We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“November Sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
West Susssex UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“November Sanctuary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here this year for the first time since it has changed hands and we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was of a good standard .I gathered from the management that a major upgrade of the rooms is on the cards for the summer so might just HAVE to go back next year and check it out !
Conveniently located for Holetown which has really come on since our last visit.Great shops and restaurants to suit all pockets .Beach has been undergoing some work to counteract erosion but is looking good .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    541
    203
    53
    52
See reviews for
111
1,168
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Collinee, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had spent a week on a cruise and then a week here. The first impression as we drove up to the hotel was good, everywhere looked clean and well maintained. The reception staff were very surly but we thought she must be having a bad day. Our room was OK, although a little tired, but had a big balcony overlooking the gardens and swimming pools. The lighting in the room can only be described as dismal. The lighting in the bathroom was even worse and it was difficult to see the mirror. The hairdryer is sited next to the hand basin in the bathroom so only one person can use the mirror. It would be far better for the hairdryer to be in the bedroom with a bright light above. Impossible to put makeup on in the bathroom. There was another full length mirror in the bedroom but the lighting here was also bad. We did think about lighting the candles that were supplied to help the situation. The food was generally good, although the lunchtime food was very "samey" and all self service. Dinner at night was sometimes self service or waiter service. Some parts of the restaurant are quite dark and again brighter lighting would have been nice. People rave about The Club and have been going back year after year. We were disappointed in the beach, although the gardens and pool made up for this. In the hotel facilities brochure in the bedrooms it clearly states that reservations are not needed for the restaurant. We had to book a time every night and we can't see the reason for this as there are plenty of tables in the restaurant to accommodate everyone, it's done just to suit the waiting staff and chefs. Would we visit this hotel again - probably not.

Room Tip: We were in 254 on the first floor which is quite near reception and there is a lot of road noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole and Anth... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We arrived at the Club on Christmas Day and our initial thoughts were that the hotel was small and a little tired but when we were leaving 13 nights later we were gutted.
Our room wasn't one of the refurbished ones but it was huge and immaculately cleaned every day.
The food was excellent in both Enids and the Sunset Restaurants and the additional snacks in the afternoon were a nice touch.
Although we were initially disappointed that the bands/music and the bar shut at 11pm, we soon found our way to the piano bar which was open until 2am and we frequented it far too often!! :-)
The staff at the hotel were great but we have to specifically mention our barmen Vinnie and Elvis (who did break into song occasionally), Michael the G4S security guard and the absolutely fantastic piano man Dale.
They made a real effort for Christmas and New Years Eve with fantastic meals, great bands, hats for all the guests and on New Years Eve Dale set up a sound system and microphone so that we could all get involved..........that was a late night!!
We met some fantastic people that made our holiday even more special.
Would definitely go back.
Daryl & Judy
PS Only thing I would ask for is sponges for the sunbeds!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was our third year at 'The Club' and we were not disappointed. Same great welcome by the same great staff who cannot do enough to make your stay as fantastic as possible. Lovely to see so many faces from our previous years who most definitely remembered us!! Noticed some more upgrades to the property and services which were very welcome, Elite Island Resorts have totally embraced this property since their acquisition in 2012 and only added to it's wonderful charm and true Barbados hospitality. We tried Enid Restaurant this time and it was a truly wonderful dining experience. Cannot understand some of the very negative reviews on here, 'The Club' is not perfect, no hotel ever is (have read bad reviews on Sandy Lane Hotel which is 5 times the price) but it is perfect for us and hundreds of other returning guests!! Looking forward to returning again this coming November.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Superior Deluxe, well worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spursforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just a week on honeymoon, wish it was longer. Had a welcome note and champagne waiting in our suite and also a special table arranged for our meal that evening. Staff work really hard and cannot fault the food or the cocktails on offer!!

There are lots of activities on offer, we swam with the turtles which is well worth it. The evening entertainment is not our thing but all the guests seemed to enjoy it.

Ignore any bad reviews, was value for money, clean, comfortable and beautiful beaches just a stones throw away.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paphos
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Definitely no more than 3 star. Two restaurants five nights a week and only one on two nights ....................not enough. Had to eat out to get some variety. Hot food was only tepid on many occasions. Beach bar was the only highlight. How people stay for weeks on end I don't know.
We paid for a superior garden view room and needless to say we're disappointed. Shabby, poor fixtures and fittings, including the bathroom.........needed gutting and bringing uptodate. We had cockroaches for company. Poor Wifi connection. Whether this was the hotels fault or the supplier I don't know.
Oh I forgot very few premium brand drinks at the bar.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paphos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Very simple dated room, but you get used to it!
The staff is so friendly and helpful. I never once came across an unfriendly staff member. The food was better than I imagined for an all inclusive resort. Plenty of variety to choose from at the buffets for breakfast and lunch. The chef that cooks the omelettes and French toast is really good, as we have had average everywhere else in the Carribean. There really isn't a beach to lay on, but it's just a short walk down some steps to take a swim in the warm, clean water. It's a very good value all in all.
We also enjoyed the snorkeling trip to swim with the sea turtles!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Beluga4162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
7.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
9.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
14.0 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Property: The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Address: Saint James Beach, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotwire, West Indies, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing