We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Basic”
Review of Adulo Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adulo Apartments
Manitoba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good and Basic”
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Adulo Apartments was a great price at $89 US for a two bedroom. We had a stove and fridge, microwave and fully stocked kitchen. Yes, it could be updated as with most hotels but comfortable enough. We had a dining room, living room and 2 bedrooms. The living room furniture wasn't as comfortable as we would like but the little patio with the wonderful trellis of flowers was great to sit and read in the evenings. The garden with fruit trees, including a lime tree, was also good to enjoy. The crazy roosters crowing at all hours gave us a laugh. Adulo is very close to Rockley Beach and the main strip but the walk there could be tricky as the roads are narrow with little sidewalks. We were almost struck by a speeding vehicle returning from dinner one night. There were also 2 accidents down Brown's Gap on that road the day before we left so be careful. The only complaint we had was the availability of television channels (they only had basic) and no Internet connection but for the price we couldn't complain.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbugger777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
22
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Cozy budget apartment hotel perfect if you want to stay longer in Barbados. Mrs Brown who owns the place is amazing she helps you with everything you need. Adulo Apartments is located 5 minutes from Accra beach(rockley), you have a walking distance from the nightlife and many great restaurant. Barbados is not a cheap country so be prepared to use more money then you expected. The climate is around 30 c degrees and it's really sticky so leave your hoodies at home. The island is real beutiful on the land and under the water.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

I can’t recommend this place enough if you’re looking for an inexpensive, well located, comfortable and convenient place to stay in Barbados.

The location of Adulo could not have been better, just 2 short blocks from the beach (and the Accra Beach Hotel), restaurants, cafes and the bus stop. On another note we loved taking the buses which took us all over the island, and got us to Bridgetown in 10-15 minutes.

The aparthotel was in a residential area and had a lovely garden where we would sip a glass of wine and read our book – and watch the neighbourhood rooster, hen and chicks as they jumped the fence to come strut around the garden.

We were in a studio apartment which was basic but clean and well-appointed and had a balcony with a view of the sea. We paid $60 US per night per room (high season). Mrs. Brown and her staff were warm and welcoming and it was nice to exchange pleasantries with them.

If you go, try to avoid room #10 as it is on the top floor at the end of the building and there is some traffic noise. We were moved to room #5 which had a view of the sea and was quiet. http://www.aduloapartmentsbarbados.com/

Shakers restaurant was the best value for money restaurant during our entire stay and was just around the corner from Adulo on a small side street. As you leave Adulo, walk toward the beach but make a quick right at the first side street. Shakers is small and obscure but you will find it just a few doors down the street.

One of our other favourite places to grab a bite was Terasu Café. Walk from Adulo 2 blocks to the main road and it is just a few doors to the left.

For a special night out, the Apsara Indian and Thai restaurant had fabulous food in a stunning setting. It was about a 20 minute walk from Adulo. http://www.apsarabarbados.com/apsara_barbados.htm

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank velika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Am quite surprised by some of the reviews. $100 a night for a two-bedroom apartment at peak time (England were playing cricket there) is fantastic, so we did not except all mod cons. However we had a roomy kitchen, big lounge with satellite TV, a functional bathroom and good sized bedrooms (with great fans, so no a/c needed).

And the people? They were absolutely fantastic. Friendly, courteous, helpful and cheerful always. We had no hot water, so they fixed it (almost straight away, with little fuss). They gave us advice and a very warm welcome (and it took ages for me to persuade them to take payment, which is really sweet).

The situation is great. A quick walk to the beach, ten minutes to Bridgetown (do get the little minibuses that run up and down the road from early morning, although beware as they blast the reggae at you) at a cost of 1.5 local dollars. The sports bar at the bottom of the road is not great, but there is a great place called Rootz just the other side of shopping centre (and good high speed internet is free here if you're drinking). Just beware of their rum punches, the bar tenders can have very heavy hands while pouring the local spirits!!!

If you turn right rather than left at the main road you will find a Trinidadian curry house (I kid you not) called Ackee Tree (or something like that). Do try this place, some of the best food I've had for ages (and great for veggies, which cannot be said for a lot of the other Bajan restaurants).

All in all, if you want a place that is handy to beach and town, I would definitely recommend Adulo. It is clean and comfortable - and you are not going to be there during the day anyway (t'would be a huge waste of this fantastic island).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wayward_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2008

STAYED AT ADULO FOR 2 WEEKS. CROP OVER TIME

Had 2 bed apartment and studio very basic have to provide your own toilet roll also cleaning products so be aware. they are cleaned twice a week and a good job they do. Be aware there are local residents who live around the apartments and you hear music at night also there was a resident who lived on the premisses who had us awake 6.30 in the morning with loud music.other than that they are near beach and shops. we still enjoyed our stay but be prepare very basic.

  • Disliked — being woken by music
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flyingfishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2007

We stayed at Adulo from Dec. 27th - Jan. 4th, 2007 in a 2 bedroom apartment. The size was good, and we did not need AC as the fans in the bedroom were adequate. However, the fan and light in the LR was broken when we arrived, and we were told an electrician would be out the next day - 3 days into our stay, we were finally given a fan for the LR as they said that an electrician wouldn't come out due to the holiday. The owners are lovely, and the location is great.

Probably our biggest complaints would be the broken fan, the shower had lukewarm (if that) water 99% of the time, and the lack of cleaning. We were told that they cleaned twice a week, but we were left clean towels and sheets only once during a 9 day stay, which were left outside the door at 9 am, and had to ask other times - even had to ask for TP and garbage bags, and where to put the garbage as it was never emptied. There was a broom left in the apartment, but no dust pan or cleaning products for the bathroom. While we expected basic, they need to adjust their cleaning schedule based on when guests check in and out.

Overall, the price was good and the location was convenient, but I don't know that I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Size
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness and attention by staff
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

We stayed in Adulo this July 06 and it was ok. The staff were friendly & helpful, the location was good as far as accessing shops, beaches, nightlife etc, and the price is reasonable. Because we were in a first floor apartment it was very hot (as flats are) so we definately needed to purchase air con, so allow that in your budget. The picture of the apartment was the same as what we found, (minus the vase of flowers) but when you got there, the kitchen cupboards were a bit old-fashioned and a bit musty smelling as you opened them. the kitchenware is basic and no table top for chopping except the table - so best not to cook in there very much unless you don't mind roughing it. The bed was good. They had a large walk in shower, but only a tiny sink (nowhere to rest your soap) and all there was, was a tiny cabinet (not attractive). The toilet was smelly - wanted to buy a loo smell thing - although it was clean. No mosquitos or bites we found - i think cos we kept the door shut with the air con on! There was an iron and board left outside to use which was useful! and if it's your first time to Barbados, be prepared for your mobile chargers not to work even with an adapter???? Check out how to use your mobiles abroad fully before you leave as we couldn't seem to get ours to work well, although we didn't really need them. Paying by Visa, there was a little charge - so cheaper to pay another way. Not all banks accepted Maestro cards to withdraw money, but there were a couple.

In summary, if I visited Barbados again, I personally would invest in a slighter nicer place to enjoy a little more feminine touches - so think about it girls! But as I said in the beginning, the area is good and it is clean and friendly. Hope this helps, enjoy barbados as my husband and I did!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Lack of feminine touches
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.0 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#28 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carib Blue Apartment Hotel
Carib Blue Apartment Hotel
#43 of 69 in Christ Church Parish
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angler Apartments
Angler Apartments
#21 of 25 in Saint James Parish
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Halcyon Palm
Halcyon Palm
#1 of 4 in Sunset Crest
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adulo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adulo Apartments

Property: Adulo Apartments
Address: Rockley Hill, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adulo Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adulo Apartments is charming, comfortable and affordable accommodation perfectly located in heart of the beautiful and lively South Coast of Barbados. Legendary beaches, restaurants, supermarkets, shopping and all other key amenities are within walking distance. Select from tastefully furnished studios or two bedroom apartments, all fully contained with private patios overlooking our tropical garden. Guests feel right at home in any of our 13 apartments.We have recently renovated the bathrooms to provide guest with modern facilities,a beautifully redisgned lounge area for the comfort of our guest.There are new amenities including Wi-fi,cable and the addition of air-condition in the two- bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adulo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adulo Apartments Hotel Christ Church
Adulo Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing