We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limin' Barbados!”

Zed's Surfing Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ranked 7th best surf school in the world by National Geographic in 2012, Zed's Surfing Adventures offers lessons with two classes each day. We have the widest selection of surfboard rentals here in Barbados. Located right on the surf break at Surfer's Point, there are lounge chairs, rest room facilities for surfers and families watching, and plenty of drinks and food from the Surfers Point cafe! Pick up service complimentary from South Coast hotels.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed the first time on Barbados and it was amazing!
The guys and ladies from Zed's were helpful, warm and of course with a lot of humour and relaxed attitude!
We did surfing lessons for a week and were able to surf little waves after a day and advanced every day...Junior, Mike and the other fellas are the perfect teachers!
As well Sherald were a great chef and the barbecue and her wagonkitchen are unforgettable!
Hugs and love to everybody and thanks for an unforgettable stay!
Andy & Max

Thank MadMaxinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 318 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

I arrived with my two teenagers looking to add surfing to our vacationing adventures. As of December 2013, they are re-centralizing all their support around a set of picnic tables right off the beach. Cheryl is the cook who the group looks to as their mom and couldn't be more wonderful. Her willingness to help, memory for what we each liked, and touch of attitude that made you feel like home. Sam, the coordinator was always there to help arrange surfing lessons or other activities such as diving, or for us Segway tours. She was awesome.
This isn't your normal condo, surf lesson place. It's a community where people just come. People that didn't stay at Zed's or the condos next door, still came and hung out daily. We met people from London, Germany, Denmark and even Kite Mike (Elf) from San Francisco.
Junior was typically our surf master. He's a natural, and we all got up and learned the basics the first day.
The rooms were a little under wear as they're right on the ocean in a constant wind of salt air. Which made for a very relaxing breeze, but does cause wear and tear. We had the two bedroom star gazer condo, which is on the second floor. Others were complaining from some bug bites, but we had none. No need for the mosquito netting that was on the beds. Perhaps in the summer it might be more needed, but I'm guessing something about being a bit higher up, and the wind kept the nasty bitters away. The star gazer also has a rooftop that we did party on, with all our new found friends.
The stargazer has two bedrooms, (1 queen, 2 doubles) in air conditioned rooms. The rooms have slats for air and glass windows, so it's not a place of privacy if you want some private time with kids in the same place. There's a bed right outside the room, and others could crash on the couches, so you could have more. However, only the rooms have AC. Which was nice to sleep a bit more dry and cool.
As with anyplace in Barbados, food is expensive in the supermarkets. We went to the super center place in oistons which had everything you'd want. Including Dorito's at 20 bajan ($10 US). But, if you have to have them, they're there. Pick locally made foods for jellies, bread and food, and you'll survive fine.
You can't beat Cheryl's burgers, or her daily special for lunch. She also has breakfast to get ready for a workout surfing. She doesn't cook dinner, although she does have a once a week evening event that you don't want to miss as you'll have great food, and meet many new people.
There's a restaurant at the hotel just down the beach, but they're not open every night.
Zed's is closed on Sundays, but you can still use a board, just realize there's no lessons or food on Sundays unless you do the full meal plan, so prepare your schedule.
We decided to not rent a car, and we did survive. The #11 bus (10+ passenger van) or what we called the rasta van as they always played local music, rockin along the way. It was a blast, and the kids loved getting out on their own.
$1/person into oistons, or all the way to Bridgetown. Compared to 30 bajan for a cab, which didn't seam any faster.
As with most island places, negotiate, and you're set. We did catch a cab back one night, and we paid 20 bajan rather than the norm 30.
I would recommend getting a vehicle. Zed's is a great community, but there's not much around, and the island is big. The #11 bus takes you into the local town, but there's so much more to the island to explore. Plus, depending on where the surf is up, you may need to haul your board somewhere else.
We had an awesome time, made a snowman (sandman) to celebrate xmas, and would absolutely recommend Zeds for a community, not just a surf shop.

Thank 993stevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Zed’s.
If you have an appreciation for serious oceanside relaxation and the opportunity to experience beautiful Barbados, make sure to visit … Zed’s.
THE - handpicked Crew at Zed’s will accommodate everything. With an excellent offering of traditional food and drinks in a casual and relaxed environment, there is no need to leave.
But when you do!:
Zed’s crew is known for their world class surf-adventures. They are also located within walking distance of transport to Oisten’s.
My highest compliments to the experience they provide.

Thank MikeCangelosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

If you're a beginner/intermediate surfer like me and looking for a great place to get a lot of practice and meet new people than Zed's is the place for you. A few paddles away from the Surfers Point break Zed's has it all. A colourful crew of characters with lots of surf experience and great humour, a large selection of boards to use, Cheryl's culinary expertise never disappoints and the team of instructors led by Zed and Junior give you lots of encouragement and helpful advice. The Thursday night family BBQ is a not to be missed for the tasty and plentiful food, and the opportunity to mingle with the locals and all the other guests. Plenty of laughs to be had for sure over a Banks or a rum punch. Can't wait to get back to Zed's. So disappointed to not wake up there this morning.

Thank JeffToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed in Surfer's Point Guest House twice - first time in Jun 2013 for 10 days and second time at the end of October 2013 for 7 days. I've been looking for good place to learn surfing and I've found much more than that.
Two hours surfing lessons start every morning (except Sunday), and you can get fruit and breakfast before you go. Junior and Mike are great (and very patient) surf teachers. So far I've seen every newbie to stand and surf in first hour of first lesson.
Surfer's Point Guest House beach is absolutely beautiful - with white sand, few rock formations and bright turquoise water. If you decide to do surfing curse - this is best place to stay - right on front of the beach.
And the last but not least - Zed's team know how to make guests feel like at home. With very relaxed atmosphere, friendly people and amazing food cooked by Sherald this holiday is unforgeable.
I will be back for more :)

2  Thank WirginiaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zed's Surfing Adventures also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Atlantic Shores, Christ Church Parish
 
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Zed's Surfing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing