We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The House by Elegant Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a 6days/5nights stay at The House in Barbados and it was beyond amazing. This was our first trip to the island and it was a great first experience. The House is a small (only 34 rooms) adult only resort on the West Coast. The waters are very calming on this side of the island so it is a perfect location for swimming on the beach. Our room was just as described when we purchased. Contemporary décor with large bathroom and a nice seating area for relaxing and outdoor patio with chaise and table for dining. The hotel restaurant- Daphnes is SUPERB and visited by tourists staying at other resorts and locals as well. The staff are professional, accommodating and friendly. The breakfast that is included offers more than enough choices with some bajan fare, continental foods, hot selecitions and an omelette/eggs benedict station cooked to order. We fell in love with 4pm Tea Time (we are Americans). And enjoyed eating off site for dinner every night we were there based on suggestions from the staff. Its a quiet place but guests are friendly. We took advantage of the free water taxi to the sister properties. They offered a wonderful managers cocktail during our stay which allowed us to meet the other guests. Be careful with the Rum Punch! We had an AWESOME time and are definitely visiting again! Kudos to Joanna, Venita, Katisha and Esther for a fabulously run establishment.

Room Tip: all the rooms are superb - you wont go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LJMHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    63
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
491
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The House is simply fantastic, we have travelled to Barbados in total 25 times and selected The House as a location to get married based on what we had seen on trip advisor, they made our day a very special occasion. Joanna and her team are second to none, special thanks go to Christopher, Andrew, Agnes, to many names to mention......we loved it!
many thanks
Becks and Nige.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

we actually stayed next door so popped in for the dinner. the service was excellent, the setting right on the beach. very peaceful. fantastic food, best id eaten in my 10 day stay to the island. i have lamb chops which was very tender and delish, partner had a veale chop which was huge, with salad. the desserts were even better, i had a pumpkin chocolate tart with amaretto icecream - sooo good!!! partner had crème brullee which was again very tasty. would go back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvergirlpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Level Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our third time to Barbados, first time to West Coast and first time without kids so we decided to go adults only and The House seemed ideal for all our needs. Small boutique hotel.
It's location is good, the beach is spectacular and the ocean was great for swimming.
We drove from the airport and the hotel is very easy to find. We had a warm reception on arrival from all the staff. We were given a rum punch and taken to our room for check-in. Room was great. Good size, modern, very clean, lots of waredrobe space and what a view from our ocean front 3rd floor balcony.
Breakfast was good. Lots of variety.
The little extras also made it special. Champagne at breakfast, afternoon tea, treats on the beach in the afternoon and 30 minute complimentary massage.
Our only complaint would be the ambassador service. It seemed to us very hit and miss. There was not always someone around if you needed anything. On our first night for example the water in our room stopped working. So I rang reception, housekeeping, conceirge, operator and every other button on the telephone but no one answer. In the end I used my mobile to ring the hotel number which eventually was answered. However within a couple of days we accepted that we were in Barbados and went with the flow and pace of island life.
Also forgot to mention the free water sports. We took advantage of the water skiing, snorkling and hobcat sailing.
All in all a very nice place which we would highly recommend and would return to.

Room Tip: top floor ocean view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollySK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Suiza
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I came back from our anniversary holiday yesterday. We spent 11 days in Barbados, in 3 different hotels.
First stop was The House, and it was the PERFECT choice. The location first: on the idilic west coast, with the most famous restaurants very close by. The hotel has a small beautiful beach, equipped with umbrellas, chairs and towels. Moreover, plenty of watersports are included in the stay such as SUP, water skiing, wake board, kayak, etc... So you won't get bored if you are tired of sunbathing.
The hotel itself is decorated with taste, the rooms are very nice (the beds a bit too short?) and wifi works everywhere. You get a lot of complimentary things: bottle water (tap water in Barbados is perfectly fine), a welcome drink, champagne at breakfast (I have lived for 2 years in the Champagne region of France, so I know what I am talking about, and I can tell you it is real and good champage - PIPER), afternoon tea with cakes, a fantastic anti-jet-lag massage, etc...The bathroom: shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, body cream, etc...
The staff is very good, discreet and not intrusive at all.
The only thing we didn't enjoy that much is the restaurant Daphne. The quality is good for some dishes (fish tartar) but quantities are usually small, and some other times the quality is just ok (again, Daphne is an italian restaurant with an italian chef... but having also lived in Italy it doesn't reach our standards), while the prices are like if it was more than excellent... But this is something you have to get used in Barbados: high prices. Be ready to spend! And it was low season...don't want to think how much it is in high...
In all, if we come back to Barbados, The House will be definitely again one of our choices to relax and get pampered! Thank you very much, specially to our Ambassador Cherry Ann who was fantastic!

Room Tip: if you chose garden view, try to ask the ones that have a private mini-pool, it looks fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

So this was a tricky travel. We originally booked a week at the Turtle Beach hotel, also by Elegant Hotels. When we got there we knew it wasn't going to work out . Million kids , a zoo buffet, etc.. We took our luggage and went straight to The House. And thats where our wonderful vacation began. Since The Turtle Beach and The House are part of the same Elegant group, The House manager immediately transferred us. No questions, no problems. The house was beautiful, couples only, great food, great atmosphere, wonderful people, beautiful beach. Everything was spot on!!! We travel a lot and by far, this is the best staff we've ever seen. Everyone was extremely attentive and helpful. From the manager to a busboy. If you want to dine else where around the town, look thru a big black book in a lounge, it tells you about all the top restaurants around the island, that have wonderful food.
Make a very long review short. It's a great location, close to lime grove, close to some of the top restaurants on the island. Great beach with different water sports, and most importantly amazing staff.
We are definitely coming back!!!!

Shout out to Joanna, Katisha, Andrew, and the rest of The House family for making our stay superb!!

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for amazing ocean views ;;))
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsWilson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at The House and cannot wait to go back. It is a perfect place to relax and feel completely spoiled! The rooms are beautiful and kept spotlessly clean at all times. Nothing is too much trouble for Joanna and her brilliant team, they are always friendly and happy to do whatever required to make your stay even more enjoyable. The special touches, such as being met on arrival by ambassadors with a welcome drink, complimentary massage, champagne breakfast every morning and daily afternoon tea, make this hotel very unique. Whether you prefer the beach or the pool there are always plenty of sunbeds and towels available. Overall a fantastic place to stay and experience the wonderful island of Barbados. Huge thanks to Joanna, Andrew, Anthony, Teddy, Christopher, Wade, Jennifer, Raul and all the staff, look forward to seeing you again soon! Maria and Dave Lacey

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazzaranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.1 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
2.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
9.7 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House by Elegant Hotels

Property: The House by Elegant Hotels
Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House by Elegant Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House experience begins when guests enter along an enchanting private driveway, with lily ponds and walls of blossoming bougainvillea, which capture the essence of tranquillity and the promise of pure indulgence ahead. Through the hotel's wooden doors guests are treated to a stunning and unobstructed view of its white sandy beach and the ocean ahead. The open plan lobby is designed to capture the relaxed and inviting charm of the island - one that is sophisticated, yet informal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The House by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Saint James
The House Saint James
The House Barbados
Saint James The House
House Barbados
The House By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing