We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon meal to die for”
Review of The Cliff

The Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $300
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days a week December to May, June to November, Monday to Saturday. Office Hours 9am to 5pm.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Honeymoon meal to die for”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Ate at the cliff on Thursday and everything about it was amazing, from the greeting by the staff to the location, drinks and incredible food. I am gluten free and this was no issue for them. It is a lot to spend but for those one of special occasions it is a must, we will come back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,903
    397
    203
    71
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“the best restaurant in Barbados”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Dines twice in 5 days.
Great food and service. The ambiance is fantastic and service is the same.
Beautiful people and great drinks.
Expensive, though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fmattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
200 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Incredible food and incredible view”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Dined at this magnificent restaurant with my wife. The food was just scrumptious and the view one of the best anywhere in the world. The pre dinner drinks were a nice touch also.
Ensure your ask for an outside table. Also impressed by the rain shutters that activate with the smallest drop of rain and then retract when the rain ceases.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thommo178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening at the cliff”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a very warm welcome upon arrival - staff very attentive. Drinks in lounge overlooking the sea- wonderful views if the ocean. Could not fault the food, service was excellent, wine a little expensive but otherwise a fantastic evening. Have visited the cliff several times before and the food, service and atmosphere never fail to please!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinkstar000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, very good food.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

After initially deciding not to go to The Cliff, we changed our minds and made a visit on the last night of our holiday. The only table we could get was at 8:30pm (late eating for us) but looking forward to the food, we didn't mind. Upon arriving at the stunning restaurant, we had a quick cocktail on the top level overlooking the diners below and the see beyond the cliff edge. A few minutes later we were taken down to our table overlooking the sea. All the other tables were taken, but fortunately we had a good table anyway. Had it not been, and had there been empty tables, I would have asked to move to one of those. Thankfully we didn't need to.
The menu is a set price for 2 or 3 courses, and there is a good variety for each course to choose from. I started with sautéed scallops, truffle mash and creamed leaks. 3 big scallops perfectly cooked, a lovely mash with a hint of earthy truffle, and sweet creamed leaks. Lovely. For main I went with the grilled red snapper with creamed potato, and as expected, the fish was cooked perfectly and tasted lovely. Being quite full, we decided against a dessert and finished the evening with coffee.
Both the service and the atmosphere was very good, and you can’t beat the setting, it’s fantastic. If you can, try to watch as they feed the stingrays at the end of the terrace area.
Having been to both the The Tides and Cin Cin previously, the food at The Cliff surpassed the other restaurants for quality and flavour combinations. Although it is more expensive, it was well worth the visit and we'll certainly be back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cliff also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing