We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT TIME!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbados Beach Club

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Barbados Beach Club
Ocean, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT TIME!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I went to the Barbados Beach Club with my boyfriend and 2 friends for 5 days in the middle of June. We had a great time. Yes the hotel is a little out dated, but they are renovating it and doing a great job. I don't understand all of the negative reviews about the staff. The staff is amazing! They are all so friendly. The hotel location is awesome. It's almost like you have a private beach. The alcoholic drinks are NOT watered down! The rooms are very clean and we had fresh towels every day. The staff at the concierge desk was extremely helpful with everything. They helped us book a catamaran cruise which was awesome. We highly recommend the Jammin' Catamaran Cruise. They also helped us rent a car so we could tour the island. We highly recommend Oistens fish fry... yummy! Overall we had a great time at the BCC. The ONLY disappointment that we had was the food. It was buffet style which was nice and easy. But it was very hit or miss in the quality. Some things were very good. Some things weren't very good. Some things were stale. Yes I understand it is a 2 star hotel, but the one thing that helps keep a place in business is the food. Overall we had a great time. I recommend the BCC if you are looking for some fun and sun for a great value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a great view of the ocean and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carissa1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    291
    189
    106
    124
See reviews for
157
352
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed on the fifth floor with a balcony looking out at sea and it was very peaceful and lovely! The Hotel staff were very pleasant and the meals were great. Lovely location and overall a great vacation in Barbados and staying at BBC made it much more enjoyable! Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a very affordable and fantastic getaway!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 501 and 502 and it has such a lovely view from the balcony, overlooking both the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jr L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Giving this hotel one circle rating is being very generous. Me and my group went here last year for crop over. After countless call to the hotel informing them of the time we would be coming in would be later than the original time we first set (We were assured that our rooms would be ready especially seeing we were coming later than the original time) when we reached the rooms were not ready. they made us wait 5 hours in the lobby for our rooms were not ready. totally wasting our first day there. Our room was a breakfast inclusive room not all inclusive for we didn't see the need to use the all inclusive option seeing we came to go party for crop over. breakfast was cut off so early you had to literately wake up at 7am in order to ensure you don't get the dregs. One of the days rain fell and flooded out our neighbours room we felt so bad for them we had to invite them to put there stuff in our room for the staff there did nothing about it until the next day. THE WORST PART! the housekeeping staff stole from our room. They stole our i phone, articles of clothing, money and the staff seem to not care at all. only one young man like ourselves was accommodating. There are no ice machines or water stations on any of the floors. DO not try to save money and stay at this hotel the staff are horrible, they steal and they know nothing about customer service. worst stay ever!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mikhail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christ Church Parish hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We just back a few days ago from the Barbados Beach Club and could not wait to write our review of the BBC.
Our review will be brief but we just want to say to all the people who have made negative comments on here about the BBC that you all are totally unfair and negatively exaggerative with your reviews/comments. If you want luxury accommodation/service then pay a whole lot extra and stay somewhere else. Barbados has many luxury all-inclusive hotels. Do not book a holiday at the BBC and after you arrive/leave decide to complain. You are being grossly unfair if you do this.
The Barbados Beach Club (also referred to as the BBC for short) is a beautiful, intimate, well maintained all inclusive resort.
We spent a week here and it was a totally amazing holiday. From check in to check in to check out was never a problem.
All staff that we met were charming and full of charismatic Bajan hospitality. The Chefs, Supervisors and attendants at the restaurants must be highly commended! Their service was professional while maintaining a very close/friendly relationship with us. They all went out of their way to prepare meals for us from the highly recommended Vegetarian A la carte menu's and presented us with the most sumptuous and delicious meals every single day. This hotel does take into consideration vegans/vegetarians. This is a definite plus!
Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner were always a treat and we never missed out on any of the offerings on our all-inclusive plan. You are given a wrist band on check in, which you must wear at all times and you must also provide your room number to the attendant at meals times.
Food was always plentiful, freshly prepared, well labeled/presented/displayed. And if you didn't know what something was or what it contained, all you had to do was ask and they would gladly tell you.
The Beach was very beautiful to look at. We had a room with a direct oceanfront view and it was the most amazing sight at any time of the day or night. The sound of the roaring/crashing waves was so soothing and made you experience a true Caribbean experience. Our bed was a king size bed and was oh so comfortable. The AC worked great and on some days we didn’t need the ac at all and turned the unit off, opened the windows and allowed the fresh ocean breeze to flow through our room.
There is also a lovely pool at the hotel which was always never crowded and sun beds are also readily available for guest usage.
Oistens is a short walk from the hotel and you can walk on the sidewalk along the main road to get to the super center where there is a wonderful supermarket. St. Lawrence Gap is located in the opposite direction from Oistens. We did not bother to go to the Gap as we have been there many times before on previous trips.
There is a small gift shop located at the lobby of the hotel. You can pick up all your souvenirs, snacks and water essentials here. Prices are very reasonable as well.
There is also a concierge desk at the lobby where you can get information about Barbados, tours, taxi’s etc.
Our stay at the BBC was fantastic and we can’t fault it any way whatsoever. We will definitely be returning very soon!! We highly recommend that you too also visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpiceBoyVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

My sisters, cousin, friend, and I traveled to Barbados Beach Club and although we reviewed the website, asked the travel agency numerous questions, etc. We were in total shock and extremely disappointed w/the appearance of the resort and the horrible service. We had to walk around w/our passports, cash, and valuables every day which was dangerous. The resort is "all inclusive" but you could only eat 3 times/day at certain times and if you didn't either starve or take a long walk to go buy food elsewhere. The staff was mean, rude, bad attitudes, etc. We were called yankees so much it became a running joke among us. The entertainment was 2 elderly men that could barely walk and was only offered one night. We had to find things to do outside of the resort. It was a horrible experience and we barely got what we paid for. Usually, I can gain 5 lbs on a vacation...I've never LOST 5 LBS on vacation. Oh and the spa was the local hustlers on the beach trying to charge $20 for a massage on a beach chair. We saw people get arrested on the beach at least 4 times. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worse enemy or a stray dog! Disappointed in Delaware! Thank God to be back in the U.S.A.

Room Tip: Never go to this resort! Not ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jersey1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just arrived back from Barbados beach hotel and yes i would agree that the hotel needs a complete refurb, it is very tatty looking in parts, HOWEVER what it lacks in 3 star appearances it makes up in 5 star charm. The staff i found to be very friendly especially sandra at breakfast and lunch always checking if everything was ok. The breakfast always had loads to choose from, lunch was somtimes limited but plentifull and the dinners lots of choice. What i would like to see however is the menu to be on a 2 week rota rather than 1 as it is repeated so there's no supprises. The bar i thought was perfectly adequate serving superb cocktails (mainly rum based but you are in the Caribbean) from about 11am to midnight if you need to drink outside of these hours i think you would need help! Always coffee and tea (if you are English take your own pg tips as it is the Earl grey variety YUK!) available, although it would be nice if the coffee was of the filter kind and not instant. Also the only other downer for me is the lack of hospitality tray in the rooms everyone kind of expects that these days regardless of how many stars the hotel has.
The rooms were spotless and fresh towels were given everyday, the bathrooms are perhaps the one place that could be upgraded,the water temp' and output was not brilliant fine for me but if you want hot hot perhaps this is not the place for you.Also a better grade of pillows to go with the very comfy beds would be a bonus.
The beach was also spotless and the water although a little rough at this time of the year (going into winter) was lovely. You do get 1 or 2 beach sellers but quite often they like to chat and are very friendly and informative about their Island.
There are plenty of trips on offer, and Bridgetown is only a 15min 'boogie boogie bus ride away a experience in itself! There are great deals to be done in the Broad street jewellers i can reccomend Little Switzerland for a high end bargain very helpfull and not at all pushy.
All in all we had a great time, relaxed and met some wonderfull fellow travelers some on their 7th visit so can't be all that bad.
One word of warning though even on very cloudy days wear sun screen as my hubby burnt on the 1st day all his own fault of course!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here May 30th till June 3rd with hubby.. bought our trip thru family getaways.com 4 nights AI for 509$ if you sign up and its your first purchase you get 100$ off so for 409$ for two people for a 4 night stay it was a no brainer..flew out of JFK non stop on jet blue ( which was a great airline) paid 689$ for the two of us. We usual vacation in Mexico and was our first trip to Barbados and Loved it!!!

The hotel is a 3 star resort. We paid 15$ a night upgrade to a superior room which was worth it. All the deluxe rooms had two double beds and we were on our anniversary.. The superior room I asked for a corner high floor and got just that a corner on the 5th floor. Room was nice good AC and large refrig.. a floor to ceiling window on one side and french doors on the other with a table and chairs overlooking the beautiful ocean..

The food was hit or miss. Breakfast was from 7:30 -11. Lunch from 12:30-2:30. Dinner from 7:30 -10:30. We didn't know until two days in that they had coffee and tea set up in the back in the dinning room 24hrs which was great. We are early risers and waiting till 7:30 to get coffee was torture. I heard a lot of other people come down to and said they were dying for a cup of tea.. So I don't think many people know this. We brought insulated cups from home which I would recommend for you to do.. It made getting coffee and bringing it to your room easier and after a good washing we used them all day for our frozen rum punch's and banana daiquiris. They had no problem filling them for us. In Barbados ice doesn't last more then a few minutes

Because the hotel was so inexpensive and an AI it was great because you didn't feel like you had to eat here all the time. If you pay tons of money for a good AI you don't want to spend any more money on food.. but here it was great to have a choice without breaking the bank. We walked into Oistens on Friday night and had dinner there which cost about 25$ for two huge plates of food and two beers It was a lot of fun.. We ate at there specialty restaurant on Saturday which I booked the reservation on the phone with the hotel 2 weeks before we left. They are only open Mondays, Wednesdays and Saturday nights. The food was not great and it was so hot I felt sick and left. We were in the sun all day and the restaurant is on the second floor with no AC just huge fans ,no breeze. Also while we were there two people got food poisoning from ordering the lobster so beware.

The pool was nice, it was small but deep at one end but big enough for the size of the resort. The beach was gorgeous!!! Be warned if you are an early riser that they have a gate to enter and exit the beach which is closed and locked and they don't open it until 8-8:30 am. Hubby and I climbed over it two mornings to walk the beach and was quite difficult. I have read to that you need a deposit to take out towels which is not true. I would suggest that at the end of your day you trade in your towels for clean dry ones because the towel guy doesn't come in until 9am, so it you want to take a morning swim or go on an early excursion where you will need to bring your towel you will be stuck bringing your wet ones or none at all.

There is a small restaurant/ bar right across the street called Casablanca. It was a nice place to go if your hungry and your in between lunch or dinner hours or anytime. We ate here one night and sat out on the patio and had two burgers which came with a large amount of fries and two beers and paid 12$.. They have other items as well I remember one being fish and chips and all under 5-6 $. You can get take out here as well to bring back to the room. We hung out for a bit and had a couple of rum and cokes and they were 3 $ a piece.. loved this place..

I would highly recommend for you to go on the Cool Running's tour.. It was great !! I swam with turtles which is now off my bucket list..lol I have pictures of my hand on there back they where that close. We snorkeled a ship wreck and then anchored off Sandy beach the most famous beach in Barbados. The staff were amazing and made the trip great for everyone. There where children on the trip and the crew showed a lot of them how to snorkel and stayed right with them in the water. They had a great lunch and drinks all day.. amazing trip don't miss it!! The boat was so big there was a place for everyone and your didn't feel crowded.

I really loved Barbados and the people.. A lot of the reviews said the staff was rude ect and I did not find that to be the case. Bajan's are proud people and are reserved but will warm up quickly with a smile and a nice manner. Everyone was very nice to me and I too them. We did tip but not in excess and don't think we received better service for it. For the price the location and the beach this was a great place to go, I am glad I was able to experience this island and its people and would love to return.. I still dream of there macaroni pie.. ahhh to die for..lol

Room Tip: Bring an insulated mug, try Casablanca's across the street..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.1 mi away
Sunbay Hotel
Sunbay Hotel
#43 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Blue Horizon
Blue Horizon
#30 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
2.2 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#22 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbados Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbados Beach Club

Property: Barbados Beach Club
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, 15031, Barbados (Formerly Sunbay Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbados Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Barbados Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbados Beach Club Hotel Christ Church
Barbados Beach Hotel
Barbados Beach Resort All Inclusive
Beach Hotel Barbados
Barbados Beach Club Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing