We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second day and so far outrageous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Port Jefferson, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our second day and so far outrageous”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have met so many nice interesting people at the club so far. Our best experience has been the people working here. For instance, I started a conversation with a security guard Named Shirley. She was not only professional but personally engaging to us. We hAd such a Great conversation that sharing our emails was a must... Even the young man helping with our bags to the room was very positive and energetic . We cannot wait for tomorrow... Did i mention, there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room on our anniversary day.. :)

Room Tip: Get ocean front, third floor if possible.. The living room/balcony is great, especially for the suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 509Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    548
    203
    54
    52
See reviews for
113
1,184
67
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is nothing more than average, I'm afraid.
Outdated, and behind with the times, overall it lacks in most departments.
Many staff were exceptionally friendly and it is a relaxing, reasonably well-kept place to stay, but as it is a 16+ hotel, anyone under the age of 40 is looked upon sometimes rather distastefully. Dress code for dinner is "smart casual", however this does not include any type of shorts, however long or short they may be (even for women) and this proved rather difficult for me (being an 18 year old female), as I took only smart shorts and tops to wear in the evening, as I assumed hotel dining would be a little less strict and maybe a little more laid back than restaurants that deserve a dress code quite as strict (an outfit I wore to the world-class Cliff restaurant was dismissed as inappropriate at The "only average" Club's dining area in which food was way below par and service was, again, average. Confused? Me too.)
Not sure if I will be returning, great for couples of a certain age... Just not for me.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SophieLovesTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at The Club Barbados. It is our goal to always deliver 100% guest satisfaction so your comments are very important to us.

The Club Barbados is an adults only resort which offers a wide variety of sun, sand and sea activities to please all interests. In addition, we offer an array of relaxing and invigorating spa services to help recharge and rejuvenate.

Since Elite Island Resorts took over management 9 months ago the Club has enjoyed myriad upgrades ranging from lobby, restaurant and lounge renovations, new gift shop, all new sports equipment, new sun loungers, new awinings and patios on courtyard ground floor rooms for further enjoyment of the outside environment as well as fresh paint on all exteriors and inside guest rooms. We are also in the process installing new soft furnishings and bedding in all guest rooms for a fresh bright new look.

We do have a dress code for evening dining which we have highlighted on our website and communicate in our reservation information. We are sorry you were not made aware of this. In the evenings, casually elegant attire is requested including slacks or stylish jeans, and collared shirts for men; dresses, skirts, or long pants for women.

The Club, Barbados provides a terrific all-inclusive Caribbean holiday, which hosts hundreds of very happy guests each week. We consistently earn excellent reviews among our guests for great dining, activities, and a wonderfully hospitable and gracious staff.

We do hope we can host you again when considering a sunny fun filled holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Arrived on the 14th of April after a really nice cruise on the Thomson dream not knowing what to expect when we arrived. Having wanted to visit Barbados since childhood, we were a bit nervous , but what lay in store is one of the best places we have stayed in (yes there are a few little faults if you want to be picky but nowhere is perfect!!) ,great location, nice accommodation and superb food . Thanks to the very helpful and polite staff especially Sophia in the sunset restaurant who was wonderful our whole stay ,We were looking for a nice relaxing time with great weather and we were not disappointed, would definitely stay there again .

Room Tip: garden room ,shorter walk to the bar!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chrisjp1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just returned from 8 days in the Resort. We stayed in a garden suite which was spotless, bathroom dated but cleaned daily - not sure what the gripes were with the water as we had plenty hot water every day. Bedroom was spotless and had aircon and a fan. Staff are extremely friendly, happy, chatty and helpful! Food is fantastic and caters for all! Cocktails are a must! Pool was thoroughly cleaned every day. Hotel not right on the beach but only a few steps away!
Highly recommended as a great place to relax!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank june k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The new owners have given the Club some much needed love and affection, and I was glad that they have managed to retain its unique atmosphere.
I had a wonderful time seeing old friends and making new ones, and I can't wait until it's time for me to return again to beautiful Barbados, my second home.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived at The Cub in Barbados on the afternoon of Sunday 21 April after a week's cruising on the Thomson Dream in the Caribbean.A great week being spoiled by the excellent service,cuisine,entertainment and hospitality on the Dream followed by an equally enjoyable week at the club. Yes if you are looking you can find a few faults but if you want a great time with all the ingredients of a fantastic holiday the Club has it.As soon as you arrive the welcome you receive assures you that you are going to enjoy your stay and that welcoming atmosphere is present throughout your stay.

Room Tip: There is a wide range of rooms in design and location, we actually downgraded because we felt the De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffbulldogburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We traveled as a couple in early April 2013. We picked this resort because we had stayed on the south coast a couple of times and wanted to try the west coast.
Overall, we enjoyed it and there is nothing at this resort that would prevent us from returning.

Other comments:
Firstly- who cares about the incidentals deposit... this is kind of a standard travel thing and I'm not sure why people are so crazy about it on this forum. Even when we were checking in the pleasant receptionist was apologizing profusely about it before we even said a word, and we finally just said, no worries, we travel, it is common.
Actually this place was a second choice for us to the more expensive Mango Bay AI resort just one or two km north of here- and we did a walk-through of the more-cramped Mango Bay- we were really happy we accidentally chose The Club over Mango Bay!

We thought the food was nice at The Club. There were lots of healthy choices, which was great- but lots of other items like fries…if you like that. One thing I would say, as much as we enjoyed the foods and selection, after the week it was a bit repetitious. We ate at Enids 3 times and the menu never changes. Which is OK, but there are few items on it, so ended up eating the same thing twice. I could have made, even with same ingredients, a few different meals.. just for a change and not at a big cost. Same with the lunches, great, but some more variety would be nice. Perhaps they are still working on this. The Friday BBQ was lovely. It is quite nice to sit on the sand-beach part of the resort at your table and have an evening meal just after the sun has set.

We were impressed with the staff, we had a ground floor room that opened onto the beautiful gardens and sat there in the mornings; as each staff member went by, whether you looked at them or not, they always said good morning. We thought they were very efficient. A few of the lunch staff were not really into ‘service’, and we did tip while there, but only saw one or two others doing so. Same for the bar service, we thought it was fast and efficient. The mojitos were great, fresh mint crushed in them. Probably the one waitstaff who really stood out was Stanley- he was often at lunch and dinner serving, and he was quick to ask how things were and refill beverages. Great service.

We made use of the watersports area, went waterskiing and windsurfing. It would be nice if there was a sign up or something – like a billboard clearly written what times and how far ahead to book. It often seemed when we asked about fishing or something we’d get this answer about booking days ahead or a day ahead, or it was all booked, or they were not going as it was choppy. It would be nice if there was a nice big sign with all this on it. i.e. if you want to waterski, this is the times, and how to book, etc., We really have enjoyed at other places Hobbie Cats, as this place had one big one that you have to book a day ahead and then staff go with you, so no one used it all week. It is much more fun to just go out and zip around on your own. That was sadly missing for our entertainment.
We snorkel A LOT, and it was great! The reefs all around this hotel are super (actually why we booked this place in truth)- we have nice shots or all kinds of underwater critters. This is the location where the catamaran tours stop, so every day there would be up to 6 catamarans and hundreds of people in the water looking at sunken barges and the reefs and fish. We often swam over to see what was up.

As for the comments of beach at this hotel, yes the shore is built up, but you just go down stairs into the sea, we could not see at all what the problem was from the comments previously written on Trip Advisor. Even while we were there, people were saying, ‘well the tide is up, we will wait for tomorrow’. I was like…you are going to get wet one way or the other if you go in the sea so what difference does it make at what point you get wet? Anyway, can’t really understand this. However perhaps this new takeover will build a bit of pier out there- it was not easy for people to get into the hotel speedboat as it was bobbing around near shore. A dock would make it easier for sure, and for the staff operating the boat.

We never went in the pool but it was clean- the sea was fantastic!

The humpback whale breaching out front one day just topped it all off!

We had zero problems. Great time, just not long enough. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J_travelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
7.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
9.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
14.0 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Property: The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Address: Saint James Beach, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, West Indies, Travelocity, TravelUp and Hotwire so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing