We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food and a good welcome”
Review of Ramshackle Bar - CLOSED

Ramshackle Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tasty food and a good welcome”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had read about Ramshackles on trip advisor so went to try it out last night. The atmosphere was welcoming and the staff and especially the owner were very friendly and helpful. It was great to be so close to the beach and sea while eating dinner and we enjoyed our dinner very much. The food was freshly cooked and very tasty. We had chicken and the fish in our party and would recommend both. It's a great place for an informal relaxed dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allie625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polshackle, Owner at Ramshackle Bar, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind and honest comments, we aim to please and are happy you enjoyed Ramshackle, hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    44
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely !!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Fantstic place, very relaxed.
We had a few evening meals here, and they where tasty and very reasonably priced.
We spent Christmas day here too and it was amazing, all the staff where lovely and a very welcoming reception every time we went. Lovely beech fantastic views.
Thanks to Maxine and all the staff for a wonderful Christmas day x

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laineykiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ramshackles goes from Strength to Strength”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Regularly holiday in Barbados and Ramshackles our favourite beach venue.
Seems to get busier each year but still a warm welcome to everyone.
Good beach with sunbeds available and handy bar with good food.
We find if we have lunch there (at very competitive prices) we do not bother with an evening meal.
Last night's Full Moon Beach Barbeque was really great.
Total experience gives a real taste of what one imagines a Carribean holiday is all about.
Jaffa

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grahamgorringe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polshackle, Owner at Ramshackle Bar, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you "Jaffa" what a great evening the full moon party was, all ages enjoyed themselves tremendously - we aim to at giving good service and a fun time, glad we acheived it.

See you soon hopefully. Pauline x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A vital part of each day!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just the best place to sink a cold beer at sunset. Took the kids every evening and always met with a warm welcome. Food superb as well and fairly priced. Ramshackle was a big part of a great holiday!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewFarrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Low Key, Relaxed, Ideal Place to Chill”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had read about Ramshackles before we left and meant to visit but our first visit was accidental. We stopped off somewhere else for dinner and they weren’t serving but they recommended Ramshackles and called ahead to make sure they would stay open until we arrived. That's the hospitality and friendliness in Barbados that I fell in love with.

When we arrived there was only one other table just finishing up dinner but we didn’t feel rushed by the staff. The food was excellent (Ceasar salad followed by their Jumbo Shrimp, with delicious macaroni pie) and the view over the beach and ocean was just lovely.

We went back the next day, for the beach, renting sun chairs and an umbrella from the beach boys. The beach is beautiful and the water fairly shallow – ideal for swimming and snorkelling with turtles, which we did. And always ideal to pop up to the bar for a drink or something to eat at any time throughout the day. And the drinks – especially the rum & ginger or rum & sprite – are really inexpensive plus there is a happy hour from 4-6 if I recall correctly. In fact, it was so nice, we spent another day – our last day in Barbados – at Ramshackles. It was hard to leave.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EW1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramshackle Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Prospect, Saint James Parish
Mount Standfast, Saint James Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing