We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but not luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a week in June and we thought it was just an average place. Definitely not five stars or even four. I would consider this resort a solid three star. We knew from the pictures and other reviewers that there was no beach, so we were not surprised. The food was the most disappointing area. It was very repetitive and not fresh. A lot of things were below standard. There were birds and insects flying all over the food area. The dining room had a netting to stop birds from coming in but the opposite side was not covered. So birds would still come in during meals. To be honest I was a little grossed out but had to get over it. I guess this how they eat in this part of the world, so we adapted. We just had to take turns getting up from the table so one person would watch the food and keep the birds away. The rooms were of good size and were properly cleaned. The AC worked fine. The electricity went out while were there for which they provide two candles in every room. They have a generator for the common areas but not for the rooms, so were without AC for some time. The water sports are weak here, so don't come expecting to do a lot of anything in the water. Whenever people asked to do something they acted annoyed, like you are making them actually work! They also need to build a ramp to get equipment in and out of the water. Right now you have to climb out by way of a pretty steep rock and also lift your equipment up off the water onto the rock. Overall, this is a good place if you come to Barbados for the first time. It was the best deal we found at the time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tandpDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,567 - 1,573 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

The location of the is hotel is great. It is a five minute walk to shops restaurants and night life in Holetown. The hotel is not really a resort but it is very quaint with a million dollar view. There is only two main restaurants serving dinner and the food is OK. We much preferred the local fare at local bars and restaurants which is delicious.
The beach: this hotel DOES NOT have it's own beach, BUT there are stairs you can go down and swim an snorkel just off of a rock wall. Not bad at all, but don't come here looking for a beach and sand to laze on and then get all disappointed. If you want that kind of beach, stay somewhere else or walk a bit to the right or left of this place and all is good.
Rooms: Just OK however our view trumped all the bad things i the room. Like, we walked in first time and were greeted with a long dangling cobweb in a corner that was never cleaned off. Sticky doors that took a few tries to open. Water logged plaster in the bathroom and sinks that wouldn't plug properly. No Ac in the bathroom or a vent but blasting hot water. We had great wireless connection as the router is located on a tree right outside our room :-)
Staff: Totally friendly and very very nice. I have never been to a more friendly place than Barbados.
The resort: very quiet! There are a couple of lively ladies that work at the bar. Cheryl and Lucille that livened up the place on Friday night that we were here - they were dancing and joking around while serving up drinks flawlessly.
There is one big pool divided into three smaller ones with a volley ball net in one of them.
Overall this is a lovely resort but not flash and I would have to reconsider coming here again because of the price. I don't think the price is justifiable considering it is not ALL inclusive and there are obvious renovations needed. It is lovely and quiet with great staff and pretty much all you really need without extravagance. We love the Island and will definitely come here again.

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room it is available with a big balcony. Our room did not have a balcony but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie1997I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Der Valued Guests,
We thank you for your very positive remarks, especially those about our exceptionally gracious and attentive staff.

Since Elite Island Resorts took over management a little over one year ago the Club has enjoyed myriad upgrades ranging from lobby, restaurant and lounge renovations, new gift shop, all new sports equipment, new sun loungers, new awnings and patios on courtyard ground floor rooms, for further enjoyment of the outside environment, as well as fresh paint on all exteriors and inside guest rooms. We are also in the process installing new soft furnishings and bedding in all guest rooms for a fresh bright new look.

Again, we greatly appreciate your business and the fact that you took the time to provide us with your thoughts. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future and to meeting and exceeding all of your expectations going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Meant to be the rainy season but only had a couple of downpours during the two weeks we were there. Found the resort very clean & welcoming as were the staff. Always plenty of choice at meals and the food was excellent. Water sports facilities were very good and any request was addressed if at all possible.
The holiday we had booked in Europe had to be cancelled & this one was booked on a whim 10 days before departure - a very good find.
Thank you Club Barbados

Room Tip: We had a ground floor Premier Garden View which was larger than on the upper floors as the balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank elderhouse15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

stayed here for two weeks in may/june. the staff were very friendly (apart from reception) and the rooms were nice and big. the service was very slow at dinner time due to lack of staff .One problem here is the birds that are bombing everyone and especially the sun loungers which are never jet washed clean!!
the weather was lovely and the island itself is beautiful.
long trousers needed after 6.30 which is irritating as it is very warm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bill031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here from 8th to 15th July in a standard pool/garden view room. Check in was painless, but we were the only couple who were not offered a welcome drink on arrival. We finally were offered a drink after 3 other couples got theirs, but I still got the wrong one!!! The food and drink was really good here. Breakfast was good - a buffet, but you can have eggs cooked how you want and get things such as french toast and pancakes made to order. Lunch was also good - buffet again, but a good choice and there was always someone at the grill to do fish or burgers/hotdogs for you. For dinner, when it was buffet, a good choice, and even when a la carte - there was still a good choice of food. Went to Enid's twice, and it was great. BBQ night is on a friday - and you can have what you want. You can get snacks at the bar between 2 and 5 which is really good. Never had any problems with drinks - they always had what we wanted and tried a few cocktails! The staff are really nice and always chat to you. Compliments to them all for doing such a good job. Rooms are kept clean - but we did have one housekeeper walk in on us one day without knocking - so beware! Not much of a beach, but as said in other reviews there are others nearby. Its a short walk to holetown and a bus ride to Bridgetown - but worth doing. All in all a good holiday - so thank you to The Club.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here on a corporate event for 5 days in June. A friend of ours has been to this hotel several times, the last time some 7 years ago and they loved it. Our expectations were high and unfortunately we were a little disappointed. Here are my pro's and con's:

Pro's:

1. Lovely staff
2. Food reasonable in the day
3. Rooms spacious with comfy beds
4. Watersports were great

Con's

1. Food in the evening was pretty limited and the entertainment was very limited
2. Rooms were in need of refurbishment
3. Outdoor areas were in need of refurbishment although I cannot fault the efforts of the many staff to keep it spotlessly clean.
4. Pools looked cloudy and unwelcoming, they did have severe rain before we arrived and I know that they had treated the pools to make sure that they were pleasant for people to use.

To cover a few points made by others, the trousers and shirt dress code for men is pretty much Barbados wide so you cannot blame the Club for this. Also the birds eating food off tables again is Barbados wide for open restaurants and I for one would much rather be eating food outside looking over the sea than being behind a closed window.

For many people this place will be super and I would definitely return when a little investment is committed to tidying the place up a little.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank W0lfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Der Valued Guests,


We thank you for your very positive remarks, especially those about our exceptionally gracious and attentive staff and your enjoyment of the watersports.

Since Elite Island Resorts took over management a little over one year ago the Club has enjoyed myriad upgrades ranging from lobby, restaurant and lounge renovations, new gift shop, all new sports equipment, new sun loungers, new awnings and patios on courtyard ground floor rooms, for further enjoyment of the outside environment, as well as fresh paint on all exteriors and inside guest rooms. We are also in the process installing new soft furnishings and bedding in all guest rooms for a fresh bright new look.

Again, we greatly appreciate your business and the fact that you took the time to provide us with your thoughts. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future and to meeting and exceeding all of your expectations going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in June, weather was mixed and not much to do when it did rain. It's was great for a week break and we loved the resort was small as we made lots of friends who we still see now back home.
Tips- make use of the free activites!
Book dinner in advance otherwise you get left with 6:30 or 9:30pm!
Take a walk around outside the resort nice towns to see

Would we go back yes but we like to always try somewhere new so unlikely

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonPrincess24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,120 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#1 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,871 reviews
1.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
9.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Address: Saint James Beach, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $319 - $829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, BookIt.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing