We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Champers

Champers
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Champlain, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another great vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We ate at Champer's twice during our stay in Barbados. The food is delicious but the place deserves 5 plus stars because of the people and the service. It is the best in Barbados!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paul3874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,251
    578
    162
    49
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“For our Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We made reservations to dine at Champers for our wedding anniversary trip. We saw it had very high reviews. The service and food was excellent. The views were beautiful. We had a waterfront table at sunset. What we were very surprised with was how above and beyond they were to ensure we had a very special and memorable dining experience. We were surprised they had decorated our table, and even printed custom menus marking the celebration of our anniversary!!! Was so very thoughtful and such a gracious gesture. It was an outstanding dining experience. 100 % recommended highly!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“location is everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Book early in your stay, ask for table 32, ask for Sondra as wait person, study wine list. Get ready for a great meal, great ocean view, with the nicest waitress you may ever meet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva Lake Area, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent View and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Locals all said that if they were going out for a very special romantic dinner, this is where they would go and we can see why. Beautiful ocean view and excellent food & service. Priced reasonably for a nice night out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food good, service poor, overall disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Went to Champers with family on the advice of several locals so had high hopes for top meal. The location is good without being the best I've been to on the island but the ambience seemed decent and the restaurant looked busy which is always a good sign! Had to wait a little while to be seated so were directed to the lounge area where our drinks orders were taken but didn't turn up until we had actually been taken to our table 15 minutes later. Starters came promptly and were enjoyable, no complaints there. However the hour wait in between the starter and main was unacceptable and really can't be excused no matter how busy a restaurant may be. When the food arrived it was good without being spectacular. I would suggest sticking to the seafood option as this seemed to be of better quality, the Cajun Mahi Mahi had a nice spicy kick without being overwhelming. Desserts were ok but two of the orders came to the table wrong. Once finished we asked for the bill but after 10 minutes still no sign so we had to go up to the bar and ask for it there as we had a taxi waiting.

The overall experience of the meal was disappointing, good food but service was poor and when the restaurant is quite expensive, you expect all aspects to be of high quality. I will note that most other tables seemed to be getting their food reasonably quickly so it may just have been that we were unlucky that night. It is for this reason I have given Champers the benefit of the doubt and rated it 3* as opposed to 2*.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champers also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Champers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing