We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The House by Elegant Hotels
Nearby Hotels
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fairmont Royal Pavilion(Porters)(Great Value!)
$742
$526
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Seasons Resort Europa(Sunset Crest)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lantana Resort(Weston)(Great Value!)
$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
$464
$422
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
$570
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels(Paynes Bay)(Great Value!)
$489
$391
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legend Garden Condos(Lower Carlton)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sandpiper(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
$519
$441
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveler rating
555
71
19
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
555
71
19
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne breakfastice creamafternoon teajet lag massagecleaning your sunglassesrum punchcold towelsthe cliffnothing is too much troubleour honeymoonlittle extrascherry annfresh fruitegg stationeggs cooked to orderwelcome drinkwhole team
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
619 - 624 of 656 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Wonderful hotel, terrific and helpful staff, lovely beach, great champagne breakfasts. A hidden jewel. The recent revamp has lifted the look and feel of the place. Should not say much more about the hotel - need to ensure there is space there the next time we wish to visit!

Room Tip: Avoid the area near the reception. Can get a bit noisy in the evenings.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I am surprised that The House isn't much higher up the rankings for hotels in Barbados as we found it absolutely superb.

The sea view room was fantastic - great size, and waking up to the view every morning was wonderful.

The staff were helpful, the breakfast great. The beach area was nice (it is quite a narrow beach).
The staff regularly brought round water when you were on the beach or at the pool, or you could always pop to the bar if you needed more. Afternoon tea was nice (we only had it once, but most guests partook regularly) and the jet lag massage was very good. Turndown service was great with more water and little treats each evening. The gym was quite small (we were training for a marathon), but you could use the gym at the Tamarind next door and this was more than sufficient.

The location is extremely convenient for some fantastic restaurants. Daphne's is next door, Scarlet's directly opposite, the Cliff just 500m down the road.

We would definitely recommend hiring a car to have a drive round the island, and definitely visit the beaches on the south coast - we loved Miami beach.

We would definitely return to the House.

Room Tip: An upgrade to the sea view rooms really is worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SB1981_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Have just enjoyed our 5th time staying at The House, this hotel is exceptional as are the staff!! I would like to say a very big thank you to Agnes, Christopher, Rawle, Teddy, Kerri, Anthony, Jamal and Jennifer and everyone else at The House for making our stay just as memorable as the first time we came. It has been... The the new refit is very Good on of the best Hotels in Barbados

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crossfire007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

There is really nothing more that I can add to all of the glowing reviews! It is true that The House is just as fabulous this year as it was last year.
Hmmm - the only downside I can see is that when you find a place that has an amazing staff (Joanna Rottenberg and her top notch team), a fabulous beach, a hip vibe (without trying too hard), a great daily complimentary champagne breakfast, interesting and friendly fellow guests, comfy beds etc etc etc you might be sadly disappointed to every want to and check out other places.
For us, this is the best place to just go and chill out for a week. They never disappoint!!!
The only reason in my rating below I give average to value is that it is a little pricey but maybe it was just because we were there over the holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShelleyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Christmas and New Year at the House has been all we hoped for.
Lovely location, excellent service - staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, lots of quiet times and places..perfect relaxation. A huge thanks to the staff for looking after us so well.

The food comes from Daphne's and we preferred eating at the House rather than at Daphne's - service there very patchy, forgetful staff and disorganised. The food itself was mostly really good. The fish dishes were really enjoyed.

So some lovely candlelit dinners listening to the sea...a perfect romantic setting.
New Year's fireworks were great...the way to see in 2013

We appreciated the little touches from the hotel - the Christmas present and farewell present, the little box of chocolates in the room at night.

We loved it and will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews