We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, well-located, friendly accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid, well-located, friendly accommodations”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The only reason I'm not giving Ocean Spray 5 stars is because, having booked at the very last minute, I think I got the last available room and thus the worst room of the lot. The room itself felt neglected, but the rest of the hotel was well-maintained, bright, spacious, well designed and very, very friendly. The location is perfect - it's off the beaten path and right on a scenic bluff on the ocean, but it's still close to Oistins and the airport.

The staff are just genuinely good people and they clearly enjoy what they do. I think this is a direct result of not only Bajans being inherently warm and hospitable people, but also because of Mood, the owner / manager of Ocean Spray. He's a terrific guy, and a good attitude at the top generally means the folks who work for him share that attitude.

I would definitely recommend Ocean Spray to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, comfortable, laid back but attentively staffed place to stay in Barbados.

Room Tip: Spend up for the room located on upper floors towards the ocean. The ground-level rooms further fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfKiteSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    73
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
26
109
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Are you looking for a resort with a great location, in a quit and noncommercial area on the South coast, right by the amazing turquoise sea?
Congratulations, you've found a little piece of paradise.
We had the privilege to spend five nights at Ocean Spray Resort in a two-bed-room apartment with kitchen on the second floor (comfortable, charming, well kept and clean). The view from the living room and from the balcony was breathtaking!
The breakfast is included in the price and it is fresh and good. They also serve lunch and we had lunch at the resort a couple of times, the chicken salad and the grilled fish was superb!
The owner Mahmood is genuinely humble and helpful. He runs the hotel together with his daughter and she is, like her father, very welcoming, caring and service-minded. In fact all the staff is fantastic, especially Leann who makes breakfast and lunch. Her omelets’ are so good and she's so friendly and service minded, always with a smile.
One day each week Mahmood cooks home-made Indian food (his father is from India) and shows a movie on an outdoor cinema. It was a magical evening and the food was delicious! We will remember this dining experience for a long time.

We appreciated the location, at the surfers point in a quit village where the locals live. It feels genuine, away from commerce and tourism (further west on the south coast). If you want to dine in Oistins or beyond, shop in Bridgetown or get around to other beaches, you can catch a minu-bus that goes from Buffy´s minimart and bar, just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

The majority of those staying at the hotel are surfers which is easy to understand. My boyfriend took surf-lessons for the first time at Zed's surf school, which we highly recommend.

We spent most days in the area near the hotel. There is a beautiful beach about 300 meters from the hotel, called Long Beach. Here are the waves relatively high but you can swim if you are familiar with high waves. The beach is fantastic, about 2 miles long and we were often all alone at the beach. If you instead walks in the other direction, you will after 10 minutes walk, come to the kite surfers and wind surfers 'Mecca'. The beach is so beautiful, with more speed and action.

We wish that we could have stayed longer at Ocean Spray, and we hope that can return soon.

We will recommend Ocean Spray to anyone, visiting Barbados South coast.


//Camilla and Ulf from Stockholm, Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camilla and Ulf d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Large, quiet and clean apartments, right next to the sea.
Friendly stuff and the owner is always very helpful.
Lots of activities, surfing and two good kite spots around the corner. The island is very peace- and beautiful.
We just had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xAlps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2012

After a very busy crazy year, I found myself finally enjoying a very welcome vacation and could not have found a better place than Ocean Spray Beach Apartments. The location was spectacular, overlooking the most beautiful waves where the Atlantic meets the Caribbean Sea . It's location was out of the way and quiet which I truly appreciated but it is close enough that a quick taxi ride could take me whereever I wanted to go within 10-20 minutes. The rooms were lovely, airy and very clean with sea breezes which kept the room very comfortable and cool. As advertised, there is a complete kitchen in each room which was handy. The staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Smiles were everywhere. The owner and his wonderful daughter were around and very conscientious in assuring their guests were comfortable and entertained. .I really hated leaving and look forward to going back again, Ocean Spray is a great place to go!!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean so it would be hard to say there was a less desirable location, they al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandriawmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were really impressed with the location - right at the waters edge - and rightly deserving the name of Ocean Spray . The rooms were fresh , the beds comfortable and the bathrooms clean with an abundance of hot water. The food was excellent and the location of the breakfast room ideal in the garden area. The staff were great - Andrew at the front desk is a great asset to the team and gave us a great welcome . Thanks in particular to the owner, Mahmood - a great host , full of local knowledge - his passion for his work shone through and we had some great conversations about the Island - without him we wouldn't have met Michael and Andrew Parris the taxi drivers who looked after us and took us on a fab day tour of the Island - fantastic as we only had a three day stop over . Ocean Spray is well priced , well located ( Close to Oistins for a great value, great taste fish supper and still near enough by cab to some excellent gourmet restaurents ) and for us thankfully miles aways from a more sanitised tourism further down the coast !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
205 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our first trip to Barbados and were keen to stay all over to get the feel of the different areas, this was our first stop. We had a second floor room looking out to the waves. Nothing too flash but the proximity to the waves is what makes it special. The rooms are basic but super clean and if you wanted to cook then there is everything you needed. The balconies on each room were great too, the fact you could open the doors right up and wake to the sound of the waves crashing was awesome.

Every morning there is breakfast provided and I think dinner was optional also although due to its close proximity to the main strip we headed there for dinner. If you wanted to surf you have two surf schools on your doorstep. It was nice that this place is a little out of the main tourist area so lots of peace and quiet.

We didn't have a safe in our room which was a bit of a pain when swimming etc. and half the power sockets in our room didn't work although they do have free wifi which was a bonus. Reception was also best avoided if they were even there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Summary: A quiet location that's great for surfing, but you'll need to travel to get to Town.

Our studio room was near the sea, and on the ground floor. It was decently-sized with a door out to a small terrace and the resort garden overlooking the ocean spraying on the rocky beach. Someone earlier said "don't expect the Ritz" and I'd agree e.g. the bed was creaky and towels were adequate but on the thin side. It was clean, though, so no complaints on that front. Our apartment had a kitchenette area with a fridge and a small wall-mounted TV (which we never used so no idea what channels was available).

There was a dining area in a sort of gazebo in the middle of the resort. Food was good! Unlimited continental breakfast (cereal, toast, coffee/tea, fruit, OJ, pastries) with omelettes and more available for BD$5-10. Fresh fish and other snacks every day for lunch, though dinner was only served on certain evenings (we enjoyed the movie night).

There was a small selection of candies, soda, and beer available at reception, but nothing too substantial.

Wifi was fast when it worked - one of the networks disappeared towards the end of our stay and we had to go to the office or stand out in the garden for an Internet connection. Mildly frustrating but you don't go to Barbados to surf the web, do you?

Service was excellent, everyone was very friendly and helpful - though I found that true across the whole island.

The location is very handy for Zed's surf school (which I recommend), and there's a small sandy beach a few hundred yards away, but the area next to Ocean Spray is rocky. There aren't many bars or restaurants nearby, so you'll have to rent a car, take taxis (BD$40+ to get to Bridgetown) or take the bus to get around.

Handy hint: just two minutes' walk up the road there's a minimart - on the left side of that, follow the path and stand at the far side of the next road to catch the $2 bus into Oistins or beyond.

Room Tip: Waves are constantly crashing against the rocks so if you want the most quiet, get a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coco9nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
12.2 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
271 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Palm Garden Hotel
The Palm Garden Hotel
#3 of 3 in Worthing
121 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Silver Point Hotel
Silver Point Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silver Sands
629 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
613 reviews
6.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Spray Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Spray Beach Apartments

Property: Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Address: Surfer's Point, Inch Marlow, 17122, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Spray Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique serviced apartment complex featuring studios, one bedrooms and multiple room apartments. We offer the benefits of home with some hotel type amenities. Located off the beaten path in the countryside, in one of the best beginner surf spots in the Caribbean. The sea spray, amazing shoreline of the bay and lush gardens offers an ideal setting to getaway and relax. Join us in the Yoga Pavilion for group or private yoga sessions. Mamu’s Cafe prepares fresh organic food grown on our own tropical fruit forest which is also available to tour and hike. Nearby is Silver Sands & Long Beach, and Oistins town for shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ocean Spray Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Spray Beach Apartment Hotel Christ Church
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing