We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best on the south”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Simply great service has improved so much rooms are still the Best out of the few hotels of the south, the best value too for your Dollars.
Amazing healthy menu. We stayed already but I can tell this
Place looks and feels more fab every time, . Thanks for offering
Yoga classes , and for keeping upgrading without increasing the bill.Peaceful, ultra safe (that is nowadays a measure criteria in Barbados) and so tastefully set,

Amazingly healthy I can highly recommend.
Namaste

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasunstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 223 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just back from a week at Ocean Spray. Loved it. It's right on the sea and I can't believe there are many, if any, spots on the island with such a great view. Only negative was that it's slightly out of the way for restaurants etc but this isolation was also part of the charm. Others have said you need a car but the bus service is great and we were happy with a one-day hire.
Breakfasts were good and staff very friendly and helpful.
If you are there for the surfing and of beginner/intermediate level, you will probably find you want to head to Freights Bay, a couple of miles away, for nice clean waves. In that case you may want a car the whole time as going that short distance in a taxi was 25 Barbadian dollars each way. It's very messy at Surfers Point.
Also surprised at cost of food and eating out - more expensive than London.

Room Tip: Closer to the sea the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hootsmanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Ocean Spray Beach Apartments are situated small bay. The rooms are large and are equipped with all devices which you need for cooking if you would like to cook something.Each room has its own balcony or terrace and bathroom with toilet. You may connect to wi-fi from your room but sometimes the connection is not stable. In the hotel area there is a restaurant where you may eat breakfast which are included in the room`s price. It is sometimes opened on lunch time and dinner time. For additional payment you may order extra breakfast according to their offer. In the hotel area there is also a room without walls where you may exercise joga or work-out. Fans of surfing, wind surfing and kite surfing may rent there any equipment they need and find there a teacher for such sports. The beach in front of the hotel is not suitable for swimming because of the coral reef and huge waves. It is good mainly for any kind of surfing. In the neighbourhood you may find small sandy beaches where you may go to the sea. Long sandy beaches with calm water (very good for swimming) you may find ten minutes from the hotel in a nearest village called Oistins by the bus No. 11, which costs US $ 1 per one person. You may find long sandy beaches with calm water from Oistins along the whole west coast of Barbados. In Oistins you may find some restaurants and fish market where you may eat fresh grilled tuna fish, flying fish, mahi-mahi, marlin, schrimps and lobster. Other nearest restaurants are situated in St.Lawrence. I recommend the hotel for those people who do not like big crowded hotels and want to find a relax.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Advokat_Kollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I spent 6 days at Ocean Spray and wow, what an experience! The views are simply breathtaking and with a short walk, there are several protected coves to enjoy a nice swim. We were there to mainly surf, and Ocean Sprays location is great for access to mellow point breaks in addition to the more challenging breaks on the East Coast. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful each morning and the staff ALWAYS friendly and helpful. We also experienced the lack of "hot" water but it was by no means unbearable and completely understandable. Each night we returned to a cleaned and spotless room. Our experience was perfect and we will be returning with our children soon! This is a very quiet and peaceful hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyMBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This property is ideally located right on the sea in a safe area in Inch Marlow, and has a restaurant open most nights for dinner and every day for breakfast. While it is about a 5 minute bus ride out of Oistins (which is the closest little area with shops and restaurants) It's a great place for some peace and quiet and you never have to wait more then 5 minutes for a bus which costs $1 USD and is a very reliable means of getting to and from Bridgetown any time during the day and night. I read a lot of the previous reviews of this place and it is very apparent that the owner and his staff make changes based on past reviews so here are the things I noticed:
- Breakfast is very well stocked each morning with a different variety of choices. It is served between 7-10 am and always has the staples (toast, fruit salad, cheese, cereal, coffee, tea) as well as hot food daily. Sometimes baked beans, sometimes french toast or pancakes. They have a very good variety.
- Wifi reception was great! Mind you I didn't really go to Ocean Spray to use the internet but if you do need to use it, it's got a very reliable signal. I even watched a couple of movies on netflix before bed.
- Despite reviews of this resort having no beach, if you walk about 50 steps to the left of the resort you will find 2-3 little beaches which are suitable for swimming. Usually you'll have the whole little beach to yourself. A great way to spend a quite day reading, swimming, and having a few cold ones while watching the surf.

We had consistent turtle sightings right from the front of the resort, and it's always nice to wake up and watch the surfers and kite boarders catching the first waves of the morning. The resort is very clean and our room was serviced with fresh towels, sheets and a mop every day. The rooms are tastefully designed, comfortable, and equipped with safes. Kitchen was well equipped with pots, pans, and dishes and was also well maintained and clean. We met one of the housekeepers and she was very helpful and accommodating.

As for the customer service aspect of this property, I have to say it's top notch in my books (and I've worked in the hospitality industry for over 10 years) Our airport shuttle was not able to pick us up, but as soon as we checked in we received an apology from the front desk, and you can imagine our delight when we were upgraded from a studio apartment to a 2 bedroom apartment for the whole week. Another thing I think is very important to mention is that we had originally booked this resort in advance for a stay of 9 nights. Due to some travelling delays we had to postpone our check in, very last minute and forfeit the first 2 days of our reservation. The resort was very very accommodating and did not charge us for the 2 nights we couldn't stay, even though we were well beyond cancellation dates (i.e we cancelled the day of) This is very impressive and not usual for many resorts anywhere.

All in all this resort has a very relaxed atmosphere, a cool owner who treats his staff well and it shows. I loved that it was close enough to the heart of activity, but still in a tranquil place ideal for some major peace and quiet! Well done Ocean Spray! If we ever come back to Barbados this is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and you will hear the waves no matter which room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My staying at Ocean Spray was very disappointing.

I had no hot water for 6 days. The owner at the end came to my room and checked the water was really cold so he offered to give me a " little discount" but then I found out
the bill was for the full amount. And the owner was gone. The staff did not care about this issue but been very rude to me. They will ask to pay everything in advance so if you have any problem you will not be able to have any leverage or any money back. Was also very noisy because of works. Wifi reception very bad in the rooms.

Fortunately there is another guest-house next to Ocean Spray called Zed where they are extremely nice and offer a way better service! Go for it!!!

Room Tip: Chose a ocean views or better go to ZED Apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fccesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanSprayApts, Manager at Ocean Spray Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologize and regret that you were unhappy with your stay at Ocean Spray Beach Apartments. We sympathize and understand the inconvenience caused by not receiving hot water. Ocean Spray strives to be environmentally friendly in various aspects of our operations, hence our use of solar power water heating. Unfortunately during your stay we had an unexpected cloudy overcast for 5 days and were only able to provide luke-warm water instead of hot water.
In an effort to prevent similar situations we have decided to install more solar panels for our apartments.
Regretfully we were no able to offer a discount despite the inconvenience as you were a single traveler who was already upgraded to a two bedroom due to your last minute walk-in booking.
Our policy is that guests must reserve through a deposit and pay balance on arrival, in your situation you kept extending your stay every two days and our front desk staff was not able to determine your exact length of stay.
We appreciate your feedback and will strive to continuously raise our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My girlfriend and me enjoyed very much our stay! It's a nice, small hotel at the southcoast, excellent for surfing and windsurfing! A realy nice owner and helpful staff mad our stay just perfect! Thank you very much, we will be back some day!

Room Tip: The closer to the ocean - the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefan_daetwyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
4 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
676 reviews
4.3 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
5.4 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Point Hotel
Silver Point Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silver Sands
633 reviews
6.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Apartments

Address: Surfer's Point, Inch Marlow, 17122, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $82 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique serviced apartment complex featuring studios, one bedrooms and multiple room apartments. We offer the benefits of home with some hotel type amenities. Located off the beaten path in the countryside, in one of the best beginner surf spots in the Caribbean. The sea spray, amazing shoreline of the bay and lush gardens offers an ideal setting to getaway and relax. Join us in the Yoga Pavilion for group or private yoga sessions. Mamu’s Cafe prepares fresh organic food grown on our own tropical fruit forest which is also available to tour and hike. Nearby is Silver Sands & Long Beach, and Oistins town for shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Apartment Hotel Christ Church
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing