We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had not been back for 20 years -this was our honeymoon location 20 years ago. I think the right company finally has the place going in the right direction. Updates are going well and I am sure it will turn around from the previous owners. Great location and wonderful staff make this a place to keep on the list. The dinner meal is a bit busy for plate service but if you will relax and enjoy the island time all will be fine. No need to be in a rush. Snacks between meals are good - but they should have a better way to offer them and in a self serve area if possible. No worry on the rooms - just know you should expect the room that you reserve - no free upgrades and this should be the case anyway a resort. Rooms are just about finished so that should not be an issue. Enjoy the beach, sun and food and take your watch off for the stay and you will enjoy. Water sports are available or do nothing- hard to complain about this place and the staff. They all enjoy their work and want you to relax and rest. Will go back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ccow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,731 - 1,737 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

I was part of the (ten people) mentioned in the review below. Slightly different view on matters. We had a third floor room and did not mind the three flights of steps. Brilliant balcony to sit on overlooking the whole complex as well as being able to sit there and watch the sunrise. The rooms are dated but the beds are big and comfy. The fridge in the room was probably not necessary as you were only provided with packet dried milk for your tea and coffee tray.
There is a lot of refurbishment work going on and I suppose if it affects you then it affects your holiday. Two nights in the hotel there was entertainment and both nights it was very good one night it was a steel band and the second night was a four piece group. Food OK but probably needs someone to look at the menu and give it a re-vamp.
Concur with the comments about the biting insects, they bit me to death but never touched my wife, i'm sure there must be grounds for a divorce somewhere in there!!!!!.
The new management will have to keep a tight hold on the upgrade work as there is so much of it to do if they dont watch over the work and drive it forward it might stagnate and come to a halt which would be a pity as it is in such a nice place and with stong leadership could be a wonderful place to visit.

Room Tip: If you have got legs that will carry you up 36 steps then go for the third floor rooms on the Northe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ian724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We (ten people) have just returned after a three day pre-cruise stay at the Club Barbados, a mixture of the good, the bad, and the ugly. Firstly, the good, nice location, good bar area with
comfy seating, friendly staff eager to please. Secondly the bad, undergoing a much needed revamp which didn't reach our bedroom in time, a depressing old colonial mixture of brown furniture mirror surround and a patio door that took a life time to open and close, worthy of a medal for ingenuity. Similar stuff was being smashed into a skip close to our bedroom from other rooms by the re-fit team. The shower could produce hot water if you set your alarm early, or a good book would suffice until it reached the shower head and then it had a mind of it's own which direction it took. Our friends had to climb to the third floor, no lifts. The food was ... well basic to ample, if you like chicken and gravy your ok whether you get breast or in our case a leg with the gravy depends how lucky you are. The Buffet has some variety but don't expect it to change, and if you leave your table for a second, watch out for the birds they wont miss out on a free lunch the flimsy nets erected to stop them are no match for these sneaky thieves. And now the Ugly, I was amazed at how many people were bitten by insects, me included, I asked at reception for our room to be sprayed, I was told yes, but I new, that as she had not asked for my room number it was a lost cause, she had the hardened look of a woman with more important issues to sort, so we bought the spray ourselves (be warned they bite hard). The beach was a small strip of sand that was edged at the water front by a rock formation that stopped you entering the sea, so a detour was needed not what you were expecting. In conclusion I would give this place chance, to re-brand it's self and smarten up, but it will never have the potential to be a 4/5 star rating.

Room Tip: A ground floor makes it easier as there are no lifts. Take ear plugs for the old noisy air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony186332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

stayed for a 3 night pre-cruise (Dec 2012) originally booked as the Almond Beach but has since been bought out and has been renamed The Club Barbados Resort and is undergoing some very needed refurbishment (parts look tired although very clean). The hotel is in a lovely position and is very attractive in its style, pool area and the restaurant overlooking the sea. The hotel accommodation is on 3 levels (block style) which look attractive, the downside is that there are no lifts which was very difficult as we had been allocated a 3rd floor "roof" room which required a climb up an undesirable wooden open staircase. The following morning we requested a ground or lower floor room and although the hotel agreed to move us this was at an extra charge/cost pp per night (as we hadn't originally requested a low level room). The bedroom/bathroom was clean, lovely big/soft bed, but did look "tired" and needed updating. A fridge (EMPTY) is provided in your room but the hotel doesn't include bottled water or soft drink cans as part of the A/I - this is basic and was POOR! The restaurant is nicely done, self serve buffet, not over exciting menu but you certainly won't go hungry (not 4*). Whilst we were staying there was a wedding (the bride looked stunning!) but I have to say putting a cheap old metal arch and a bit of red carpet in between the sun beds was cheap (the hotel needs to upgrade and provide a designated wedding area tastefully designed - there certainly is the potential).

Overall I would grade this hotel as a 3* but if the improvements continue and the overall standard (tweaking) including the A/I is upgraded then you could then be looking at a 4*. Certainly I don't think you would be disappointed with staying here - it's good, but could be better.

Room Tip: request a ground floor room when booking and save yourself the extra costs if you ask to move accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RWGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

As all the reviews tell you it is under new management. It needs a manager for food and beverage urgently and Enid's restaurant needs to vary it's menu as they have the same menu everyday which limits your choice when you are there for a couple of weeks. Drinks quality is not good all cheap products except for Gordons gin, although we do not drink gin and could not get any drinkable Brandy or Vodka. Then they ran out of ingredients to make basic cocktails. The restaurant also had no fresh fruit on 2 days including no bananas? It is Barbados they are everywhere how can they run out of bananas! There is a lot of money being spent and they told us about all the planned improvements but they did not happen while we were there. Mattress was not comfy and the shower was next to useless a lick of paint will not fix everything. Some staff including managers still think they are with the old "Almond resorts company" and a lot of the old Almond Resort signage remains. They need to move on or they will lose loyal customers. Some managers were trying very hard in particular Kevin the guest relations manager, but he can't do it alone, other managers just didn't seem to care. It could be all so much better and we wish them luck.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BerlindaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

When we finally got to our room, which wasnt ready upon our 4pm arrival, we noticed the shower head was covered in a green mold, the former guests hair, and socks under the chaise lounge. We had booked a suite on the "beach" and were surprised that their priciest room was in that condition. When I use the word beach in quotes, it's because there is little to no actual beach. It is simply a small strip of sand on top of a small cliff, overlooking the rocky water. The sand itself was full of sharp stones, especially right outside of our room. The food was terrible. The menu at their one restaurant never seemed to change as well as the buffet at breakfast and lunch. The lunch menu had what seemed to be the same type of fish, prepared the exact same way every day as well as a salad that was simply iceberg lettuce. I understand that the meals cater towards their mostly British clientele, but there was little to nothing of any nutritional value that wasn't repeated every day. By the 3rd day I couldn't stomach any of it anymore. The drink selection was boring and not made the same way twice.

We had a few issues with our room that required a handy man to be sent. Once, we physically had to walk to the front to remind them to send someone. The handyman arrived to tell us there was nothing he could do and we should continue our stay without something as basic as locking our front door. At one point, the hot water was also turned off for a few hours. There is some repairs being made to the hotel, but hot water is pretty basic and we couldn't believe that the front desk was so flippant about it when we complained.

The dress code was silly. A woman coming off the beach for lunch in a tank top and hat was appropriate but a man would be told to take their hat off. When we asked why, it was because, "she's a lady." We're at the "beach!" Relax with the day time dress code!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorganBayStLucia, Manager at The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

I personally would like to thank you first and foremost for providing us with your feedback about your stay with us. Whilst your comments are most concerning, we always value and appreciate the gift of feedback, and thank you for the time you have taken to post this review. We do hope you will return in the future. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies, that upon arrival this guest room was not ready at the time of arrival. We certainly understand that, after a day of traveling, any delays or inconveniences can be frustrating. Typically, check-in upon arrival is smooth and efficient. Our guests regularly comment that they enjoyed their check-in experience including their complimentary welcome beverage, and the service provided by our front desk staff. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience or delay.

The Club hosts hundreds of very happy guests each week, and we consistently earn excellent reviews amongst our guests. This is because we work very diligently to deliver a relaxing, stress free vacation in a beautiful setting, with some of the friendliest staff in the Caribbean. At The Club we take the comfort and safety of its guests very seriously. We strive to ensure that each guests room is clean, comfortable and safe to the highest standard. Our guests regularly report that they enjoyed their accommodations and amenities.

Our grounds crew rakes & cleans the beach twice daily (early morning and late afternoon), and more often as necessary. But when dealing with a natural environment such as the beach sometimes the ocean's waves can bring in oceanic matter from it. Which is why the resort employs a full-time staff of groundskeepers and gardeners, and the grounds are consistently well-maintained and groomed. Our powdery white sand beach and outstanding landscaping put 'the cherry on top' of the overall experience along with it's sparkling turquoise colored waters.

Like our bar staff, The Club's restaurant and food service staff enjoy a well deserved reputation for providing friendly, & efficient service. Our team takes great pride in our product and service execution. We are very disappointed that you perceived your stay so poorly, especially as it relates to the food & beverage experience. Food is always an emotive subject as ones person's feast is another person's famine. And although the vast majority of guests rave about our friendly services, and the culinary delights of the Chef. We pride ourselves on providing guests with a well-trained staff, which regularly receives compliments on both service and quality of their food and drinks.

Our staff is our biggest asset and we are proud to have such a dedicated group of service minded individuals working at the resort. It is quite unfortunate that the myriad of concerns you had with your stay was not brought to management's attention prior to your departure as we are very confident that we could have resolved any of your concerns.



Warm Regards,

The Staff & Management
The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at this resort from Nov.19th to Dec.3rd. To begin with we knew this resort was rated 3.5*** and in some ways it was less and in some ways it was higher. It is also an adult only resort with 3 storey buildings and no elevators. We were on the 3rd floor of block 4 which was a small room but had a large balcony. There was only a electric kettle to make tea or instant coffee but the bed was a king and we only really slept there. Chef Mathew made great meals & deserts with lots of flavor but there was not much variety day to day or fresh fruit and only 4 juices.Meals seemed to be regimented as far as times went and you better be dressed properly or you were sent to change & looked at sternly and only 2 resturants with one being ala carte. There were 3 small pools & a so called hot tub which severed their purpose to keep you cool in the blistering heat and be sure to towel off before heading to the Pool Bar for a drink or they will tell you to.. Some staff seemed like they were there just to collect a paycheck with only a handfull that would talk and joke with you. Sophia, Vincent, Jade, Heather, Elvis and a couple that their name escapes me, were great but some may be headed to a newly opening resort which will hurt this place. One major problem, were the grounds bathrooms, there are only 2. One was located in the very small, front foyer and the other just off the dance floor. In the time we were here, the men's only toilet by the dance floor was out of service for 1.5 weeks, stunk like urine and the ladies in that same outlet had one down for the last 4.5 days. This ment going all the way up front or back up to your room each time. For an all inclusive resort there was no entertainment staff so you had to entertain yourself. There is virtually no beach except when the tide is out but the snorkling just off the shore was fantastic and we did it almost every day. You can walk right out the front gate, go right and enjoy shopping at the duty free store or walk further down into Holetown. If walking isn't your thing you can ride the Reggie Bus for $1 US or take a taxi. We, 4 of us, rented a taxi for the day @ $40 US an hour, had the kitchen pack us a pinic lunch,free of charge and toured the island and some of its attractions. We would highly recomend Danny for a driver, just ask for him at the front desk. If looking for fun or things to do check out Holetown, Harrison Cave, Crane Beach, The Jolly Roger, Atlantis Submarines, Bridgetown, Swimming With The Turtles, The North East Shore or one of the many beaches or resturants. One of our biggest complainents about the resort was if you are goin to advertise you have something than you should have it wether it is food or drink. On a good note there were changes & improvements going on the entire time we were there from plants/flowers to 1st floor bini tops to new patio & dinning furniture and even some tile work. We wish the management all the best in the future but we will not be returning to this resort.

Room Tip: Check your room 1st before unpacking and make sure it is suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timeseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,812 reviews
1.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
9.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa

Address: Saint James Beach, Barbados (Formerly Almond Beach Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $351 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Club, Barbados! The Club is the only Adults Only All-Inclusive resort in Barbados (all guests must be 16 years of age or older). The Club is located at St. James Beach, on the highly sought after West Coast of Barbados. We offer a terrific variety of guest rooms and suites, a luxurious Spa & Salon, two restaurants, bars, freshwater swimming pools, fitness centre, and much more. Enjoy amazing ocean views, evening entertainment, and a cheerful, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy a cocktail with your fellow guests and explore the best of Barbados. Perfect for couples, honeymoons, friends, girlfriend getaways, spa retreats, and anyone seeking the fun, sun, and relaxation Barbados is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Club And Spa
Almond Beach Club Hotel Saint James
Almond Beach Hotel
Almond Beach Resort All Inclusive
The Club, Barbados Resort And Spa Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing