We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chill out in barbados, relax and enjoy "the club"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

moaners please go to SANDY LANE. my wife and i and my two dependants aged 29 and 27 stayed at the club from 18th december 2012 until 1st january 2013. this was our 3rd visit to the hotel and our sixth to barbados. we cant wait to go back. check in was easy and efficient, we were given a rum punch cocktail, and warm hand towels. we were given 1 bedroom suites as an upgrade from our reservation of superior garden view, which was very nice.our rooms were very clean and comfortable. breakfast was superb, lunch at 1 was a good buffet, with evening meals at your choice of reserved times. the beach area and pools were always very clean and plenty of new sun beds. being a slim and athletic build i played volley ball in the pool most afternoons, the only complaint was the referee (victor meldrew) changed the rules each day. we hired a car for 10 days of the 14 but didnt find the need to use it much. we just relaxed and enjoyed ourselves which is what its all about. i think you can always tell a good hotel by the number of repeat guests. this hotel has many, all made our holiday one to remember for the right reasons, mr justice for spiking my wifes drinks one lunch time, reg and ashley for new years eve and paul (jimmy) and dee for putting up with us for the two weeks.
dont hesitate to book this hotel if you want to enjoy yourself in a clean hotel with good food and drink in the right area of barbados. remember you are in barbados chill out and enjoy.
peter,helen andrew and lydia.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,699 - 1,705 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our first visit to the Caribbean so didn't know quite what to expect. Apparently this hotel has only recently been taken over and it's in a period of transition. They are getting some things so right (extremely attentive and friendly staff, good restaurant-standard food and plenty of it) but some things still need work. The reception area could be more welcoming including the front desk staff. Our room was in dire need of refurbishment. But I understand this is a work in progress. There isn't much beach front leading to early morning (6.30) sun-lounger reservation. There's plenty of them but jostling for space! The water sports availability was a little hit and miss. The spa was very good. Overall there is a wonderfully relaxed feeling to the resort and the staff are very keen for their guests to have a good time. Watching the sun set over the Caribbean Sea, drink in hand is a memory to treasure.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amw67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have recently returned from a 7 day stay at this resort , I have to say with the exception of Vincent and jade the staff are the rudest I have ever exspearanced in all my travels , one of many examples , once while getting served at the main bar the lady behind the bar took it upon herself to answer her mobile phone leaving me and other customers waiting while she had a private 10 Min conversation with no apology when she finest , the hotel also has a outdated dress code policy at evening meals while lady's can wear basically what they like men have to suffer in 80 degree heat and wear a shirt and coller with long pants , on more than one occasion we could not eat at night till 9pm because another policy of the hotel is you have to be up at the crack of dawn to beat the rush to book your evening meal , I for one go away to relax and ocasanaly have a lie in once and a while and not be govend by a lot of rules , I am trying to think of a positive comment for this hotel but we were glad to get home and would never return again ! One to be missed in our option .

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank cobby1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorganBayStLucia, Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,
I was very sorry to read of the disappointments you experienced and sincerely apologize again for failing to meet your expectations. I truly regret there were numerous service issues that occurred to spoil what should have been a relaxing, memorable stay. Providing exceptional service is our primary focus, and we want all of our guests to enjoy their vacation while with us and will not take your comments lightly.

The Club Barbados's staff and management enjoy a well-deserved reputation for providing friendly, efficient, and attentive service. Our guests regularly report that they greatly enjoyed their holiday at The Club, especially their interaction with the Resort’s staff. We apologize if at any time this guest experienced anything other than excellent and efficient service from any member of our staff. We have recently added additional staff members in an effort to ensure that service levels are maintained, and that food and beverage service remains fully satisfactory.

As it pertains to booking a reservation for dinner, we request restaurant bookings to be able to provide the best service experience possible in the restaurant, like any stand-alone restaurant would do. If we did not do that, everyone would want to have dinner at time slot. If guests are late, forgot to make a reservation, etc, they will ALWAYS still be seated and fed. We do have a dress code in the restaurant., and although our Guest regularly d not mind this.(Please see our website for information on our dress code, and hotel in general) TripAdvisor readers should know we do not do this to be pretentious, but to maintain a standard in the restaurant in the evenings. All we require for lunch is a cover up over swimwear and that clothes are dry, Footwear is suggested for safety reasons.

We pride ourselves on providing guests with accommodation in a genuine, unpretentious environment where they can enjoy an authentic Caribbean experience. We do hope the next time you seek the sun, you will allow The Cub's genuine staff create for you a timeless memory. We feel you come as a guest and leave as a friend.


Thank You & Warmest Regards,

The Staff & Management
The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a fantastic time at The Club, celebrating our birthdays (leaving the 20s behind) in early January. and value for money (approx $400 per night there including flights.)
The staff were great (Heather on the food, and Vinny and others making the cocktails - although I would agree that some of the reception staff were a little surly at times.)

The pools were great where we played pool volleyball most days with the great people we met, and the beach had enough to sunbathe on. Sandy Lane beach is 5 minutes walk away for more sand and space if you want it.
The resort is of course going to be slightly older clientele as its a quieter part of the island and the 'adults only factor' will appeal, (go to St Lawrence gap for a trashy party if thats your thing,) but not only were the 'more mature' guests fun but there were plenty of younger couples (honeymooning or celebrating special occasions) and others just there on their own to go out with, (Holetown has some good places.)

The breakfast and lunch was fantastic and well worth the money. Many of the dinners were good with the BBQ a favourite. I would say there are so many fantastic restaurants on the west coast its worth budgeting for a couple of nights out (probably $100 a head a night.) The only complaint about the food was the Bajan restaurant where the food seemed to be either frozen or at best, mass produced. (breaded king prawns or fishcakes for example wasn't great. Being Bajan I would have expected that to be the best food there and hopefully they'll put more effort into that menu.)

The resort was also very helpful with booking excursions and with local info.

The rooms were basic (and will probably be freshened up soon I guess,) but were always clean, well kept and fresh. Air con worked well and the balcony was nice.

The activities were good (when seas permitted) although it would be good if they shut later than 4pm.

Overall I would really recommend this resort for anyone, particularly couples who want a balanced holiday of relaxing, eating good food, having a party (in Holetown) and some activities. We will be coming back next year (as long as the price doesn't rocket in the mean time!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at The Club Barbados over December and January, we must add we were here in September and the changes that have taken place are just dramatic over a nine week period. So many people have already written about the improvements, so we will just say they are fantastic. We will start with housekeeping: our room was absolutely spotless and we must say a big thank you to Hazel who looked after it most of the time. We now move on to the restaurant: All the staff who work there from the Manager, Supervisors, waiters and waitresses were absolutely fantastic, always gave service with a smile and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. However, there is one special girl who is Vembe who seemed to work all the hours God sends, every morning at 5.30am she was always in and always managed to find my English breakfast tea (WHAT A STAR)! Both my Wife and I have commented about the food, which was absolutely first class, the way that Matthew the Executive Chef, along with Zico, Charles and of course the rest of his kitchen staff produced some of the finest food that was five star quality, especially Christmas day and Old Years Night banquet which were incredible and they are all to be congratulated. Lets go to Water Sports: Cory and his team managed this time, to find some fish for me and allowed me to catch them, they are a terrific bunch of guys and both Charlie and I appreciate Cory allowing us to fish our yearly competition by supplying the reels and fishing boat ( I DID WIN THIS YEARS COMPETITION). We now move on to the Senior Management: Joerg/York Divisional Director along with Gerry Lewis General Manager, Assistant Manager Kevin Warner, Mr Fix it Nello Bynoe and of course not forgetting Gillian Griffiths Guest Services Manager, were very attentive, always asking if there was anything they could do to improve our stay, were there any issues or recommendations we could make to them to improve our stay. My Wife and I really did enjoy the Managers cocktail party, where all the above Senior staff were introduced to us, which meant many of the guests who attended knew who was responsible for what. We had a fantastic holiday, elite have put together a fantastic team which is going to make this hotel one of the best in the West. We are looking forward to returning in September

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for 10 night for Holiday/wedding, food was good esecially Enids, but the menu did not change so after a few nights we were back at sunset resturant, most of the staff were ok and plesant. there is no beach really but you can walk either side where they have a nice beach, as for the wedding we were given two spots for wedding beach fron or garden, then when spoke to minister he said he could marry anywhere, so we opted for a quiet spot 15 min up road to another beach, average age group was 45+, and entertainment was just ok

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heleninwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This whole holiday was a new experience for us. We have never visited Barbados before. It is a great destination for winter sun. However you could not call the island universally beautiful. It has some spectacular places but some equally less attractive areas. Our hotel was our first experience of a seafront room - by seafront I mean five metres from the sea. We had a third floor open balcony room facing west over the Caribbean. Thoroughly recommended but beware there are no lifts anywhere in the hotel. We have never holidayed outside school holidays so we found the demographics of our fellow guests a bit disconcerting. At 52 I was definitely in the youngest quartile of the guests present. Our meal plan was all inclusive which meant that the food which was rationed and the drink which was limitless met our needs but I know some people think on such a plan they should be able to gorge themselves silly all day. Not here. The hotel facilities were fine though some of the gym equipment was a bit tired. If you are expecting a pristine set up, the antiseptic generic approach to hotels common in the USA this resort is not for you. It is a bit tired in places but for us it added charm and appeal. It is clean, tidy, carefully attended to and has very friendly staff ever willing to help. I have never seen so many beaming smiles. All in all we had a great time. We were prepared for a disappointing time because previous reviews had been quite critical but we can offer nothing but praise sprinkled with some hopefully constructive comments where things were not quite right. We will definitely revisit Barbados but probably try a different resort on a different coast and we will not go all inclusive the next time. This is for no other reason than we like to try different things not because there was a problem with this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high superior ocean front room provided you do not mind climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IanMac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,814 reviews
1.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
9.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Address: Saint James Beach, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $352 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing