We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience”
Review of Champers

Champers
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I chose Champers as the venue for our anniversary dinner because of its excellent reputation and we were not disappointed.
The setting is unforgettable, right beside the sea and our meal was perfect in every department. The food was delicious and the service delightful. The attention to detail was obvious.
What really made our night, however, was the fact that they had printed off a couple of personalised menus for us, wishing us a happy anniversary, and supplied us with a little extra dessert free of charge.
The girl who served us was more than 8 months pregnant and couldn't have been nicer.
Overall, a wonderful experience and we wish the owners and staff all the success they deserve.

Helpful?
1 Thank davhid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,325
    602
    168
    50
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“" Celebration to Remember"”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

It was my wife's birthday and we had requested a special waterside table. The table was the best in the place, waterside and in a corner. Service was excellent. They had specially done up menus, and the usual sparkles on the table, plus, of course, a birthday dessert. The food was wonderful and the art gallery beforehand enjoyable. Definitely would highly recommend it. Not only for a special occasion, but for a memorable dinner as well. Full marks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JVB2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Location and Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We visited this week with friends from the UK and from America as a group of 7 after having previously dined here with the same group last year during our vacation. The location is great close to the water and a crescent moon and bright light of Venus made the view even more spectacular. We were ushered to our table early and before everyone had received their cocktails so a couple of the group were still drinking these when the starters arrived which made us less inclined to order further bottles of wine as we felt a little rushed between courses.
The food was well presented and of a high standard although my tuna steak was a little overdone and was tough. I prefer it pink in the middle. All in all the setting and atmosphere was great as was the food but in my opinion The Tides near Holetown has a better customer service for similar prices. I'd still return for the food.m

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMRT1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for last night out - Very special”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We ended up at Champers for a last evening special dinner. They had a 3 course set menu available with wonderful choices. Had the Coconut shrimp as starter- best I have ever had - huge shrimp. Parmesan crusted Barracuda - very moist & tender and to finish-the coconut cream pie. Thought I had died and gone to heaven, Service was perfect & very attentive. Nice wine list with reasonable prices. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
153 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“excellent even in a tropical downpour!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Spotted the restaurant from Accra beach - and thought it would be a wonderful location for sundowners. We were not wrong but it is so much more as by chance we had stumbled upon one of the best restaurants on Barbados. We found they only had a 6pm or 9pm table free - they are that popular you should definitely book and not just turn up "hopeful". That night there was an absolute downpour whilst we were eating outside under a (waterproof) awning - not quite the sunset we'd anticipated, but equally impressive in its own way.
The food was delicious: from the infused oils served with the bread rolls, all thorough starters and mains. We has coconut shrimp, mahi mahi, steak, scallops, pork- all of it some of the best we'd had in many years of travelling. Price expensive for Barbados but reasonable for anywhere else! Visit and enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cargi1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champers also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Champers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing