We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-stars in everything! (+everything you need to know)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Sands Beach Condos
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“5-stars in everything! (+everything you need to know)”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here during the December holidays, in a 2BR, with one toddler. We planned the trip with some friends, and everything was heavenly. It was more than enough room. In fact, it was twice the size of our Manhattan apt! We almost stayed at Divi Southwinds, where our friends were, but wanted a little more room. They liked White Sands so much that we all primarily hung out here.

When you get there, someone will take about 30 minutes to show you around the premises, and explain the appliances. It may look similar, but operates differently, (so pay attention!). He gives you the Wi-fi password and emergency info.

The Tripadvisor photos are accurate. The rooms are are all furnished differently. Ours had a huge dining table on the HUMONGOUS balcony, with 6 chairs. Also had 2 wicker loungers. Others appear to have a table indoors, with different TV placement. The balcony is covered, so when it rains, you won't get wet.

All the 2-bedrooms face the ocean. Well worth the $. I'm not going to say this place is cheap, especially during the holidays, but for us, part of the vacation is where you stay. You spend time there eating breakfast, relaxing, changing, sleeping, bathing, cooking, looking at the water so we didn't want to do it college-style. Part of the reason the trip was so relaxing was because White Sands was such a nice place to stay. There's enough room that you don't get in each others' faces every minute.

The Nitty Gritty:
Keep in mind, this is specific to our 2-bedroom unit (J). I assume most are the same, but just give them a call to confirm. They are very friendly. Whatever you don't find in your unit, you can buy at the nearby store.

KITCHEN:
The kitchen is fully stocked. Mugs, cups, bowls, plates, saucers, pots and pans. Tons of utensils. Some spatulas and stuff. Peeler, grater, coffeemaker, 4-slice toaster, water heater, icebox, placemats, trivets, sponge, few dishwashing tablets, dish soap, casserole dishes and a few other things. 1 paper towel roll.

You are asked to use the fan when cooking so as not to set off the fire alarm. We invited our friends to come, and all 4 of us cooked a feast a few times during the week, and ate on the balcony.

Bring or buy salt, pepper, spices, oil, etc. on your own. Any food that you wind up not opening, can be offered to the housekeeping staff, so it doesn't go to waste.

AMENITIES:
Closet has about 15+ beach towels, bath towels, hand towels, washcloths, floor towels, extra sheets. Washer is a combo unit with a dryer cycle at the end. It's nice to have this here, it allows you to pack very lightly as you can do a (small) load every night. Jeans only get half dry, but there is a large drying rack in the unit, and there's always the balcony. We bought Tide. Wifi worked decently. TV did not work too well, but we did not make a stink since with a toddler, we had no time for TV, it was wake up, eat on the balcony, go to the beach. You'd be surprised how little TV the kids want to watch when you're at the beach!

Bathrooms were huge, and clean. They had a hair dryer, extra toilet paper and a few hand soaps, but no bath soap. As it's an apartment, you must bring all the things you need. No shampoo, lotion, shavers, etc.

You can use the phone to make & receive local calls free. Plenty of attached covered parking.

HOUSEKEEPING:
They come about once a week. We asked for 2X, no extra fee. The only thing I found odd compared to typical hotel housekeeping, is that they mainly change and clean the sheets, bed, and towels, tidy up sofa pillows. Dishes remain in the sink or dishwasher, and they don't tidy up your personal stuff (some pennies we dropped remained on the floor). I'm not quite sure they cleaned the shower stall. But they do make the beds nicely, and the place is immaculate upon arrival, making a great impression.

POOL:
This is larger than it looks in the photo, although not a full-size pool. It's shaded, so the water was chilly, however, my child was scared of the ocean waves, so it was nice to have the pool. There are tables around it too. It's 3 feet deep, and no kiddie portion. There is a ledge you can sit on, along the inside perimeter.

STAFF:
They are very friendly. Cyrus showed us around, and was got someone to fix the AC right away. We bought my child a floaty tube for the pool, and Gabrielle took it to her home to inflate it, as we thought the air machine at the gas station might be too much pressure. So she was able to use it in the pool, and it really made her day.

ROOMS:
Master bedroom was ginormous. No TV in here, only in the living area. It has a big walk-in closet, and a bathroom with a tub, as well as a tiled shower. The shower is big, and is the only bathing area with a door, so we all used that. I still don't get why European style tubs have only a half-glass door, leaving the other half open, and allowing water to get all over the place. But the 2nd bedroom with the Queen bed had that style of tub.

Both bathrooms are in the bedrooms, so keep one clean for your guests to use! Master bedroom had a very soft King bed and large desk. The other Queen bed was much firmer. Smaller room also has a walk-in closet and desk.

BEACH:
Hotel is directly on the beach. There are beach chairs and umbrellas, just take it up the 5 steps and put it on the beach. Or Sheldon can help with that.

Hotel beach is very very clean. Beaches are all public, but not many outsiders come to this little area due to the fact that only you can use the chairs. The water in front of the hotel is best for surfing, not swimming - the waves are quite large and heavy. The waves form a slope in the sand here, more so than other areas.

DOVER BEACH
Dover Beach is to the left of the hotel (when facing the hotel). You get there by walking around the rocks, so you walk from your beach, into the water (up to knees), around the rocks, onto to Dover beach. Or you can walk on the main street, that takes only a few extra minutes. (Google Maps is a little misleading).

We went to Dover beach often, as it had more food vendors and such. BUT, each trip for drinks or food (they don't come to you) takes a good 30+ minutes, so be prepared to wait, and wait, and wait. This was on the non-busy times too. We brought our own food after a while.

Dover Beach is best closest to the hotel. The more you move to the other end, it gets dirtier. You can swim in Dover beach. THere are guys who put a beach umbrella and 2 chairs for you, for $10 US/$20 BBD, which is much less than other countries. Food area has a bathroom (but no toilet paper).

AREA:
Mini-mart just across the street to the right has basic veggies, and snacks, anything else you may need. If you want more variety, there are supermarkets about 10 minutes away by bus or taxi. We bought veggies from people selling them on the street.

Lawrence Gap is about 7 minutes walk, and you'll see the restaurants. Bellini and Pizza Kitchen are good. I heard the Indian place is average. Chinese Place (Oriental Kitchen?) was very good.

Buses are very close by. Taxis are readily available on the main road just behind the hotel. It should not be more than $20 US to/from the airport. It cost $20US to get to Crane Beach from here too.

There is no fitness center or room service, I couldn't click off of those though! Hope this was helpful. We will certainly stay here on a future trip to Barbados.

Room Tip: 2BR rooms have large balcony facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NewYorkAloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
31
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have stayed on the West Coast of Barbados many times but this was my first time on the South Coast. The apartment (Villa M) was excellent, with all mod cons. The owners communicated with us both before and during our trip, and nothing was too much trouble.
The location is brilliant, right next to a quiet beach. Plenty of local shops and restaurants, with a quiet location.
We are already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: Villa M has a good view of the sea yet is not near the main road. Very helpful owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

While most people run to hotels, I was so glad we thought outside the box and opted for a home-away-from-home for our first trip to Barbados. Not only was I blown away by the friendly people on the island, in general, our vacation was definitely topped off by our amazing accommodations at White Sands.

Everything was impeccable and in great condition. We walked across the street to the local grocer, stocked our refrigerator and enjoyed every moment of cooking for ourselves. On one occasion, we even hired a local cook to make a Bajan Breakfast for us. What a treat!

The only downside to our vacation was the construction noise coming from a unit a few doors away from ours. While we were notified the day before our arrival that the there would be some noise, we were told it would stop the day after our arrival. It didn't ! It probably went on long after our six night stay. It also started early in the morning--say 8 am and went on throughout the day. Not ideal when you slip away to the Caribbean to lose track of time…only to be awaken by construction noise

That aside, we couldn't have asked for a better place to call home. White Sands has spoiled s so much that we can't even imagine renting a hotel for travel more than three days.

I also loved the presence of onsite security at nights and the speedy response of the staff whenever we called.

Would highly-recommend White Sands!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the one bedroom, but would absolutely return just to have the three bedroom condo facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelGal1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here in august 2013 and the apartments are great. Got a free upgrade to a 2 bed apartment. So much space and really well equipped with washing machine, smeg appliances etc. Sea view was great and beach at the end of the pathway is gorgeous. Saw turtles there as an extra bonus. Staff incredibly helpful and well informed. Close to all the facilities of St Lawrence Gap.

Room Tip: Villa H was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I just got back from our honeymoon in Barbados where we stayed at the White Sands Beach Villas, it was awesome. The owners went out of their way for us. Our flight came in late on Sunday evening so we didn't arrive there till 10:15pm. Even though it was late and not their job to, one of the staff graciously offered to drive us to the store so we could pick up some essentials. He took the scenic route there in order to give us a mini tour to help us become familiar with the area. He also took us to a restaurant in an effort to get an after-hours bite to eat. Overall everyone that works there went out of their way for us and were exceptionally kind. We were in Villa T which is on the backside but still has a view of the ocean. The great balcony allowed us to view the street too, which we liked. The interior of the places are very nice and much better than staying in a hotel since our unit had a full kitchen, living room, 2 bathrooms, sizable bedroom, large closet & washer/dryer combo unit. The location of the place is great too because it is within walking distance of many bars/restaurants. It is also right across the street from a mini grocery store. The beach was beautiful and right next door (100 yrds away) there is a beach bar which was great for grabbing a quick drink. Some of the units are owned by individuals. We met one owner couple who were also awesome and made us feel at home. I have traveled all over the world and stayed at many nice places but I truly can't say enough about how great WSB is and Barbados is in general, it was truly memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KevinMBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Another great stay at WSB - this time in the one bed Villa M (last year - Villa K) which has a west facing balcony rather than direct views over sea. This meant we could enjoy some great sun worshipping in the late afternoons when the balcony got the best of the sun!
It's a great base, and within a 5 minute walk of the main places to eat in St Lawrence Gap (Harlequin, Pisces, JJ Cools) as well as opposite Dover mini-mart - although you do have to watch some of the prices esp as you're self-catering - it's almost cheaper up eat out.
We generally waded past the rocks to nearby Dover Beach, but we did spend a great day at Barry's Surf School 25m to the left of WSB, and even closer was Tyrone's Bar on the beach which was a relaxing way to start and/or end the evening, whether with a cool bottle of Banks or Rum punch or Piña Colada!
About the building - it's very nicely proportioned - even the one bed apts don't feel small at all with two bathrooms, open plan kitchen, etc. In two visits tho we still haven't used the pool at the foot of the building - in fact i've never seen anyone in it - but it's a nice splash pool if you need it after the beach etc.
The only thing about the apts nearer the road than the beach is that Scotty's Bar (in front of WSB facing the street) can sometimes play loud music quite late. But to be honest, it was only a problem the first night and then we either "tuned it out" or it finished earlier as sleeping wasn't a problem in the comfortable rooms after the first night.
As mentioned in other reviews, Gabriele Cummins (the property manager) is great, and very helpful.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay at WSB again and will probably return - might try a different apt next time or return to Villa K! Either way - it's a great option if you want to avoid set hotel meals, have the flexibility and freedom to enjoy breakfast, lunch, or a Banks on a large balcony, find a new venue for dinner within walking distance, whilst enjoying great views and the sound of the surf from the sunny balconies!
We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bassman1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a great stay at White Sands Beach Villa K in Feb. 2013. Condo was as described, very roomy, full of amenities, very large balcony right on the beach. Wi-Fi, cable worked fine. There were detailed instructions to everything and there was an extensive library of movies although we didn’t use them. The location was very convenient with Dover market across the street and taxis readily available nearby. We scheduled taxis and tours and were amazed by the punctuality as we were never left waiting. We didn’t feel the need to have a car. It is a 15 minute walk to the restaurants at the other end of the Gap or a $10 taxi van.
The beach was never crowded and watching the surfing school students from next door was very entertaining. The ocean bottom is rocky with coral out front but it was smooth and not sharp and didn’t cause us a problem. Dover beach which does have a sandier ocean floor was easily accessible next door. Speaking to other tourists about their accommodations confirmed what a great value WSBV is. Check-in and check-out were very smooth and the property managers are friendly and very helpful. Phil the owner was easy to work with and very responsive.
Having visited many Caribbean Islands we found the people of Barbados to be the friendliest and most helpful. We ate at Pisces, Harlequins and Southern Palms enjoying all. The Saturday night buffet at Southern Palms was a great meal upon arrival with no dinner plans. We did three tours, (1) all day taxi tour of the island, (2) powerboat snorkel adventure with the sea turtles and shipwreck snorkel with beach time and lunch, (3) zipline and 4x4 tour. All were good and well worth the time and expense. I would definitely recommend WSBV and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The two bedroom units are ocean front. One bedroom are side building ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OBW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christ Church Parish hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,012 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
757 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Beach Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Beach Condos

Property: White Sands Beach Condos
Address: St Lawrence Gap | Dover, BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Christ Church Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Sands Beach Condos 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Beach Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Christ Church
White Sands Beach Condos Barbados/Christ Church Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing