We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back! 😄”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Since taking over last year you can see a lot of work has been done and it is still being improved. The Welcome was superb and the staff always ready to help. We had a couple of problems in the room, the settee was a bit tired, it was changed within an hour of mentioning it. The tap in the bathroom was loose, it was replaced within 12 hours. The food was great with a good choice and plentiful even if you ate late. The waiting staff were all happy and helpful and it was clear they wanted us to enjoy ourselves. The location is beautiful and even though the Club doesn't have a great expanse of beach in front there are miles of beaches either side only 100yds away.
The bottom line? Yes we will come back and would recommend the hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,635 - 1,641 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Having been to the Caribbean some 20 times and stayed in budget through to high end all inclusive, I have to say that the Club Barbados is right there at the top and much of this is down to the very friendly and helpful staff, they made our holiday! The resort is very good in parts, good in most and just a little 'tired' in one or two aspects.

We had a superior Ocean front room, big bedroom and huge bed, a sitting room and being on the ground floor we had a veranda with a wonderful ocean view. The positioning of the room for the sunset was perfect. Ok, the bathroom could do with an upgrade but it did not detract from the overall comfort of the room. Just a simple thing, but a kettle in addition to the filter coffee machine would have made this even more homely.

The staff and service was excellent, they couldn't do more to be helpful. We ate at Enid's twice and the Sunset restaurant for all other meals. The food was of a high standard, great variety and always appealing. This Resort does not purport to be a haute cuisine establishment but what it does, it does very well!

The pools were clean and so inviting, yes the beach directly in front of the hotel is small - but big enough for the hotel guests, and to those who complained on here about this, I can only assume you must have a severe motor disability, as 200 metres to the left of the hotel is a huge uncluttered beach just made for romantic walking along hand in hand.

The entertainment is varied and of variable quality, the latter actually adding to the amusement. This is a 4+ star hotel not a 5 star and we thoroughly enjoyed what was on offer from the entertainment, it is what you make of it, so if you are a professional complainer who does not want to enjoy your holiday, then you might not like the entertainment.

Would I come here again, an emphatic yes, would I recommend to friends, a further emphatic yes.

We know there are new owners and re-building reputation will be key, you have our vote. This was an exceptionally good value holiday that exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sticklerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Had my doubts at first but it's one of those places that grows on you. If you have booked a sea view ask if it has a balcony, ours didn't, we were moved quickly to a poolside suite which was very nice but not the sea view we had booked. Second day room made up at 4.30 got back on third day at 4.15 room not made up again, told them it was too late and not to bother, after that it was done at 10.00. So basically if you have a problem they will sort it out, just a shame it takes a complaint to get it right. Having to book mealtimes is a bind but is one of the rules!. Staff very friendly, food good, very relaxed, I hope they continue to improve. Don't forget to take up the offers of all the water sports, which are free to all but not well publicised, the free speed boat ride was great, book in the morning about 8.30 when you go to breakfast (take great care getting on and off boat, can be a bit tricky) TOPTIP if you are going on a day trip to see wrecks and turtles, go with Calypso Cruises, not overloaded like some of the boats you see, max 14 people, we had 8 on ours, one of the best days ever. Father and son team Nick & Val, who can't do enough for you, food and drink plentiful and good. I am not the best swimmer but Nick made sure I didn't miss out on this wonderful experience, I was geared up with buoyancy aids and towed around by Nick! DO IT, I promise you, you'll love it. For an evening out went to Harbour Lights, great show.

Room Tip: If you have a whirlpool bath in your room, don't get excited, they don't work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Location - Perfect
Beach - could be bigger but sufficient for numbers using it
Weather - Brilliant
Restaurant - Dinner -Good different A La Carte choices each evening of good quality but not 'a dining experience' - go to The Cliff at £125 per head for that.
Restaurant Lunch - Bit samey but good quality and plentiful
Restaurant Breakfast - excellent quality and variety
Bars - choice of everything with cheery and helpful staff - no attitude problems - cheers!!
Pools - fine
Gardens - good
Restaurant/Bar needs to buy a few more CD's of background music - same each day
Restaurant staff - very helpful (you need to book a day or so ahead to get popular times
Entertainment - Each night but could do better with more choice and local content
Room - clearly this hotel has had its troubled time and is gradually having its accomodation overhauled. Nothing non functioning, bed large and comfortable but sink plug lever missing, safe needed new batteries, light fitting hanging - however nothing that can really spoil your enjoyment. I think they employed Stevie Wonder to paint the window frame but that's just rustic charm!
My gut feel is that this hotel has gone through hard times but that the new owners are quickly revamping it. It couldn't today really claim 4 star status. Yes I would go again.

Room Tip: Garden View Rooms near reception are away from the nightly entertainment which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank childofthefifties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a Cruise and Stay package as the usual hotel we stay at was not available from this particular cruise company.
After two days of travel we arrived at the hotel tired and ready for bed, we were quite quickly (almost abruptly) checked in and then shown to our room, we were aware that between booking and arriving the hotel had changed hands and that it was being improved, at first glance the room appeared freshly painted, clean and comfortable although the furniture was a little dated, we wanted to wash and freshen up but the pop-up plug was missing from the sink so had to wash under running water before retiring for the night.
The next morning after breakfast we needed to unpack and hang our clothes up, the miserly wardrobe had very few hangers and these were fixed to the rail! this meant that any item with a small neck opening could not be hung up as the had to be forced over the body of the hanger, it also made it very difficult to hang more than one item on a hanger, this meant that most of our clothes for the following weeks cruise had to stay in our cases for the week, and then had to be pressed and ironed, at some cost, once we were on the ship. The clock radio was literally falling apart with the wires coming out of a gap where the two parts of the case were not properly joined, this looked quite dangerous so we disconnected it, not that it mattered as the display was so dim that you could hardly read it anyway. It was apparent from the painting that had been done was that the painter had not been allowed to bring his guide dog to work with him, as there was nearly as much paint on the bathroom tiles as there was on the walls. One of the nice things about being away in a hot climate is to be able to walk about in your room barefoot, however the floor felt gritty and sandy and the soles of our feet were quickly filthy. We reported the missing plug to reception and later on the fact that we were unable to switch on the patio light, nobody came about the plug but a man arrived with a new bulb for the light. We all joined in in a game of 'find the patio light switch' which was eventually won by the handyman. Silly us, all you had to do was grab the bed headboard (which was fixed to the wall not the bed) with one hand and pull it away from the wall as hard as you could, you could then wiggle the fingures of the other hand behind the headboard and switch the light on, I can't understand how we could have missed it! Still not wanting to waste the visit of the handyman we asked him about the bathroom plug, he did look at it - that's all he did - looked at it, that is, then sort of shrugged and muttered that they were 'out of stock', they were apparently out of stock all week as we never did get our plug. The air con was quite noisy, the switch gear was coming apart from the case and there was brown stains on the fresh paint where it was apparently leaking from time to time .
The hotel offered a ,paid for, bus shuttle service to Bridgetown, so one evening we called in at reception and asked to book for the following day, alas we were too late for the next day but were told that we could always just take a local bus for ony 10% of the cost of the shuttle, as we were in a strange country we did not want to do this so booked for the following day, our booking was efficiently recorded on a scrap of paper and we were told to be at reception at 9.30am on the due day. We arrived at 9.25 and waited for our bus, none came, we enquired at reception and they knew nothing about our booking, they then rung the bus company but could not get an answer, so reception (different person) said "you can always go on the local bus" , they are obviously not on commission for selling their expensive shuttle bus tickets! We eventually took a taxi. Incidently he was great and was well known to the receptionists, his name was Roger and we can recommend him to anybody else who is unfortunate enough to be staying at the hotel.
The day after we arrived we went to book a hairdressing appointment for my wife at the spa for the end of our stay ready for our cruise, the receptionist in the spa said that they didn't actually have a resident hairdresser and one had to come in, so made a provisional booking and promised to let us know as soon as they had confirmed with the hairdresser. Two days later we had not heard anything so made an appointment at the local hairdresser in the shops just over the road. As a courtesy we called in at the spa and advised them not to worry as we had made other arrangments, they looked in their book and said that the hairdresser had been booked the previous day, we said sorry but as they had not advised us as promised so the appointment was cancelled. Incidently the local hairdresser was perfect and made a lovely job of my wife's hair, they were also charming and very polite. There were very few umbrellas availailable for the sun beds, in fact we used to observe one (Englishman) claim one just outside our room each morning at 6.30, sit on it untill his wife relieved him so he could go to breakfast, and was still there late in the afternoon. The entertainment? is quite loud each evening and the bar very noisy as residents compete with the entertainers to be heard, don't think about going to bed before it finishes, although in all fairness this is was usually by 11.00pm.
I think that just about completes the moans.
The rooms that have been properly renovated look quite nice from outside. The resaurant we found superb being almost on the beach, in fact most evenings they had tables actually out side on it, staff were all really nice. Although quite narrow the beach was great with the trees offering shade, the bar on the beach was almost too handy! the watersports equipment was all first class and the speedboat trip fantastic - don't miss it as you have paid for it! Even the lady selling beach robbes in the stall on the beach was one of the friendliest beach traders you could ever wish to meet.
Will we go back - no chance, much better available just up the road!

Room Tip: Make sure you get an updated room as far away from the bar/restaurant as possible if you want early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Grandad_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Club and had a really great, relaxed time. We have stayed at Sandals several times and whilst this does not have a number of themed restaurants in fairness many at Sandals tend to be a variation on a theme so we were not put off by just having the two restaurants.

The food was varied and of a good standard - home cooked puddings were very good and although not gourmet quality you would not really expect it in this price bracket - there was always a freshly cooked fish option, cooked in front of you while you wait and this was always very good. Heather the breakfast cook stands out for the most efficient breakfast cook ever and could cook up any amount of breakfasts with good humour and to high standard and in a blisteringly hot kitchen.

The staff were without exception very polite and good humoured and came across as very genuine rather than the fawning sycophants sometimes encountered at Sandals. We did not encounter any bad service - admitted reception could probably have had a few more people on hand to deal with queries.

The room we had was a sea front room which is probably better as it is extremely quiet at night - the bathroom was a little tired, but hey, we aren't buying the place so as long as you get a hot shower that is fine for us. We were on the ground floor which was good for just strolling in an out as you fancied but probably a first floor room would have given a true Caribbean view as there are plants at the front. There is no beach as such at the hotel but only minutes away are super bays on both side and some world class snorkelling over wreck just a walk away - like swimming in an aquarium.

The pools were nice and there are lots of sunbeds - athough unfortunately there is an obsession with reserving them at ungodly hours of the morning which is childish and irritating and it would be good if the hotel put a stop to this and removed offending towels if no one has used it after say an hour to keep up a constant circulation of beds.

We were always served very quickly at the bars (not the case at Sandals) and again very friendly staff at all times and no hanging around waiting for a drink.

Smokers can however be a nuisance and the hotel would do well to take note that it would appear on looking around that less than 10 per cent of their guests seemed to smoke at the hotel but made a disproportionate nuisance of themselves - although smoking is not allowed inside bars etc the open areas around pool and near beach bar attracted them and smoke was very annoying if you wanted a drink by pool or your meal on beach - a simple solution would be to give them a specifc area away from bar/ main sunbathing areas - or just ban it altogether given it is a minority.

Barbados is a beautiful and very safe island - we just drove around in a car and got around the whole island in relaxed fashion in a day - the weather was sublime - in truth you are likely to spend little time in your room and you can have an endless supply of banana coladas by the beach or pool - so it does not need to be Sandy Lane.

The guests were mostly to put it politely an older demographic but that was very good for us - we wanted laid back and peaceful so at least there were no parties, booming music etc - but the hotel could consider a bit more entertainment as others have said with a Bajan theme -perhaps some limbo dancers - the Holetown street carnival was on while we were there and they could certainly try and get some of those guys and girls for the odd special party night to do a street party theme at the hotel. If you want to want to "large it" this is not your place but great for us young fogeys.

The restaurant does need to sort out its ridiculous booking system - a tip - book all your slots on day one so you get exactly the times you like. Sadly Enid's restaurant seemed to be devoid of any atmosphere at all so we only eat there once - food was good - but somewhat like a morgue and very dark. Also, please please please, for goodness sake drop the need for men to wear long trousers - look, I have to wear a suit most of the year - so on holiday I want shorts - so suggest you insist on smart short sleeved shirt with smart (not beach) shorts - that would be fine and would keep up a reasonable dress code without making me suffer in 80 degree heat.

All in All a very well located Hotel, top beaches in short amble distance if not on doorstep, very friendly, and I think probably overall good value - we had a great time - we did not have unreasonable expectations and our overall impression was the friendliness of the staff and the people of the Island - also to be recommended a trip on the hotel speedboat which will blast you around for half an hour each day up and around the nearby coast for free if you book it - great fun - and go snorkelling on the wreck. Hotel does need to get its Hobie Cat up an running though as that would be good fun.

My wife used the Spa for a pedicure and whilst the staff were friendly and competent sadly the building was not of a luxury Spa standard and equipment dated and worn - a Spa needs to a luxury pampered experience so the Hotel owners do need to invest in this to revamp it or - franchise the operation - on this Sandals scores with its Red Lane franchise.

We would definitely return at the price we paid which was we understand a special offer and which included an ocean front suite - we wouldn't probably go for a garden room as it could be hit or miss - some have reasonable outlooks, others looked very dark and you may be disappointed if you got one of those.

Room Tip: Make sure its oceanfront and unless infirm, first floor, not higher( no lifts) or lower will almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kaggie6773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had told Hotel it was our anniversary so received an upgrade to Junior Suite and a bottle of champagne. Safe key sorted after filling in of rather unnecessary forms and much to-ing and fro-ing to reception. Hotel clean and bright, room recently repainted, they didn't even have time to remove the paint splashes off the balcony door.
Restaurant food was tasty, lots of choice...... ,birds flying inside are a problem but understandable as the restaurant has open sides. Decaff. coffee is available (usually) if you ask and are prepared to wait for it.
Lots of sunbeds in grounds,by pools and beach terrace, Speedboat rides were great Sylvester has the prices of local properties and names of owners at his fingertips, Latonya's aqua-aerobics class is brilliant,especially "the circle of love".
In fact the only down side is the incessant over-modulated music. During the day we'd rather listen to the waves,than the reverberating "boom-boom" Evening entertainment was very loud and boring, A steel Band of TWO people and backing track!!!, Two screeching girls, a guitarist who only knew songs he had written about Barbados. The live pianist and the Saxophanist were very good. The Hotel are missing a trick here ,a cultural show would br good,Limbo Dancers and other variety acts, a proper Steel Band ...we heard there was a very good one locally.
As the age group (when we were there) is 40's upwards a quiet area/lounge would be good,
the bridge school at the next table had to shout to hear each other. and we would not have had to reurn to our room or upstairs at Enid's to read our books or play cards.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
7.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,735 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,578 reviews
9.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
0.7 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Address: Saint James Beach, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $280 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing