We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six time visitors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Six time visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bougainvillia from 5th until 19th December 2012- our 6th visit, the last being in April this year. We appreciate a self-catering resort that allows freedom of where to eat on the island.
The resort has always been excellent and we have never even tried to look at other resorts on the island. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, the staff exceptionally friendly and courteous, the tap water is incredibly pure, the entertainment is superb, and the beach is fantastic.
We particularly like the Guest room facilities that can be used on your last day having checked out of your room. This means you can stay on the beach and have a place to shower and change before you need to depart.
We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the sea and wonderful gardens. Views from the third floor up are best but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hawkes-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    574
    127
    28
    26
See reviews for
515
853
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Absolutely delightful, from the rum punch when we were welcomed to the goodbyes when we left. My strongest praise for this resort goes to the staff there, who were friendly and helpful at all times. We had a deluxe one bedroom unit on the ground level, overlooking the pool and a few steps to the beach and the ocean. The bougainvillea were in full bloom. Everything was clean, neat and spotless. The beach where we spent a lot of time and and pool area were uncrowded. We had 3 dinners and one lunch at the Lantern's restaurant and they were excellent. Especially, we recommend the Thursday Caribbean buffet which included entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul_and_Isabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Maybe I'm being unfair when I score this hotel as a 'poor'. We had to stay in this hotel for one night as our BA flight from Gatwick to Bridgetown, Barbados was delayed by four and a half hours so we missed the connecting flight with Liat Airlines to St Vincent. Our room was a good size but there was not even a bottle of water in the room to clean our teeth with. The curtains did not close. The bedside light wouldn't work. Nobody answered the phone for reception or housekeeping. A representative for Kuoni had made the arrangements for the accommodation but had not made any provision for our evening meal or for breakfast and as we should have been staying in a 5* All Inclusive Resort on St Vincent we were far from happy as well as being hungry and thirsty! We could have paid for our own meals in the restaurant, but we were tired and had lost the will to live by then!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are very disappointed that you decided to post this given your acknowledgement that your score of “poor” is unfair. It is always upsetting when flights are delayed, missed or cancelled and perhaps this, along with being hungry and having an expectation of a 5* All inclusive resort (something we have never represented ourselves to be) has more to do with your experience than your actual stay.

When we receive a call about airline passengers who are inconvenienced, we do our best to accommodate them, regardless of the time of night and the lack of notice and this is what would have been done in your case.

Meals would have been the responsibility of your booking agent, airline or yourself. We do offer a pre-book option on meals but this was not requested when your booking was made with us. It is unfortunate that your stay was not based on better circumstances as we are confident that you would have been able to enjoy our restaurant & bars and the convenience of the well-equipped kitchen facilities offered in your room.

You may also like to note that Barbados is a coral and limestone island as compared to most of the other islands in the Eastern Caribbean, which are volcanic. The coral & limestone creates a natural filtration system and as a result, Barbados has one of the purest water supplies in the world. Our water is safe to drink from the tap and very safe for cleaning teeth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Wow, I was blown away by my amazing vacation I just had (end of November-beginning of December 2012), by how friendly and accommodating all the staff was that was working. The entire resort itself has a friendly, relaxing, welcoming feel to it. The amazing views that each of the rooms offer, the two pools to choose from (one with a swim in bar), the beautiful white sand beach and crystal clear blue water are only steps away, your won't have to leave the resort to have an amazing Caribbean vacation. Top all that off with the fact that if you leave your windows open at night, you can listen to the waves crash along the shore, giving you a peaceful sleep...

However, if you do decide you want to do something more exciting, Oistins Fish Market, is within walking distance to the East, offering amazing food and entertainment, or the same distance away to the West, St.Lawrence Gap offers a wide variety of restaurants of all kinds of cultural backgrounds, as well as a very lively nightlife scene.

Rent a car one day or hire a taxi and do a tour of the island! One day my family rented a car, and the other day my grandma and her elderly friends hired a taxi to take them on a scenic tour, this was easily arranged through the front desk and they provided us with many options to choose from. So many beautiful places to check out, it will make it hard to leave once your vacation has ended!!!

Bougainvillea truly makes you feel as though you are in Paradise. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canadian_Mike_Eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the one bedroom suite in December. Totally relaxed atmosphere and the staff are very courteous. Would suit families and couples alike although you need to go into Oistins or St Lawrence gap for the nightlife.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nailbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I took my family here in November - we had a great time. we found it interesting that this year we paid less than the all inclusive by a lot of $$$ and the staff were nicer. mmm. Coming from the states Barbados wassnt the cheapest place to go, having said that we got value from resort and the interest in ensuring everything goes well with your stay in unbelievably good. From check in, to the lovely ladies and gent serving at the bar, Sonia, Roxy and Heulio ( I think his name was - soorry about that), to the lovely housekeepers who kept our room really clean. When my eldest daughter got sick one of the housekeepers went and got some soda to calm her stomach and then checked on her a few days later. Terrific caring service. Just to clarify this wasnt anything food related - I think it was a cocktail on teeenage and travelling! My youngest daughter is already talking about going back next year - DONT tell her- but we will. In short this property was excellent in every way and all our interactions with staff were extremely friendly ( but genuine friendly and caring) not like big chains.We love this place and the staff especially - look ofrward to booking again.For families and couples in fact anyone this is a great resort and the beach was closeby and clean. location to Oistens and the Gap were all within5-10 minutes ride. We did try the food on the resort and it was excellent - the main reasoin we didnt eat more in the resort was because we like to try different places -

Room Tip: We did use Connie out side for lunch - Connie and Lee have vans each that bring different types of f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Falls,NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing six night stay at this well maintained and friendly resort. Two beaches and two pools absorbed all guests quite nicely. The second pool and beach were uncrowded. Our one bedroom with separate living room and kitchen was beautifully appointed. They don't tell you up front but if you ask you can borrow blenders, toasters, barbeque equipment etc. Ask! All desk attendants were extremely helpful and friendly, taxi always waiting out front. We had lunch at the outdoor beach restaurant, nicely prepared, priced well for a resort. Our last morning wake up call, confirmed by us twice, never happened making our tardy trip to the airport anxiety laden. Not having a meal plan and going off the resort was entering the world of poverty on an island with little infrastructure, a shocking contrast and sad to witness even though we are seasoned world travelers. Restaurant and grocery prices were sky high, ie lunch @$42US was the norm on a Sunday drive along the Atlantic coast. Even at the excellent Brown Sugar restaurant lunch for 2 was $64 US but the setting was enjoyable with good food, not great food. We didn't care for the fish that was out and asked if there was other fish and were brought beautifully cooked Flying Fish. We thought Ostins was over rated and overpriced, lots of pressure from hawking booth owners. The small cove hugging St Lawrence Gap had many restaurants to choose from, we had a nice meal at Cafe Sol but service was very slow. Our best find was a take out or eat in buffet in the duty free shop Cave Sheppard in Bridgetown on the second floor in the front of the building. Our fish was delicious, large portions, good prices and friendly helpful service. Cappuccino lovers be forewarned - this is a former English Colony that tends toward tea, search for a good cup o cappuccino was challenging, beware of instant, ask first! Ramshackle Bar (St James Parish, Mt Steadfast, on Highway 1) was a good experience due to the beach setting, ambiance and ex pat Brits. Food choices were mainly fried but good, lively beach scene. Big numbers of snorklers were observing turtles.
We would advise this resort with a meal plan for those looking for a relaxing full service mid sized resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micknmarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Breeze Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
2.1 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#19 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Property: Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Resort
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing