We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Delicious”
Review of Champers

Champers
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you do nothing else - just do the fillet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Absolutely delicious!!!! - melt in your mouth - never had anything else so cannot comment on anything else although have had various starters and deserts - all first class!!! Fantastic setting right on the sea!! Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThursoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,381
    609
    169
    51
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

A lovely welcome, location and food. Glad we had booked earlier in the week as we overheard other hotel guests unable to get a table. The best place we've eaten at so far in the area. We were seated on the terrace and the view, staff and menu were all fantastic. We all ate different things and enjoyed them all. I had a vegetarian tortellini and it was beautiful with a rich (but not creamy) sauce. My husband had the tuna and said it was the tastiest he'd had. DIL had scallops with risotto and son the spicy pork - both excellent. The desserts were all gorgeous too. A beautiful modern building and facilities that are sometimes lacking in other places we've visited so far on the island.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheshireangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better restaurant”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

By far one of the better restaurants in Barbados. Good service and good service. Was the best out of the four places we ate at. You need to make a reservation and can o so early in the morning. Didn't give 5stars as I believe there is always room for improvement but could find no fault. Great place

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hard to beat-location,food,service.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This owner managed restaurant overlooking the spectacular Rockley Beach has consistently for several years improved its offerings.
The staff are outstanding in a special Bajan way.Talk with them and see what you think.
A diverse menu with something to like for everyone.Caters for all tastes.
Has both air conditioned and outdoor dining.From July to October go for the air conditioned setting;Barbados is hot and humid at this time.
Lunch has the additional spectacle of the beautiful sea and beach-Champers sites on a small cliff overlooking the sea.
It is popular with visitors as well as locals.
Don't miss this world class gem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseca80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Lucy
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner at Champers”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My Husband and I had been to Champers for lunch several times but not for dinner so my daughter treated us for my Birthday. The meal was fabulous in every way and the service excellent. My husband had the special for main which was a surf and turf. He rated the steak as the best he had ever eaten. My only criticism is that we were brought the bill before we asked for it but this is a minor thing when one considers the quality of the food and the service in general.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jumas_management
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champers also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Champers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing