We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Beach Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

Our family stayed at the resort from Dec 1 to 8th. Our daughter 5 years old just loved jumping the waves and swimming in all the pools all day long. I did alot of research on where to stay in Barbados and I am very glad that we stayed here. In some past Tripadvisor reviews, guests talked about the noise from the construction of the building next door, the building is finished and if any noise in the future would be from landscaping.

The resort is not a 5 star hotel, it is an above average 3 star quaint beach resort with alot to do. Other reviews are correct - the staff is warm and friendly and they did supply a bottle of champagne for my husband's 40th birthday. We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the ground floor near the Water's Edge restaurant which was great for getting to the beach/pool and back to our room during the day. I just loved the 2 balconies and we had breakfast and lunch every day on our balcony looking at the beautiful Carribean sea.

Another issue we read about was the rough waves - I found this to be untrue. The first 3 days the water was calm with gentle waves. As the week went on the waves did get bigger, which was great for boogie boarding and body surfing. If you are looking for a calm/flat waves this isn't the place for you. But if you want to jump some waves in the surf - this is the place for you.

We ate at all the hotspots in the St. Lawerence Gap which is not walking distance via the main roads - we took a taxi which cost $15 US roundtrip each evening. Our favorite places were: Pisces - great seafood, Champers - upscale restaurant with great food, Josefs - upscale/great food, The Restaurant at Southsea - very upscale/good food, Davids Place - upscale/over-rated and limited menu for kids. Each restaurant had a kids menu except David's Place.

For lunch don't forget to try Leroy's van for authentic Bajan food that parks in front of the hotel at 12:15 pm each day. All the locals eat it and it was delicious.

We did go food shopping at the big supermarket which had everything you could ever need. Also there is a small convenience store in between Bougainvillea and Barbados Beach Club (yellow building) which had everything you would need for snacks/beer/milk/coffee/etc... The drinking water in Barbados is great - no need to buy bottled water ever.

Our family would return to this resort and we have visited many resorts in the Carribean.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank stollfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    629
    141
    32
    27
See reviews for
581
925
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

This hotel is an intimate place with exceptional service. The rooms were kept in spotless conditions and we really enjoyed the beach and pools. One downside to our stay was that one of the restaurants on site was closed for maintenance. It is highly suggested to travel to local restaurants off site to enjoy the local flare of Bajan Cuisine. Overall an excellent stay and a place I would return.

  • Liked — cleanliness of resort and the beach
  • Disliked — restaurants/ on site food
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JAX1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

In November of 2007, I stayed at the Bougainvillea Beach Resort for six days and five nights. (My greatest complaint about my vacation was that it wasn't long enough. I could have stayed for at least a few more days very happily.) I am not normally the type of person who goes back to the same spot for a vacation. I like variety and finding new things to experience. This hotel may have changed my tune on that. I could see myself going back every year to this beautiful spot.

First of all, Barbados in general is a wonderful place to vacation. I was traveling by myself, and chose Barbados partly because of the travel guides I read that described it as being so safe and friendly. That was definitely my experience. I never felt unsafe. And when people asked me if I was lonely traveling by myself, I had to laugh. People from the island, people working at the hotel, even fellow guests were very friendly and made me feel like I was traveling with friends the whole time. One of the best things is that Bajans in general are culturally predisposed to taking no for an answer very politely. So unlike some touristy places where I've gone and been HOUNDED by people trying to sell me stuff or use their cabs, etc., here I was met by almost entirely laid-back people who might or might not offer me something, and always backed off the second I said, "No, thank you." That was quite a relief for a woman traveling alone. (And as for reviews talking about the frequent offers of drugs - I was approached once and MAY have been offered drugs, but it wasn't direct, so I can't be sure. And that was it. For the entire trip.)

The staff at this hotel is by far the friendliest I have ever experienced. By the second day I was there, they greeted me by name whenever they saw me, and went out of their way at all times to make sure I had a good trip. When a grocery order I had made prior to arrival was delayed, I received a bottle of champagne in my room with a card signed with an apology by the manager. And I wasn't even upset about the delay. The hotel itself is BEAUTIFUL. At first I was disappointed not to have a room right on the ocean. But when I got into my room, I found that I could see the ocean from my balcony, and hear it at night as well. And after finding out how gorgeous the beach was, I didn't bother to spend much time in my room trying to see the ocean anyway. If I wanted the ocean, I just went right to it.

The rooms have kitchens, and the hotel will arrange grocery delivery for you, or you can walk a mile down the beach to St. Lawrence Gap and get your own. I cooked about half of my meals in my room, and ate about half out. It was a good mix. And the kitchens are very nice, with just about everything you could need provided. St. Lawrence Gap also has some good restaurants, including a cute cafe called Bean and Bagel where I had a lovely breakfast one morning. I didn't have enough time to explore lots of restaurants elsewhere on the island, but after conversations with fellow hotel guests, I will make that a priority on my next visit. The hotel activities desk has menus for lots of restaurants. Every suggestion they made for me for visits or shopping or restaurants was right on, so I'd definitely use them as a resource.

The only thing I can say about the hotel that I would even consider negative is that the spa isn't the best place to spend one's time or money. If you have a need for a refreshed pedicure or manicure or hairstyle for a special event on the island, sure. But I can get spa services just as good (or better) for similar prices back home. I wish I'd spent that time on the beach, and the money on something else. But it was a pleasant experience. Just not the best way to spend time and money with the ocean 20 feet away.

For outside activities, I highly recommend going to Oistin's for the Friday night fish fry (eat at Uncle George's Fishnet Grill - WOW!) where you'll eat the freshest fish you've ever eaten for about 20 Barbados dollars ($10 US). There are also people there selling crafts/arts on tables. Take cash with you. I found beautiful jewelry, ceramic bowls, and drawings/paintings by a local artist. Much better shopping than the typical duty-free/tourist stuff you'll find in Bridgetown. I also highly recommend doing a snorkeling outing. I did the all-day trip with a company called Tiami, booked through the activities desk at the hotel. The cruise itself is 10-3, with two snorkeling stops and a third stop for lunch and a swim to the beach. It was a perfect, perfect day. I loved everything about it.

If you're looking for a good spot to take a relaxing vacation, I highly recommend this one. I chose it partly because the reviews I found here were almost without exception positive ones, unlike almost any other location I researched. I felt it only fair that I add my positive voice to the chorus.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank la_directora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

We recently returned from a 12 day stay @ the Bougainvillea Beach Resort if Barbados. We were there to celebrate our 50th. wedding anniv. What a great place it is. Clean, friendly, and beautiful. Our room was full of flowers(the bougainvillea) when we arrived and the resort sent us a bottle of bubbly to help us celebrate. The food was tasty and had a great variety. The breakfast buffet was great. Most every evening there was entertainment while we dined. There are 2 great restaurants on site. Our room was kept spotless. Our room was poolside and we spent much of the day just lazing around. The ocean there is a beautiful shade of blue. We would recommend this resort to anyone traveling to Barbados, and hope to return.

  • Liked — They were kept spotless
  • Disliked — nothing- we enjoyed it all
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichiganStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2007

My husband and I spent an amazing week here. Upon arrival we told the front desk it was our anniversary and they sent a bottle of proseco and a card to our room. The room was perfect with a mini kitchen. The staff felt like friends. The facility is just lush with plants and flowers. I could not say enough about this experience. WE will return and hopefully soon.

  • Liked — our room seemed to be the best one in the place with 2 porches
  • Disliked — tons of young kids at the pool area
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

My self my husband and my daughter stayed at Bougainvillea beach resort september this year. I have to say what a wonderful place it was . Our one bedroom appartment was spacious clean and very comfortable. The views from our balconies were second to noneT he ammenites were very good, although i was on holiday i still managed to get four loads of washing done. The swimming pools were very clean and my 22 month old daughter insisted on going for a dip twice a day every day. the staff were very courteous and friendly, we will definately consider comng back again and we will definaely be recommend this resort to our fiends. Truly paradise.. Wendy, Barry & Jasmine. Coventry, England, UK.

  • Liked — I liked its location and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Wenmill43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

Bougainvillea Beach Resort was everything we expected and more Great room overlooking the pool and the ocean Staff excellent. Beach well not a long walk to the end due to break waters but the beach its self perfect. Very little construction next door infact unless you were loking for it I saw nothing and heard nothing. Take the breakfast plan lots of choice and served on the beach. Go out for dinner at the Gap lots of choices. You can walk to the Gap via the beach but I wouldn't at night, not that there is a problem but more to make sure there would not be one. Besides a taxi is 7US big deal. Take the Cat cruise from Bridgetown and see the turtles great way to spend a day. Rent a car and go to Bathseheba spectacular!!! As I said the hotel was great we had second floor overlooking the poolbar and beach Room clean and modern although fresh paint might be a thought Bathroom big enough to hold a party in. Kitchen..... yes a kitchen with hot plate fridge and sink dishes etc they even do your dishes (with in reason. If you want an experience ask the bell captain about the lunch truck that comes a round check out the food. We bought lunch and had enough for 2 days and it was great the first day and better as left overs (no kidding)... and very safe no worries here. If in doubt about this hotel don't be if you don't stay here you are probably missing one of the few quaint hotels left on the island as all the others seem to be being built onn the main street. Enjoy we did and we are fussy!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelsof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
8.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Beach Resort

Property: Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christ Church Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bougainvillea Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea is the one that offers it all. Edged by two beautiful beaches, the resort, well known for its personal-touch and service, has 138 spacious suites which are just footsteps from the sand. Mediterranean style architecture surrounded by tropical gardens and the namesake Bougainvillea flowers create a tranquil setting, yet the location is merely minutes from south coast hotspots, making it an ideal base for exploring Barbados. Recommended for couples or families, the roomy suites all have ocean-facing balconies with breathtaking views. As a full service leisure resort, Bougainvillea has three swimming pools, a swim-up bar with daily happy hour, two beachfront restaurants, well-equipped fitness centre, luxurious Spa services, watersports, tennis court, Kids Club, Teen games room and outdoor play park. Entertainment is also offered several nights per week. Bougainvillea is a green hotel and has been awarded the Travelife GOLD award and the EarthCheck PLATINUM award for its commitment to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bougainvillea Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Beach Hotel Christ Church
Bougainvillea Barbados
Hotel Bougainvillea Beach
Bougainvillea Resort
Beach Bougainvillea Resort
Bougainvillea Hotel Barbados
Bougainvillea Beach Resort Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing