We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice before you go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barbados Beach Club
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We arrived at BBC to a sweltering, drab and out of date reception area complete with mirrored ceiling. The receptionist was not particularly welcoming. Quickly noticed that our toilet didn't fill up and switch off correctly, so for three days it constantly ran keeping us awake at night as it sounded like a water fall. Reported it to reception the first morning and noticed the number of complaints etc in the book. Shocking. A man arrived Thursday to fix it, only for a leak to appear from the pipework. A man came back Friday but by when we left Monday it was still leaking all over the bathroom floor so had to use towels. During our stay we never achieved luke warm water let alone hot water in the sink. We had no hot water in the bath for 3 days so asked permission to get the key for the ladies changing room. Staff seemed disinterested in our cause but maybe because it happens so often, it's water off a duck's back to them. We also had to ask for a bath plug.

The food was repetitive and boring just like other reviews have stated. The only chicken was wings or legs. Why not breast? It was also of very average quality. Often cutlery was in short supply and desserts ran out. Why do guests have to find out ice-cream is available and there is a rose option of wine? There was also numerous birds flying around inside the restaurant.

People were smoking in areas designated as "No Smoking", but people still smoked there as the rule was not enforced. This is unpleasant for non-smoking guests.

Entertainment was poor. On Valentines day there was none at all. Another day a man slouched in a chair with a laptop on a table in front of him but all evening said nothing instead clicking away on his mobile phone. He looked so bored although many of the staff look miserable. Also felt managers intimidate staff as they appear to be spoken to if they speak to guests.

All inclusive basis, this hotel is not. The Pepsi cola is semi flat and doesn't taste right, there was only one cocktail list on the bar which has an extremely limited choice and when you eventually do manage to get served, the drinks are watered down. Also why can you not get wine at the bar? It's unfair on wine drinkers. The whole area needs refurbishing.

The swimming pool was cold and one of the under water light fittings fell out exposing wires. Also the toilets near the restaurant are nothing short of disgusting with mould, dirt and cracked cistern lid. Why cook food barbecue style in the restaurant when it smokes the area out and is very unpleasant? Many areas are dirty and unhygienic so need replacing.

When we asked the Virgin rep for help she said we were not one of her clients because although we travelled with Virgin, we booked through someone else. That's less than helpful.

The tennis court and obstacle golf course were locked and looked derelict and you had to get permission to use the fitness room.

We asked our agent for a move or flights home after the first night. Some guests walked out. There are many many issues about this hotel and if you bring matters to the attention of the manager etc, don't expect the problem to be resolved.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Deirdre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for Barbados Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 920 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

We returned last week from two weeks all-inclusive at Barbados Beach Hotel. After reading the negative reviews we didn't know what to expect! We needn't have worried, we had no problems. We arrived after a short (15 minute) transfer from the airport to a welcoming receptionist and were shown almost immediately to our 4th floor room. It was a good size with clean modern bathroom overlooking the main courtyard and pool, and had lovely views of the beach and sunset. The air con worked well and was very quiet, although we didn't actually use it, preferring to have the door open at night to listen to the surf.
The main restaurant is spacious with two sections and the food is delicious and plentiful. It seems to work on a weekly rotation. We loved the fresh fish and I tried to eat some every day. There is an alternative a la carte restaurant three days per week upstairs, which has to be booked. It's surprisingly stylish, although we were actually very happy with the main restaurant. The bar was staffed well and we didn't ever have to wait long for drinks. It would be nice to be able to get wine from the bar as I find rum cocktails too sweet, but it is only served in the evening with dinner.
The entertainment was OK. There was something going on every evening except Friday, presumably because that's Fish Fry night in nearby Oistins.
This hotel is on the south coast, so the prevailing winds make the sea rough. If you want calmer water you need to stay on the west coast. There are lots of sun beds and plenty of shade for those who want it. The beach is quite small. The attendant will put beds and parasols out as required. There hotel has no sail boats, just kayaks. We like walking, so we're pleased there's a short path over to Maxwell beach. Here you can walk about half a mile in front of the neighbouring hotels before the beach ends. At that point you need to go along back streets to get to Dover beach.
We found all the staff friendly and happy to chat even though they are busy.
If I had any complaints at all about BBC, and I am being picky here, it would be to have more fresh fruit at breakfast, (why are they serving tinned fruit in the Caribbean?). Some yogurt would be good too - I bought some in the local supermarket to eat at breakfast. There's no wine served at lunchtime, which I know would also be welcomed by many guests.

It's a short walk up to the main road and along to Oistins town. Or catch a bus. The Barbados bus service is amazing! Very frequent, fast, helpful, massively entertaining, and only sixty pence for any distance! Try getting the bus to Crane beach, reputedly one of the world's best beaches, and you'll have a real adventure.
Overall, this hotel is good value and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: East facing rooms get morning sun, but get the easterly wind (and a wet balcony when it rains!) So g...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just returned after another brilliant holiday. We were made so welcome AGAIN and had a restful and relaxing week. Staff were wonderful, especially Sandra and Crystal in the restaurant, Dale and Maurice behind the bar and Steve on the beach to mention a few, although everyone friendly and smiley. Rooms immaculate with clean towels every day and rooms have been renovated since our last stay. Beach has new sunbeds and umbrellas. Lovely walk each morning round bay to end of The Gap to work up an appetite for one of Crystal's omelettes - she is so quick and never a long wait for eggs!!! Food overall in the restaurants was varied and tasty with amazing flying fish - will miss that!
Can thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone - sea is a bit rough for children but there is a pool which is always clean so they would be happy there.
There have been quite a few new modern hotels built recently in Barbados but we love the charm of Barbados Beach Club which is typically Bajan.
One of our party had a birthday during our stay and staff in restaurant helped us celebrate by decorating table and supplying dessert dish which was a lovely touch.
Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 561PatH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband, myself and son and his girlfriend all really enjoyed our time at this hotel. We found the staff pleasant and helpful and very friendly. An absolutely brilliant week so much so we didn't want to come home. We are returning next year as my son is marrying his lovely girlfriend there and will be staying for 2 weeks, cant wait. The room was clean with regular towel change/cleaning from cheerful staff. The food I had no complaints about at all as I enjoy West Indian cuisine and we ate well. We heard some people complaining about the birds flying around the dining hall and although I can sort of understand their plight it didn't really bother us as it was only the odd one and can appreciate it must be hard to keep them out completely as part of the dining is outside, but the hotel have erected mesh to alleviate the "problem". Beautiful island, hotel on the beach,what more can you ask for. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Got back from BBC last week what was another fantastic holiday! Me & my partner went alone this year unlike last when we went as a group. And what an excellent time we had! Met some great people who we can now call our friends. Like last year the hotel is fab...in the best location (well if you like peace & quiet) with just the sound of the sea waking you up in the morning, a lovely clean beach & great food. Most of the staff are lovely friendly people who offer a great service & are very dedicated to their jobs. My favourite day is Sunday for the food as it's beef Sunday dinner with homemade Yorkshire puddings. They take pride in the cleanliness of the place, my cleaner was lovely & made sure I had everything I needed...thank you Harriette! & thank you Maxine for making our holiday special! All bar staff are brilliant as well as some of the waiters/waitresses. We are looking forward to going back again next year. Oh yes must mention this also Clem Curtis from The Foundations was staying there for a few days when we were there & Mary Wilson from the Supremes stayed there a night so says it all really about BBC when they've got famous people choosing to stay there.

Room Tip: Sea view... Of course :-)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just got back from a week in the BBC. First impression was wow. A pink building on a quiet road. Friendly receptionist, drab reception. Got to the room (305) medium size but two double beds. Nice sea view balcony. Air con that was in good order. TV from the 90's. clean and all tiled so not a disaster. Plain bathroom with taps that all leaked and would have been at home in the 1950's, flimsy toilet seat that broke 3 times in the week!!! Fresh towels and beds made every day so kool guys well done. So I will get my bad points out the way.......... If your ready..... The pool is ok for a small hotel but there is no pool facility for toddlers. It needs a splash pool for 1,2,3 or 4 year olds. The salad at meal times is a bowl of lettuce with maybe two pieces of tomato in. Guys, please a small bowl of cucumber,onion,tomato and lettuce would be fine. Easily sorted out that could be. Only one bar which is fine cause it's central, but behind the bar the hygiene is terrible. Inside the stainless steel drinks fridge there's sludge all over the inside of it, again easily sorted. Get a new one. It's beyond cleaning. In the one dining area which again is fine cause it's central in a small hotel, the egg and bacon hob is minging. The little corner where the bacon is kept is a mass of old fat and oil build up that needs ripping out and replacing with new stainless. There needs to be a staff policy of being smiley and friendly like most of the other Bajans on the island. A couple staff never cracked a smile, managers included. But a couple bar staff were cracking lads and one of the youngest waitresses in the dining area, she was Always happy and smiling whatever the day. Next, bloody ice cream. Is it a national treasure? Why should you have to find out they have ice cream from other guests and then have to ask for it and wait up to 15 minutes for it? Can we not be trusted to serve ourself a couple scoops of ice cream? Right what else............. Oh we travelled with my 3 year old daughter. So checked in with the restaurent manager every meal time, told them there was two adults one toddler, usually I would grab a high chair, all good, but would never get a place laid for my daughter. Outta 21 meals I think 19 times I had to scavenge cutlery for her. Next, the DJ was a chap sat in a chair twiddling with his phone silently for three hours playing background music through one speaker. Now I wasn't expect the Ministry of Sound or Amnesia but come on guys a flashing light and a dude that can talk maybe?
Apart from that it wasn't that bad. Lol. The last couple days the hotel was quiet and they wondered why!
Good points. Location was nice, beach is fabulous, beach attendant polite and great service with the umbrellas, 2 or 3 main meal choices so not to bad, desserts were below average. Went out and about and lots of friendly locals. Great weather. Even when it rained, it was short then hot again.
So would I go back to the BBC? No. Sorry guys. Wouldn't recommend it either. Not a disasterous holiday by any means but deffo slightly below average
I've been holidaying around the world for 24 years been plenty country's. And I think this hotel is in the bottom 5 I've been to. Just needs to sharpen up guys. You gotta remember we all pay approx £1000-£1200 for a week All Inc so expect a little better. For less than half that we can get a better experience in an Egyptian hotel. Deffo go back to Barbados though. It's a kool,charming,fun,hot,friendly Island well worth a trip or more. Next year we will try the west coast. Any more info anyone email me if you like djianjay@yahoo.co.uk

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Threejaysshellfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I just got back last week from a lovely 12 night stay at barbados beach club. This is the 4th time I've stayed here and really cannot fault it! I went with my retired parents, my 3 year old and my 8 month old twins. Upon arrival there was some confusion regarding rooms as virgin hadn't supplied the hotel with correct details so our rooms weren't near each other. However the staff did everything they could (even though the hotel was full) to help accomadate us and by the following afternoon we had two lovely rooms next to each other. The staff in the restaurant are all so lovely and will literally do anything they can to help. Sandra and michelle deserve a mention as they couldn't of been more helpful. Initially there wasn't enough highchairs but within minutes more were located to accomadate us. The food is always lovely, and very fresh. Everyone is so friendly including the cleaners, bar staff and receptionists. One thing to mention is that the man who looks after the beach equipment doesn't like it if you try to move beds and umbrellas yourself, he likes to do it for you. The tuesday night floor show is very entertaining with a fire eater, limbo dancers, a band and a man called lord radio who sings cabaret.
The hotel is in a lovely location. It is just a short walk to nearby fishing village oistins which thrives on a friday evening. In the other direction it is a short walk to st lawrence gap where you will find local night life.
Thank you so much to all the staff at barbados beach club for making our stay so pleasurable!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyh0lidays44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
2.9 mi away
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive
0.7 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
10.0 mi away
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,985 reviews
2.2 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#24 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,515 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbados Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbados Beach Club

Address: Maxwell Coast Road, 15031, Barbados (Formerly Sunbay Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range: $228 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbados Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barbados Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbados Beach Club Hotel Christ Church
Barbados Beach Hotel
Barbados Beach Resort All Inclusive
Beach Hotel Barbados
Barbados Beach Club Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing