We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place in barbados to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place in barbados to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here after a Thomson cruise in April 2013.Have visited Barbados many times and stayed at varies hotels ,this is the best up to now!Good hotel layout,food excellent ,service very good.
This hotel is being brought up to a good standard by the present owners who only took over approx 6 months ago after the hotel was in decline ,caused by previous owners.It is a credit to the new management.! Please keep pleanty of service staff as it does make all the difference.

Holiday was spoilt slightly by THOMSON as on the last day at short notice we were made to leave!!our flight was a late one and THOMSON had not organised for guests to stay on the resort.
SHAME on you THOMSON.Plenty of upset customers, watch out for this in the future club barbados as it can reflect on the hotel.Overall a great hotel keep up the improvements.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms not very private,try and get a room looking over the sea!and possibly a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    501
    189
    51
    52
See reviews for
99
1,068
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Read a lot of bad reviews on this property, most from last yr. So many in fact I tried changing my booking at the last minute. Glad i didn't we really had a great time, enjoyed the beach front, though a little rocky the water was fantastic, free boat rides was a bonus. My only criticism would be the bathroom could have had a face lift, we were in room 364 and I do not think it was one of the renovated rooms. The rest of the room, balcony, location, bed etc. were very good.
Food was excellent, Superior to Sandals for half the money. Restaurant Hostess's and staff were excellent especially the pretty Dining room hostess that has been there 17 yrs. Spa, I would rate 3 stars, but Debbie who does deep massage was excellent. Gym, needs some money spent on it, but other than me was not used very much. Pool was clean.
Would definitely return. Steve

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, they appear to have new balcony doors?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks at your resort.Everything was perfect even the showers when it was getting a bit hot to sunbathe.Ammeneties very good. Food was excellent> The Egg Lady is a diamond as is Sophia but it is unfair to name just the two as all the staff from the gardeners,pool man,cleaners,waitresses and waiter,and bar staff were all tremendous and very friendly. A very welcome chill-out holiday. Thank-you all.

Room Tip: Higher floors give good views of gardens/pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have recently stayed at The Club with my husband and we were delighted with the cleanliness of the resort, the friendliness of the staff and complete 'Barbados' experience.

Having been to Barbados before, I was hoping that this stay would be as great as the last and I must say that we were not disappointed and being next to Sandy Lane was great! It was in a great location, near to lots of good restaurants including L'Acajou (Sandy Lane) and The Cliff.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys a laid-back, well-catered for holiday on an island that is truly magical.

We can't wait to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have recently returned from a 10 night stay at The Club and we had a delightful stay. It was my husbands first Caribbean holiday and I am pleased that he loved it as much as I did.

The management and staff at The Club were very attentive, the food excellent, location fantastic (right next to Sandy Lane) and the whole resort was kept exceptionally clean. Lucille & Elvis kept us continually topped up with any cocktail that we decided to try and 'Licence to Grill' made sure my husband had enough hotdogs and pancakes to sink a battleship.

All in all, a wonderful stay with a view to returning. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a slice of paradise!

Allison & Mike King
Room 333

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent a very happy week at the club during April 2013. We enjoyed every moment of it and would definitely go back. The staff really made the trip for us - attentive, polite, happy and hard working. We really enjoyed the elements of Caribbean charm that the hotel has maintained, and hopefully this won't be lost as the hotel continues its upgrade efforts. Our room was comfortable, cool and clean. Water temperature was a little variable but this didn't cause us an issue. Food was excellent in both restaurants, as was service in all the bars too, and variety of inclusive food/drinks was impressive. The beachfront is rocky, however there are pristine sandy beaches 3 mins walk along the shore. A great stay all round and we'd love to return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank XavierLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having just returned from a holiday of a lifetime with my mum,I have to say how much we both enjoyed our time at The Club Barbados. The food was excellent both breakfast and lunch being buffet style with wonderfull Heather on the hotplate to fullfill your order of eggs any style,omellets,pancakes or french toast. and again at lunchtime for freshly cooked burgers, sausages or local fish. With other options of main previously prepared.Dinner was sit down waiter style with a different menu every night with 4or 5 different options for starter main and dessert and a soup coarse of 2 options. My aim before going to the club was to try the Cliff restaurant, myself and my mum are real foodies but were more than impressed with the hotels quality of food and location.We sat every night overlooking the beach and the last night we had candlelit dinner for 2 on the beach, nothing was to much trouble for the staff, they were all very friendly and helpful, especially thankyou to Tracey Ann a waitress who found my mum a bucket to take up to the room to soak her swollen feet. Not forgetting Sofia,Carmel and Paulette for making our meal times so enjoyable. And a big thankyou to Cole the activities organiser who I went on several beach walks with. That was nice for me as mum can't walk that far and its not something I would have done alone. He was very knowledgeable and interesting to talk to. The Hotel was in a great location on the west coast a little rocky immediately of the hotel but this made for great snorkeling with a ship wreck being in reach and the turtles 2 mins away. We were also lucky enough to see 3 whales leaping and spouting directly of the coast out side the hotel all day.
The room was freshly painted. Beds made daily towels changed daily. large walk in shower large Balcony with outside fan. If I had to crticise any thing it would be the chest of Drawers was awkward to open and close and the floor in the room wasnt swept.Everything else was excellent I would definately recommend and would love to return. The 3 pools were cleaned daily only 3-4 people were in at any time plenty of empty beds around pools and on beach.
Great live entertainment in the evenings with a beach BBQ on a friday and welcome cocktail night and steel band on a monday. Lots of great memories. I Pre booked hotel transfers with RESORTHOPPA by taxi they were very punctual,polite,and helpful with Mums heavy case, we had used all our change up in the hotel so he carried her case to the checkin for her as we had no coins for a trolley.
Jane & Yvonne ( Ruislip & Wales)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juicyjane04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
1.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
8.9 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Property: The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Address: Saint James Beach, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, West Indies, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing