We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to have dinner! !!!!!!!”
Review of Champers

Champers
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
“Best place to have dinner! !!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went to dinner for my birthday, the food and service was off the hook!!!!! And the trini hostess Marcel (hope I spelt her name corret) was the highlight of the night she's what you call a hostess...... she was really nice to my son..... thanks for that Marcel.... tumbs up

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank specialkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,347
    606
    168
    50
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our second visit to Champers, the food was just as delicious, and not much of a change to the menu, but this time they had a summer set menu too, I think it was 3 courses for £30.00... We had booked a table, however when we arrived they had no record of our booking. We were disappointed as we had booked a rail side table. Even though they were very busy, they got a table ready for us, rail side, which was lovely. We were seated next to a very large party enjoying a birthday, so it was fairly noisy!. We were also seated in the part of the restaurant that doesn't have cover when it rains, so when it started raining, we had to move our table, but the staff were very attentive, and made sure that we were happy where we were seated. The best thing about this restaurant is having dinner and listening to the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks, it really is quite spectacular! The only thing I would suggest is that they ensure that all outside seating has cover if it starts raining, so that you don't have to move tables in the middle of dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chorltonred11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bequia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The food and service was excellent. They offer a fixed price menu which is great value and great food selections. The setting overlooking the sea is wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CO0KIE_M0NSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The food was divine - my dining partner said the shrimp and avocado salad was the best salad he had ever had (and he said that days later, as well as in the moment).
The view was absolutely lovely.
The service was fantastic and personal - we had a really informative conversation with our server about the history and culture of Barbados. She could not have been a more delightful host/guide.
Everyone will tell you this is one of the best restaurants on the island; it is that and more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“THE restaurant on the south coast”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Champers is the most reliably excellent restaurant I have been to on the South Coast.
We were a party of four and the process from arrival greeting, pre dinner drinks and escort to the table was first class.
The options were a la carte and a set menu. The choices were more than adequate. All of our party found their choices to be perfectly prepared. The main course plates had been preheated which further demonstrated important attention to detail.
The wines were good and the ambiance lovely with most of the tables affording a water's edge view of the sea and the benefit of cooling sea breezes which are very welcome most of the time. In the event of showers a canvas roof can be rapidly deployed.
The timing between courses was very good; not too quick and not too slow.
The staff were welcoming and faultlessly professional. Quite an achievement in Barbados.
When taking the quality of service and food into account, and although in the higher price bracket, the restaurant provided good value for money.
Overall, the experience was sufficiently good to place this restaurant on my 'to be recommended' list.
The only downside was that the restaurant parking is insufficient for a full house and so it may be necessary to park a few minutes' walk away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champers also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Champers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing