We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bougainvillea Barbados
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Barbados Beach Club(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandals Royal Barbados(St. Lawrence Gap)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sandals Barbados(St. Lawrence Gap)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbay Hotel(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melbourne Inn @ Car Rentals(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteray Apartment Hotel(Christ Church Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,067)
Filter reviews
2,067 results
Traveler rating
1,179
666
159
33
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,179
666
159
33
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslanterns restaurantpool barsand acresthe gapdeluxe studiost lawrence gapmaxwell beachboogie boardsbeach resortfull kitchenthe activities deskhappy hoursouth coastself cateringa short taxi ridebeautiful beachsmall kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,071 - 1,076 of 2,067 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in the newer (1999) buildings in a V around the pools. The resort was freshly painted, clean and tidy. We did not take their meal plan.

The resort is on a small piece of land with a nice but small Atlantic ocean beach. When the Christmas Winds blow like they did last week, the government lifeguards close access to the ocean water (sun-bathing is OK). Meanwhile, the pools are mostly the domain of children under 13.

We prefer the real surf of the Atlantic over the placid Caribbean Sea side of the island (West Coast).

The pool negative is a plus for families with small children.

The one thing I would change is the TVs... because you need to get out of the sun. Our 1 bedroom slept 4 and had only 1 TV in the Living Room; no TV in the bedroom.

One night I wanted an early dinner - dining room opens at 6:30 PM. You can order off the lunch menu until 6:30. The food is served outside the restaurant area... at tables with wonderful views of the surf. Definitely recommend the late lunch option.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zzatara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have been coming to Barbados for over 13 years now and for the last 8 have stayed at the Bougainvillea Beach Resort. It's like a home from home for us now. The facilities mean that you have all the benefits of self catering due to the kitchenettes and in each room and a small local grocery store nearby but you also have the backup of a fully functioning hotel.

We usually stay here on a room only basis so that we can take advantage of the numerous great eateries and restaurants in the area and on the island too but understand that full some guests a half board or room and breakfast stay makes more sense dependent upon age and circumstances of the guest.

This hotel is sat on the one of the best beaches I have ever encountered which says a lot from a former airline stewardess who has travelled extensively. Pristine, white beaches with the trademarked turquoise and deep blue contracts of the carribean sea. Be aware that the sea on the south last of Barbados is generally a bit rougher than that of the west coast and just respect the lifeguards flags advising on safety to swim etc.

The hotel is relaxed and friendly. The staff cannot do enough for you and really care about you as an individual and that you really enjoy your holiday. Lena, the night time Manager is an absolute professional and manages her team brilliantly as well as knowing all of her guests regular or not. She will always go the extra mile to deliver great customer service time after time.

There are two restaurants on site which are lovely, one being more casual than the other, and serving freshly prepared food at reasonable prices for lunch directly overlooking the gorgeous beach and the other is more of an evening venue serving Tapas and local dishes.

There is good live entertainment most evenings at the hotel which you can either indulge in or not depending on your preference on the night.

We use the taxi service from straight outside the hotel door which is very efficient, honest and reliable. Trevor Clarke is our regular, favoured taxi driver, because of his willingness to go the extra mile, always polite and timely. He even went as far as to stop by a local vendor and bought us a big bag full of fresh mangos the last time we used him and didn't charge us for them. He is really a great credit to the island's tourism. Top Tip with Taxis :- He also will not try, as other taxi drivers do, to keep you as his customer for the return leg of wherever you go by waiting to charge you the full amount on the way back and thereby over committing themselves with fares resulting in you waiting for them instead of the other way around.

The downside of this hotel, if there is one, is that you definitely need the use of a car or a taxi in order to access other restaurants etc as it is not easy to walk to The Gap along the main route, although there is a short cut through the beach but I'd only use this during daylight hours, despite Barbados being probably one of the safest countries I have ever visited. Is just wise practice no matter where you are.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors all have great views of the ocean and beach. Ground floor rooms have great easy access to children's pool areas for younger families.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just came back from Barbados, having stayed at the Bougainvilla Beach Resort. The place is so clean and well-kept. All staff were helpful, friendly and gracious. The suite was quiet and offered everything we could possibly need or want. We ate dinner on the resort several times, and all meals were excellent.
We would come back again and again....

Room Tip: The bed was a little too hard for our tastes, this was somewhat difficult as we didn't sleep well because of it. Also, the pillows had no substance. We would bring our own pillows next time. Our room was perfect on the 3rd floor in the older section of this resort. It allowed for quiet and intimacy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel experience was fine. Some minor problems with room, but overall okay. In general, the people who worked there were friendly, though the staff at the main restaurant were truly terrible (Latern), while the food wasn't good. Would avoid it if you can. The biggest disappointment has more to do with the location. Where it sits on the island means that it still gets a pretty strong current from the Atlantic with the ocean having a relatively strong current going West in addition to coming in. I would recommend finding something further north on the West cost.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bryanblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Back for a second time. We brought our adult children back with us to experience Barbados at the Bougainvillea Resort. This is a great resort on a great beach. The rooms are fabulous and the staff are very nice. We had so many great times at the pool bar during happy hour. The BBQ buffet party is a must. Great food! They arranged surfing lessons for us and a great time was had by all. The beach was beautiful and clean every morning and set up with umbrellas and chairs. The Christmas show was so much fun, especially for all the young children who received gifts from the resort. We received Christmas gifts from the resort also. They just think of everything to make your vacation wonderful.
The resort is close to St Lawrence Gap and to Oistins where you must go on a Friday night. Also, go outside the resort at about 12 noon for street vendor food. The best food ever. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolM392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews