We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort, located on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia, U.S.A.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Resort, located on the beach”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Bougainvillea for a couple of weeks of much needed relaxation. Our room was perfectly located with a beautiful picturesque view of the beachscape from our patio. This resort was rather isolated from the main road, but had planned events and entertainment throughout our stay as well as on-site restaurants and bars, although we did not always utilize them as we are native-born Barbadians andso usually met up with family and friends. The free wi-fi was also a plus. One small downside was the $10.50 per half hour we had to pay to print our airline boarding passes in the business center, which is a complimentary amenity at hotels here in the U.S. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    636
    145
    32
    28
See reviews for
591
945
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have free accomodations at a very large fully equiped home two miles from this resort, but frequently choose to stay here instead. In my three trips this year [total of 14 days], not once was I disturbed by any noise either in the evening or morning. I wouldn't recommend this for any singles looking for a party place, but if you want a great beach and some peace and quiet it's great. And as per the other reviews the pool bar as with the rest of the hotel, has great staff. The only fault I found was with the laundry room. Don't try and to laundry on a Sunday unless you have lots of time and your own soap. They don't have a soap dispenser or soap on the premises. [But you can empty the soap dispenser in the shower if you need to] ;-] Mangement?

Great place for a family with young kids or couples.

The lady who does the massages is excellent. I have about 30 a year, and she is definitely top notch.

Room Tip: Ground floor is great. Good security features and noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solocanucktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BougainvilleaResort, Manager at Bougainvillea Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for continuing to choose to stay with us! We try to create a home away from home for our guests and it is lovely to know that this is what Bougainvillea.has been for you. We appreciate your point regarding the laundry but just wanted to let you know that in addition to a great selection of souvenirs, snacks, beach wear and toiletries, our gift shop “La Tienda” does offer laundry soap. Please leave the shower gel in the shower. :-)

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our holiday where we stayed at the Bougainvillea Beach Resort. It was our 31st Anniversary, we met in Barbados. The hotel went over and above to make our holiday special for us. Champagne and a gift and smiles from everyone we met. Our room was beautiful, just as it was pictured. Cleaned efficiently every day. This was our first experience with a self catering unit and it worked out brilliantly for us. Everything we needed was right at hand. Info as to where to shop, dine and visit was handed to us upon check in. The biggest surprise was Trevor Clarke, their resident taxi driver. A friendly and extremely knowledgeable tour guide. He drove us all over the island and had us in stitches with his anecdotes about Barbados and their wonderful people. We had a fine time and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the pool and at the beach. We were on the fourth floor so if you don't like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 31Anniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Bouganvillea in August 2012. The check-in was a little disappointing only b/c we arrived early and didn't get to check into our room until 4pm. The receptionist told us that she would ask housekeeping to clean our room first thing but we didn't get into our room until 4pm. We probably should have contacted the resort prior to arrival. They did lock up our luggage though, showed us to the guest lounge area where we could change clothes and gave us beach towels so we were able to hang out at the beach until our room was ready. Our room was very nice. We had a full kitchen, living room, separate bedroom (with a very comfortable bed and ipod docking station), nice balcony and huge bathroom. The water pressure was great and we always had hot water. There were a couple pool areas but we never used them as we always went to the beach. Beach was clean and we never had a problem getting chairs and umbrella. The only downside was that the beach was not long so we couldn't do as much walking as we normally do. We only ate at the restuarant once b/c it was pricey. We did go back a second time and ordered desert though. Very good but expensive for what you get. Staff were very nice though. There's a food van, Leroy's, that pulls up out front of the resort. Great local food and the servings are huge. We ate there multiple times. Don't forget to grab a fruit juice from him too. The highlight of our trip was feeding the wild monkeys every morning. AWESOME experience. The only downside was that there isn't many food options nearby and the wi-fi was very spotty. Other than that, it was a great resort. Beautiful room, beautiful beach and nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I are just back from staying 9 nights at the Bougainvillea Beach Resort. Our 5th stay in Barbados ( stayed in 3 other Caribbean islands ( St Lucia, Antigua, Grenada, over the years) but the first at the Bougainvillea.
We normally stay at All Inclusive in Barbados and these are with Almond resorts - sadly they have closed/sold off two of them. At the Bougainvillea we went Self Catering. We had a one of the recently refurbished Delux Studio's which was both roomy and very well appointed. Our room was in the more modern part of the complex and all rooms had both pool and ocean views from their balconies. A wonderful outlook to have.
We think the staff at the Bougainvillea are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had several occasions where we needed assistance with some elements of our room ( TV reception / plumbing) and maintenance were on the case straight away, no delays whatsoever - we did think the resort was not at its fullest though and this could have an impact if it
We cant comment on the restaurants other than to say that one - the Italian, had been closed for several months - their new website should have been amended to reflect this. The other Lantern's, was right next to the sea - and we didnt hear any real complaints about it so assume it was okay. As mentioned previously we were self catering - because we had a generous baggage allowance we took most of our stuff out there with us - - no fresh meat/fruit veg etc or you will be clubbered at the customs! Only packeted foods/coffee. There were several small shops nearby - one being very close - 2 minutes walk - where the staff were friendly but proces werent cheap ie a 1 ltre tub of ice cream BDS $19 ( approx £6.20 ) but at least decent stuff. Its amazing how expensive fruit and veg can be in Barbados compared with the UK! Oh and before we forget, the hotel even has an excellent new Gas BBQ !
For our last night in Barbados we stayed almost next door at the Almond Casuarina Hotel - which is 4 star(??) All Inclusive and the difference immediately hits you - and not all good. The Bouganivillea stacks up very well - but if you dont want to cater for yourself at least purchase the meal plan in advance and save some money. Unless you have massively high expectations when you holiday, the Bouganivillea wont disappoint you.
Evening entertainment was actually quite good - we have certainly experienced worse.
Yes the sea is a little rougher than up on the west cost - but at least the only 15 mins ride from the airport is a heck of a lot better that staying on the west coast. You will see the aircraft as they approach landing but there is no real noise pollution - and frequency of flights is very very light - its isnt exactly Heathrow or Gatwick!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helpfulpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent our 9th visit to Bougainvillea in September and stayed for nine nights. Nice to be welcomed back by the staff and greeted like an old friend. Despite the work being carried out to the pool area and the relocation of Reception, the staff were as helpful and friendly as ever. Deluxe suite was well cleaned every day.
Once again a pleasure to be there - would hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are overlooking the pool bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramsayallan1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

First time in Barbados for myself and my wife. Pleasantly surprised by how chilled out the place is in general. This hotel is located on the South Coast of the island; as you approach by car you are in a residential area and the hotel complex comes as something of a surprise. There are many positives;Sue and Miranda on reception are very helpful, the gym is well equipped and cool, the views from both rooms we had (we were moved, upgraded free, due to an influx of very noisy large family next door) were superb, and,most importantly in my view, the beach was excellent, very beautiful indeed, with turqoise water and white sand. However, the sea is not calm and not suitable for snorkelling. You would need to go to the west coast to snorkel. You can wander up and down the beach past other hotels towards St Lawrence Gap (you have to walk some of the distance to the Gap on the road) and we were lucky enough, on our last night, to see sea turtle eggs hatch and the baby turtles take their first steps into the sea. Simply magical.

The rooms are pleasant and well cleaned, with self catering facilities. There are some areas that need updating - loose electric sockets, jamming patio doors etc, but nothing that detracts from your enjoyment. The main negative with the hotel is that unfortunately the food was terrible. The breakfast pancakes were soggy, and the caribbean buffet dinner included tinned sweetcorn, overcooked meats and tinned fruit! However, the food on Barbados generally is underwhelming unless you go to top restaurants, which are obviously expensive. We went room only and found Champers, a short taxi ride away, to be very good indeed but you can expect to pay £100 for two 3 course meals with a couple of drinks each. We ate in St Lawrence Gap often, which is only a $10 taxi ride away (you shouldnt walk there at night).

The entertainment at the hotel was unfortunately also poor. Virgo, 3 singers on a Saturday night, were simply unbearably bad. However, this shouldnt negate the fact that the hotel is staffed generally by friendly people, with a wonderful beach, and provides an atmosphere (Virgo aside) in which you can genuinely relax and recharge. The 4 stars are based on a room only stay - if I had to eat in the hotel, the rating would be poor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GForceCheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,030 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,613 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
2.1 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#23 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Property: Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#5 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing