We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maj and Kav (Feb 2012)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbados Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barbados Beach Club
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maj and Kav (Feb 2012)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I only recently returned from a four day vacation at this beach club. We were a bit skeptical after reading the negative reviews. However, in summary, for the price, it was exceptional. Upon arrival we were a bit peeved as the front desk informed us that they were fully booked and we would have to be relocated to their sister hotel, Sunbay, a couple feet across the road. Although our agency informed us that we would be able to partake of breakfast and lunch before check in at 3:00pm, hotel staff informed us that we wouldn't. We were both pissed but proceeded to have breakfast and were not charged.

Overall, the room at Sunbay was very clean and up to date. The custodians were friendly and our items were all intact even after the room was cleaned. We have mixed reviews for the staff. They were either very friendly or extremely unfriendly. For an island that seeks to promote tourism, the warmth was not always felt. We had a long wait at the bar, which seems to be as a result of an understaffing issue, not to mention that the drinks were not always consistent. Nicholas served the best cocktails and was always warm and courteous.

The food was fantastic. Options were simple but everything was well done. We both over ate.

Overall, our experience was great. We would visit again if we have too. Some tips for Management. Train staff or be selective about who you hire. Not all persons are suited for a customer service environment. This hotel has great potential but if Clients are turned away from a simple meal when they pay for an all inclusive package, you can have a bad reputation. It costs the hotel almost nothing to ensure Clients enjoy their meals before and after check in and check out.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kavita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    291
    189
    106
    124
See reviews for
157
352
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

I was concerned by the negative comments elsewhere, but had a really nice week there.
It's in a good location - lovely beach & just a 20 minute walk to St Lawrence Gap or Oistins.The staff were helpful & pleasant. Whilst the restaurant did resemble a school canteen, the food was good & catered for many different tastes. When really busy they did run out of some things, but a wait of 2 or 3 minutes is hardly the end of the world is it? The hotel is a 3 star which seems right. It's expensive accommodation compared to other Carribean islands (you can get 4 star for this price elsewhere), but for Barbados it's good value. The entertainment was aimed at an older crowd but that matches the bulk of their clientele - well over half were over 50. Sure, there are a few minor things taht could be improved, but I came back thoroughly relaxed & having enjoyed a great week on a lovely island.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed at the Barbados Beach Club in November 2011 for a week with my bestfriend.

Let me start with the negative points, first of all the hotel is nothing as in the pictures so don’t be fooled. Always check traveller’s photos for true images of what the hotel actually looks like. The hotel is dated and during our stay we could see that the work had started because the workers were on the roof from 8am and delivery trucks delivering materials all hours of the day.

Our room was facing the Sea Rock restaurant which had burnt down and we were never notified of this beforehand. The garden below was basically a mud pit but I must say the view of the sea from our room was breath-taking. The room also was dated and could do with a full refurb also the hotel needs to pay their cable bill as it kept showing a message saying the bill was overdue on the TV screen (lol)

The restaurant, bar and surrounding areas was as said before very dated and you were only limited to eat at fixed times. Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner if u missed 1 there is nothing else until it was time for the other meal. I have travelled to other Caribbean islands and it’s the 1st all inclusive I’ve been to that operate in this was.

But and there is a but the hotel STAFF are the best they went out there way to make u feel welcomed and happy. They are the only reason why we stayed the full 7days. I must say a big thanks to Douglas the restaurant Manager, Phillip at the concierge desk, Wendy, Morris, Akeem and Dale at the bar, Michelle at the restaurant, and most of all Julian the head chef. Without these people our trip would have been a disaster but thank god for them.

Further positives for the hotel was the beach was lovely, the view from our room lovely and the alcohol kept flowing. The food in the restaurant was lovely and never repetitive, the entertainment was good and I think the location is great if you wish to relax.

I will be returning to Barbados this year but I will only be visiting the Barbados Beach Club to say hello to the lovely staff which I’ve kept in touch with until this day.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCLO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Myself and family stayed at this hotel for 1 week. From reading some of the very negative reviews we were a bit worried about where we might be staying. However i could not fault this hotel at all. For the money paid it was compleatly acceptable. Rooms were very clean, however beds not so comfortable/pillows hard. The service was a little slow around the pool bar! Staff did not seem to want to rush themselfs at all. However all inclusive choice was good. The food was a good standard, you could always find something that you liked everday. Strawberry daiquiri's very yummy! The hotel overall was very clean and tidy, it could just do with a bit of work done to spruce it up a little bit. The beach was absolutly beautiful. Always sun loungers available! towels and umberellas also free everyday. Visited st lawrences gap one of the nights, personally i would not recomend it. Full of local people and the men can be a little full on. Myself and my friend were asked if we wanted to buy drugs many of times. Also in the reggae lounge it was £20 barbados dollars for a single vodka redbull! We also visited oystins and were not overly impressed with this either. It was just stalls on the beach all crammed in with hundreds and hundreds of people. The food was very average and eating out of a paper box with plastic cuttlery wasnt really what we had in mind. overall i would recomend the barbados beach club for a relaxing week in the sunshine for a decent price! (went 12th feb-20th feb - weather was beautiful)
(lots of old guests).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 461sophieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Arrived here after a weeks Thomson Dream cruise. In advance of our holiday we had concerns about the increase in negative reviews about the hotel but were assured by our local Thomson travel agent 'all would be good, otherwise Thomson wouldn't use the hotel'. The fact it's not on Thomsons Barbados hotels next year tells you something!!!! Bottom line this hotel is like going to a Spanish budget to mid range hotel 20 years ago. It's tired and in need of some TLC, example
, the grout in the bathroom is grubby and the paintwork on all the external woodwork on your balcony and around the bar area is peeling and flaking. Sticking with the negatives for now, the staff could put more of an effort in, some are fine, some are good with smiley welcoming faces, lots are dour (in particular the main barman - Maxwell, I think...). The presentation of the food has scope for improvement, my school dinners 30 years ago were better presented! Choice was not great but adequate, lack of yogurts and a reasonable choice of fruit at breakfast was disappointing. Time to move to the positives, despite the poor food presentation it was in the main very good with always a choice of vegi, meats, pastas and fish. Unless you are a real fusspot and used to eating at top class establishments you shouldn't leave the restaurant hungry!!! They have an a la carte restaurant on 3 times a week, we went twice and it was fabulous, despite a limited menu, use it, it's a positive change from the buffet. A nice touch was the mangt were aware it was our anniversary and they had our table decorated with balloons and streamers and provided a complimentary bottle of (cheap) sparkly wine, nice touch. Our room was a very good size with lots of cupboard and drawer space. It was clean (apart from grubby grout) and the towels were exchanged daily if required. The beach area is part of the hotel with plenty of sunbeds. As mentioned in other reviews, the sea is very rough restricting sea swimming. All in all, it's a mixed bag, I can understand the negative reviewers and I can understand the positive reviewers. I wouldn't go back throo choice but if it fits your budget, it's clean and you won't go hungry. Ohhh and they do make a good effort with entertainment, some nights just a DJ playing music but a couple of nights they had some good caberet on.

Room Tip: Ask for high pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

we arrived at barbados beach club about 5pm to be met by a very cheerfull lady at reception, within 15mins we were led to our room on the 6th floor which had a balcony with a great view over the pool and bar area and a beautiful view of the beach. room was very clean plenty storage large comfy bed tv, bath, shower. being a sunday the restaurant had roast beef yorkshire puddings and roast potatoes gravy very nice. the next 6 days we never had one complaint or a problem staff were friendly and very polite always filling your water glass up when passing your table, food was plentiful at all mealtimes breakfast time any type of egg freshly made in front of you, cereal, fruit, bacon, beans, toast, lunch and evening mealtime was the same always a chicken dish pasta, fish, salad ,burgers chips.the beach is fantastic towels and loungers free,bar was busy at times but never waited longer than 5 mins to get served with large measures.did meet people just of the cruise who complained about choice of food but did admit they had been spoiled for the 1st week on the cruise one guy even moaned to the manager coz there was no ash tray on the table ,get a life your in barbados, we met a nice couple also from edinburgh pauline, kenny who had read previous reviews too and were very pleased with the hotel.there was a couple who had been there for 4wks since xmas and have been going for over 20yrs says it all,yes i suppose there are plusher hotels on the island also more expensive,this is 3star but we had a 5star holiday thanks to barbados beach club and all the staff we cant wait to return hopefully this year,mike and carol....

Room Tip: get a room with a sea view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank murdermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just back from another girlie week in Paradise. BBC was just as lovely as always. Nice to see some rennovation has taken place to patio doors etc. Staff wonderful, so friendly and welcoming. Maurice, Dale and Jamal were wonderful behind the bar and Sandra still running the restaurant as efficiently as ever. Food wonderful and rooms clean with new towels every day. We love this hotel, it's so very Bajan and yes may be a little tired in places but that adds to the charm. Don't hesitate about staying there - you'll love it. Didn't want to leave but as the Bajan's say 'you have to leave baby girl so that you can come back'.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank THEGIRLSBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christ Church Parish
0.1 mi away
Sunbay Hotel
Sunbay Hotel
#43 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Blue Horizon
Blue Horizon
#30 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
2.2 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#22 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbados Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbados Beach Club

Property: Barbados Beach Club
Address: Maxwell Coast Road, 15031, Barbados (Formerly Sunbay Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbados Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Barbados Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbados Beach Club Hotel Christ Church
Barbados Beach Hotel
Barbados Beach Resort All Inclusive
Beach Hotel Barbados
Barbados Beach Club Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing