We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very Deceiving” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Deceiving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was very dissapointed with my overall stay at this property. The resort boasted of all inclusive activities, however, quite a few were not available due to outsourcing or not inclusive at all. My bathtub was backed up two days in a row. Also, we were never told or saw in writing, the $300.00USD incidental hold requirement or that males are required to have collared shirts for dinner in their restaurant. We were treated rudely by the hostess when advised we were never told of the dress code nor was it on the website. Also, the $300USD incidental was charged to my credit card instead of released on the date of departure. I am still waiting for the credit to my account ten days later as promised. Based on my experience of all inclusive resorts, I will not advise this hotel to anyone planning to visit this island.

Room Tip: Check the faucets and tubs for proper draining as soon as you enter the room. Also, ask how often th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guests.

Thank you for your recent comments on your stay with us at Club Barbados Resort & Spa.We see the gift of feedback as an opportunity to consistently improve our guest's experience while with us.

We are sorry that you were unaware of the dress code but on the dining section of our website and in the reservation paperwork that you received to confirm booking (if you booked directly through the hotel reservation system) it does indicate that we have a dress code for dinner. As with most hotels in the Caribbean the attire is casually elegant which helps maintain the atmosphere and ambiance of our resort. If you booked through a tour operator and this was not communicated we would like to know so that we may ensure that the information relayed by our partners is complete so that our guests enjoy a wonderful visit.

As with most hotels around the world standard policy is that a credit card is presented at check-in for incididental charges. We put a $300 pre-authorization on the card to ensure that adequate incidental charges (tours and excursions, spa services, gift shop, etc) are coreectly charged to your room in a seamless and timely fashion. This information is communicated on our website. We are sorry you were not aware of this information which also should have been communicated in your reservation information.

The resort boasts a wide variety of land and sea activities which are included in the all inclusive packatge. Certain tours and excursions are at the desire of the guest and unless indicated in writing are not included in the all inclusive cost.

At The Club Barbados we strive to deliver a memorable, relaxing vacation with impeccable service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    479
    178
    47
    45
See reviews for
91
1,002
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here after a Thomson cruise in April 2013.Have visited Barbados many times and stayed at varies hotels ,this is the best up to now!Good hotel layout,food excellent ,service very good.
This hotel is being brought up to a good standard by the present owners who only took over approx 6 months ago after the hotel was in decline ,caused by previous owners.It is a credit to the new management.! Please keep pleanty of service staff as it does make all the difference.

Holiday was spoilt slightly by THOMSON as on the last day at short notice we were made to leave!!our flight was a late one and THOMSON had not organised for guests to stay on the resort.
SHAME on you THOMSON.Plenty of upset customers, watch out for this in the future club barbados as it can reflect on the hotel.Overall a great hotel keep up the improvements.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms not very private,try and get a room looking over the sea!and possibly a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Read a lot of bad reviews on this property, most from last yr. So many in fact I tried changing my booking at the last minute. Glad i didn't we really had a great time, enjoyed the beach front, though a little rocky the water was fantastic, free boat rides was a bonus. My only criticism would be the bathroom could have had a face lift, we were in room 364 and I do not think it was one of the renovated rooms. The rest of the room, balcony, location, bed etc. were very good.
Food was excellent, Superior to Sandals for half the money. Restaurant Hostess's and staff were excellent especially the pretty Dining room hostess that has been there 17 yrs. Spa, I would rate 3 stars, but Debbie who does deep massage was excellent. Gym, needs some money spent on it, but other than me was not used very much. Pool was clean.
Would definitely return. Steve

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, they appear to have new balcony doors?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks at your resort.Everything was perfect even the showers when it was getting a bit hot to sunbathe.Ammeneties very good. Food was excellent> The Egg Lady is a diamond as is Sophia but it is unfair to name just the two as all the staff from the gardeners,pool man,cleaners,waitresses and waiter,and bar staff were all tremendous and very friendly. A very welcome chill-out holiday. Thank-you all.

Room Tip: Higher floors give good views of gardens/pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have recently stayed at The Club with my husband and we were delighted with the cleanliness of the resort, the friendliness of the staff and complete 'Barbados' experience.

Having been to Barbados before, I was hoping that this stay would be as great as the last and I must say that we were not disappointed and being next to Sandy Lane was great! It was in a great location, near to lots of good restaurants including L'Acajou (Sandy Lane) and The Cliff.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys a laid-back, well-catered for holiday on an island that is truly magical.

We can't wait to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have recently returned from a 10 night stay at The Club and we had a delightful stay. It was my husbands first Caribbean holiday and I am pleased that he loved it as much as I did.

The management and staff at The Club were very attentive, the food excellent, location fantastic (right next to Sandy Lane) and the whole resort was kept exceptionally clean. Lucille & Elvis kept us continually topped up with any cocktail that we decided to try and 'Licence to Grill' made sure my husband had enough hotdogs and pancakes to sink a battleship.

All in all, a wonderful stay with a view to returning. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a slice of paradise!

Allison & Mike King
Room 333

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent a very happy week at the club during April 2013. We enjoyed every moment of it and would definitely go back. The staff really made the trip for us - attentive, polite, happy and hard working. We really enjoyed the elements of Caribbean charm that the hotel has maintained, and hopefully this won't be lost as the hotel continues its upgrade efforts. Our room was comfortable, cool and clean. Water temperature was a little variable but this didn't cause us an issue. Food was excellent in both restaurants, as was service in all the bars too, and variety of inclusive food/drinks was impressive. The beachfront is rocky, however there are pristine sandy beaches 3 mins walk along the shore. A great stay all round and we'd love to return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank XavierLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
1.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
0.7 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
9.4 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Property: The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Address: Saint James Beach, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, West Indies, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and BookIt.com so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing