We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for The House”
Review of Scarlet

Scarlet
Reserve with OpenTable
Scarlet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $65
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient for The House”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Quirky little place, fun decor. Decent food not too fancy. Laid back service like most of the island! No windows which may put some people off.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GBBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    173
    42
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cliffside Park, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New York Feel in the Caribbean!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great local bar. Upscale with fantastic cocktails. The atmosphere is chill and classic with a New York City feel inside. Step outside and your just a short road across from the ocean.

Try the Flirtini!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem with Local Flair”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Looking for a small, intimate space that feels like somewhere only the locals go? That's Scarlet. A fantastic menu with hand crafted cocktails that shouldn't be missed. **If you like burgers, theirs is to die for.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYtrvlgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice night....but...”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had a nice night, one bartender was really friendly and spoke to us for a while, burgers were good, we got drinks and an appetizer. When we got the bill were surprised to see that they took to liberty of adding gratuity in addition to the 12.5% VAT, all in adding another $100 Bds ($50 US). Our total bill came out to about $400 bds ($200 US) for a couple of burgers and drinks, granted we did order 4 shots of patron for another couple which came to $60 bds ($30 US), but still couldn't believe for a couple of burgers the bill was that much. Not sure I would recommend this place or go again, as there are other options with views and cheaper food and I'm not too happy about the fact that they added their own gratuity to the bill.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank EAS142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenge, Owner at Scarlet, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Sir,
We just wanted to clarify that we did not ADD the VAT in addition to the bill amount. The VAT (value added tax) is INCLUDED in our prices on our menu. It is just simply broken down on the receipt.
Our service charge IS the ONLY charge added to the bill. So, there is no way that you were charged an extra $100, it does say that it is discretionary and that is clearly written on the menu as well. I am sorry but you are mistaken.
I am also sorry that you did not feel you could discuss this at the time...we could have easily clarified it for you and taken off the discretionary service charge if you did not want to pay it.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good night with a couple of kinks”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We wish we could rate this as just "good." It wasn't "very good," but it was better than average. We went to Scarlet to celebrate hubby's birthday. It was cosy, funky and lively, but at times to the point of being noisier than I tend to prefer. The food was very good, as were the drinks. I agree with another reviewer in that near the end of the night it kinda felt like some of the staff wanted us to leave. It was before 11. I observed it without saying anything but then the others started to discuss it. Even though dessert was offered by our very pleasant waiter we felt like we were being eyed by some of the other staff. Didn't really expect that since it seemed like a bar and no closing time was indicated. That aside, it was enjoyable enough and a place we will likely visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeautyEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarlet also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Mullins, Saint Peter Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Scarlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing