We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bougainvillea Barbados
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just came back from Barbados, having stayed at the Bougainvilla Beach Resort. The place is so clean and well-kept. All staff were helpful, friendly and gracious. The suite was quiet and offered everything we could possibly need or want. We ate dinner on the resort several times, and all meals were excellent.
We would come back again and again....

Room Tip: The bed was a little too hard for our tastes, this was somewhat difficult as we didn't sleep wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel experience was fine. Some minor problems with room, but overall okay. In general, the people who worked there were friendly, though the staff at the main restaurant were truly terrible (Latern), while the food wasn't good. Would avoid it if you can. The biggest disappointment has more to do with the location. Where it sits on the island means that it still gets a pretty strong current from the Atlantic with the ocean having a relatively strong current going West in addition to coming in. I would recommend finding something further north on the West cost.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bryanblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Back for a second time. We brought our adult children back with us to experience Barbados at the Bougainvillea Resort. This is a great resort on a great beach. The rooms are fabulous and the staff are very nice. We had so many great times at the pool bar during happy hour. The BBQ buffet party is a must. Great food! They arranged surfing lessons for us and a great time was had by all. The beach was beautiful and clean every morning and set up with umbrellas and chairs. The Christmas show was so much fun, especially for all the young children who received gifts from the resort. We received Christmas gifts from the resort also. They just think of everything to make your vacation wonderful.
The resort is close to St Lawrence Gap and to Oistins where you must go on a Friday night. Also, go outside the resort at about 12 noon for street vendor food. The best food ever. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolM392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I spent our 3rd year wedding anniversary back in March in this beautiful beach resort. Everything went smoothly the minute we checked-in. The room is big. It has an L-shaped sofa which added to the character of the room. Our balcony has an ocean-view. Fantastic view of the beach every morning. Nothing beats that experience especially to a young couple on their wedding anniversary. It made our stay even better.

The restaurant is simple yet stunning. It is right on the beach which added to its appeal. There are several selections of food. I personally love plantain. The service is just excellent!

There are two swimming pools. Both are quite small. Both were occupied mostly by children during our stay.

The beach was not the best as the sea was quite rough when we were there. However, it did not stop holiday-makers to chill on the beach and enjoy the beautiful barbadian sun.

The stay were ever so helpful. Most of our trips had been booked by the hotel. It was very organised.

Overall, it was a very good experience. And will recommend it to family and young couples alike.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RG21166172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here - our second year in a row - for 2 weeks over Christmas with a large family group. This is a great resort for families. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and spacious with great balconies and ocean views, and the location is fantastic - close to the airport, Oistins, the Gap, Bridgetown, great surfing, boating, etc. Definitely check out Oistins on a Friday night for a Fish Fry and sign up for surfing lessons with Zed (the highlight of our trip!)

Great facilities: great gym, clean rooms with AC, great beach, the pools are good, lots of chairs, etc. The restaurant on site is alright - there are many other restaurants in the area to try though. I would recommend a quick trip to the grocery store and just cooking your own breakfast and lunch most days. Be warned....because it isn't an all-inclusive resort and it's Barbados, your drink and food bill can rack up very, very quickly.....

There are lots of families here and it's small enough that you get to know everyone on the resort during your stay. This is a really great resort that I will continue to visit with my family!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our stay over the holidays was our 13th year in a row at the Bougainvillea and it is hard to imagine going anywhere else. The fact that over 60% of customers are repeats and the fact that after this many years there are so many staff still working on site speaks volumes about the quality of the resort. When we started going to the Bougainvillea we were taking three young children and it was great for the whole family, now we are taking three 'old' children and it is still great.
The list of names of management and staff who go the extra mile to make things go so well would be too long for this space so I won't try. Frankly, it's the entire team.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have again been to the fantastic Bougainvillea Hotel on the Maxwell coast in Barbados.

It was a brilliant holiday and although rather expensive at Christmas, it was still excellent all round.

Everything about this place was again fantastic with amazing service from all staff, from our Cleaner Yvonne, through to the very helpful management team.

Situated on the beautiful Maxwell Beach, the coast is wonderful with brilliant white beaches and turquoise seas.....

The Hotel has great facilities including a great Gym, Tennis court, and excellent facilities for children.

There are two lovely Restaurants on site with excellent food, but with rather slow service in some case. However this is the only negative aspect.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,933 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
2.9 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Barbados

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#5 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $177 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Barbados 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea Barbados is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, this 100-room resort is well known for its personal touch and service. Featuring Mediterranean style architecture within a tranquil setting of lush gardens and bougainvillea flowers, this resort is just footsteps from the sand and mere minutes from south coast hot spots. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, a well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, non-motorized water sports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea Barbados is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bougainvillea Barbados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados
Bougainvillea Barbados Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing