stuff down the boardwalk along with other guests and we in the audience were treated to Bajan Christmas cake and drinks.

Christmas day will never be the same again. It was just fantastic, the mood at breakfast that morning in the restaurant was electric as the children all waited for Santa’s arrival and boy did he do it in style. He arrived on the beach to loud steel pan music and an escort of dancers. All the young children received presents from him.

Then there was the New Years Eve extravaganza. The theme was “around the world” and the restaurant and nearby beach was fitting adorned with marquees that depicted various countries and their cuisines. After supper we were treated to a spectacular show and cabaret then the dancing began followed by fireworks at midnight.

Our entire holiday was just brilliant and this was made possible by the very dedicated staff at bougainvillea. We would like to say a special thank you to Leena, Averil and Maggie for making our Christmas so special. Also to all the extremely helpful front desk ladies and housekeeping staff.

Have already started planning our next Christmas there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy66London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We have had the most fantastic experience here from the moment we arrived. The staff here work incredibly hard and have bent over backwards to make our stay special. The breakfasts have been delicious and fresh and the food at the waterside restaurant was superb, I had the scollop ceviche that was world class and the service was the best we experienced on the island. Reception staff booked all restaurants and taxis for us without any problems and always greeted us with smiles and helpful attitudes. The bar staff at the poolside bar are truly brilliant genuine people and would especially mention Jose and Roxane for being perfect hosts and for working so hard. The guys at the water sports area were extremely helpful to us and also work so hard on all the heat! A special mention for Nicholas who really pulled out all the stops for us. Thanks to all here, it truly was the best choice for a hotel in Barbados.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittiekiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Booked this for 10 days on the new year, never been to barbados before and it was just perfect for the rest we needed to start the new year. E booked a suite and we were not disappointed it was big. If you didn't want to cook in the well equipped kitchen the lanterns restaurant offered a good breakfast, for the evening we ate there once, but had been recommended so many others e ate out a lot. Waterside restaurant is adults only and it was ok ! The hotel always have taxis outside to take you where you want to go and will pick you up also. Good service all around.

Room Tip: Our room was suite 213 just over reception was lovely and roomy and we found the bed so comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richards61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Having been here 7 times before, I thought it time to review what we consider the best value resort on Barbados, but don't just take our view, look at all the previous reviews, speak to the locals and taxi drivers, they all say the same thing. Is it Sandy Lane? No, does it have the Cliff resteraunt? No, is there a helicopter pad? No, so what does make it the best?

Very, very friendly staff and a strong management team
Well kept and lush gardens
Access straight onto the beach
Set back from the main road
Two resteraunts to eat in
The best cleaning staff we have experienced, very clean rooms
Close to, but far away enough from St Lawrence Gap where you will find some great resteraunts
Taxi call on demand
Open plan rooms with good facilities

The list goes on and its the fact they do all these things at such a good price that depite looking elsewhere we keep coming back.

Thankfully this is not an all inclusive resort, if you are considering one please consider this!

The island has fantasic resteraunts and is safe, do not allow all inclusive resorts to kill the local ecomomy, we have already seen the results with some resteraunts closing. Come here and ventue out to sample all of what Barbados has to offer, its gorgeous!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keystonePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love Barbados, but one needs the right accommidation to make it right. This near the "gap" hotel makes the grade. The management is by strong women that are locals and know the business of hospitality. The two sections afford two pool areas and attmosphere. Try to get the top floor facing the largest pool. Be sure to find the hidden gym and use it. Baby turtle hatching season is in April and up the sandy beach area. Photo opts abound.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunkistTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I just got back from a vacation in Barbados and I thought it would be fun to write up a review on this hotel. I stayed in the 1 bedroom penthouse suite with two girlfriends and the room exceeded my expectations! Huge with all of the amenities (balcony terrace, ipod dock, full kitchen, flat screen tvs, toiletries etc) and very clean and well ventilated. It definitely is not super luxe in style (the furnishings are very basic) but for $350 a night in the islands it is a perfect home away from home.

The property is small but very pretty and well maintained. The resort is right on the beach so you can sit in the many chairs around the pools or you can sit right on the beach! Umbrellas are free of charge and the pool guy will happily set you up with one of your own. There is a wonderful guy by the name of Jose who will deliver drinks and food to the beach but coming from NYC our skin was VERY pale and we took our lunch out of the sun in the covered outdoor eating area. The menu at this restaurant is very basic and by lunch # 3 we had pretty much tried all of the available sandwiches and salads!

There is also a more conventional restaurant at the resort that is more covered and therefore better for night dining but both eating establishments share the same menu. A few things here-- Clearly in 80 degree temps we all wanted iced coffee! Each morning we got a different version of "iced coffee" and it may have taken 45 minutes to procure but I was greatly appreciative of their effort and understanding crazy American requests! (Try getting an iced coffee in Panama and get back to me...)

The staff at the hotel in general are warm and accommodating. They take their roles very seriously and adhere by all rules. Don't try to sneak an extra towel because you won't get one!

My major complaints are the food/drink situations. You MUST bring snacks if you are the type of person who needs to have beverages and meals throughout the day. Not exaggerating, if you go to lunch between 12-2 it will take approximately 2 hours to get a sandwich! There is only one restaurant at the resort and everyone at the beach/pool that day eats there. There is a "convenience store" down the street that we were very excited about but when I tell you it is a little hut with random things inside I am not joking. For whatever reason they stock things like processed cheese slices, sun chips, and soda. There is NO fruit or healthy options in sight which also confuses me because when you think of the islands don't you think of tropical fruits? Anyway, I just wished I had brought energy bars, trail mix, seltzer, coconut water etc to eat while frying myself on the beach. I like to keep hydrated in the hot weather and unless you wait for a drink from the bar there really is nothing..

Getting around this area is so easy! There are always cabs waiting outside the hotel and they are friendly and fun to chat with. You can pay them in US $ or Barbados $ and we were never ripped off or taken advantage of which I found refreshing. The Barbados people are truly very kind and spiritual.

Finally, we rented a car and spent one day exploring the other parts of the country. While in Holetown (the fancy part of Barbados) I did notice that hotels and restaurants were much more luxe and expensive. If you are used to the Four Seasons then Bougainvillea is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a more casual family or friend vacation then this place is great!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bspnvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas 2012, with 2 adults and 2 teenage children sharing a Deluxe one bedroom penthouse suite. The accommodation was spacious and clean and perfect for our needs and although we didn't eat in much, the full kitchen was useful. The hotel is a delight with all the staff well drilled and genuinely trying hard to please. Sunbeds were never a problem, the restaurants were very good and not particularly expensive (despite some reviews to the contrary) and the beach as good as anywhere in Barbados.

This was our first time to the South coast and whilst not as pretty as the West, the beaches are much nicer and the waves provided the children with the opportunity to go boogie boarding during the day. The hotel is situated along the same stretch as Oceans One, Almond Beach and Turtle Beach, but the Bougainvillea is more intimate and less 'chain led' in my opinion, although they all looked good.

There are some good restaurants locally (Pisces, Tapas) as well as travelling further afield to the fantastic Cliff restaurant and Mullins beach restaurant. Going out on a catamaran is a great way of spending a day and none come better than Cool Runnings. This was my second time with them and they are so very professional making sure everybody has a good time.

We loved the Bougainvillea Beach Resort and wouldn't hesitate to go back there and the South Coast. Barbados is such a fantastic place to holiday and the people are so friendly that you can't really go wrong, but for a first class hotel, with great staff and at a competitive cost, Bougainvillea is a excellent choice.

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms are larger and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5* traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#1 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,924 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
2.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Barbados

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#5 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $180 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Barbados 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea Barbados is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, this 100-room resort is well known for its personal touch and service. Featuring Mediterranean style architecture within a tranquil setting of lush gardens and bougainvillea flowers, this resort is just footsteps from the sand and mere minutes from south coast hot spots. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, a well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, non-motorized water sports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea Barbados is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bougainvillea Barbados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Bougainvillea Resort
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados
Bougainvillea Barbados Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing