We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't see what the good reviews are for ??”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Scarlet

Scarlet
Reserve with OpenTable
Scarlet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $65
Cuisines: Caribbean, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portugal
Level Contributor
406 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“can't see what the good reviews are for ??”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Booked after seeing good reviews on TA
When we arrived I thought after several disappointments on west coast dining at last , the place was buzzing full to the rafters with a good feel .
Then we met the waitress who ushered us to an outside corridor (dreadful entry like a village hall) to wait for our table although we were on time.
The area made you feel like you were in school detention , to add insult to injury we were asked if we would like a drink while we waited in the "naughty room"
After 15 minutes in the naughty room we were shown to our table which was enclosed by other couples but not a problem to us.

The menu arrives ? Slight surprise are we at McDonalds ? Or Burger King ?not exactly the most inventive menu when you are a stones throw from the Caribbean ocean.

However we have to accept you have cater for all sorts and particularly due to location our American cousins.

The only thing that gave any idea of local cuisine was Bajan Welsh rarebit to begin Ok we will try that
And for main prawn curry we both said ideal.

In between the highlight of the evening was the wine list ardberg Aussie Shiraz.

The starter arrives six tiny pieces of cheese on toast no Bajan flavouring oh dear what next ?

Prawn curry medium sized prawns x6 Dr Who style back to the 70's vesta job what a p**s take.

We Cannot believe that people accept this type of scam ? It's not a brain teaser 2 to 3 half decent restaurants in this vicinity thousands of people = captive audience take the bus or a taxi to holetown

Helpful?
Thank Weldge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenge, Owner at Scarlet, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear TA reviewer,

We take all criticism seriously on TA and otherwise & ALWAYS try to rectify the situation.
However…there are exceptions when we just put our hands up and say that some people cannot be pleased - this is such a time.

Your first attempt to review us was taken down by TA due to the profanity used. When one must resort to using such language when giving a review of an experience we personally cannot hold that review with any weight.

I will say that 7 years owning & running a very successful restaurant with 15,000 ppl a year through our small space…really says a lot and quite the opposite to the ‘scam’ that you purport.

The ‘Village Hall’ that you refer too - I have never been in to a village hall with art and mirrors on the walls, cushions on the stools, and lit candles.

Where we do not profess to be perfect by any means…we are what we are - A modern bistro, low-key, fun, loud and great for a good night out. We are mid-priced and because we have homemade beef burgers on our menu – must we be compared to McDonalds? Are you forgetting that we have a Barbadian population that dines out and may not want the typical Caribbean fair all the time? 50% of our trade is local business.

Glad you enjoyed the wine – It’s d’Arenberg.

Good day to you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    170
    41
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good fun”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Good cocktails and better that I imagined food. Good service. Excellent wine. No view and quite small but it didn't matter. A fun place to go out with friends. I loved the vintage Vogue wallpaper in the toilets!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Listentome999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our first time, we will return”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Viewed from the outside, you might pass by this small red building. Go inside!
The name Scarlet says it all- the outside of the building is red and the walls inside are a deep, rich scarlet red.
On the wall behind the bar, which spans the entire of one side of the room, hangs reproductions of Warhol's Jackie Kennedy Onassis paintings. On the opposite side of the room, lined with small tables on a raised floor, are reproductions of Warhol's Marilyn Monroe paintings.

They have an extensive cocktail list and our Lust Martinis, their version of the Cosmo, was delightful.

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food here. Two of us had appetizers. The Sesame Prawn Toast was served so cleverly in a ceramic Chinese takeout container with two bowls of dipping sauce on the side. The Cajun and Panko Crusted Chicken Strips were served stacked on a small plate with the delicious pesto mayo dipping sauce. Both were superb.

The mahi mahi fresh catch and sirloin steak were big hits with the guys, both of them pronouncing them some of the best they have ever had.

Scarlet is small, so I would recommend reservations. We will be visiting there again next year.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bookchickdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good and different dining experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner at this restaurant on the West Coast of Barbados - indoor without sea views but didn't matter! The food was reasonably priced and very tasty with a slightly oriental feel. Service excellent. Great atmosphere and full to the rafters unsurprisingly as the restaurant is quite small. Would definitely put this on our list of top restaurants in Barbados

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More please”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

After 8 days of fine dining and much of it overpriced in Barbados a little bit of research led us to Scarlet, the brucie bonus being that it was actually opposite where we were staying at the House.

Don't be put off by the unassuming small shed like building painted red so that you can't miss it, inside its a vibrant buzzy restaurant.

The staff are friendly and not pushy and the bar staff know how to make cocktails. No pre made over syrupy mixes here, Scarlets make their cocktails with fresh ingredients.

My better half ordered the seared tuna with marinated cucumber of her starters and it was delicious. The cucumber on the the right side of sweet and sour went well with the tuna. I ordered fish cakes and these were the best that I have had during our stay here.

Next up Rachel broke away from the fish diet and had the fried chicken with mash. Again another winner, this was really well cooked the Bajan spices flavoursome and not over spicy. I went for the catch of the day blackened Mahi Mahi, again another bullseye.

We finished off with the equivalent of an espresso martini, a perfect end to a very good meal.

Barbados needs more restaurants like this with the focus on local cooking and well priced, this is a must visit for anyone.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarlet also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Scarlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing