We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, small restaurant with "interesting" decor.”
Review of Scarlet

Scarlet
Reserve with OpenTable
Scarlet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $65
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, small restaurant with "interesting" decor.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very accomodating. We didn't have a reservation, but they squeezed us in and fed us before things got busy. It was our first day on the island, so we really appreciated the extra effort. Food is as good as can be expected (fresh beef, pork and other meats are hard to come by on Barbados) and better than most. Very well prepared and presented. Would return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    173
    42
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“small and eclectic”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Late booking and had to sit at the bar which was no hardship. I heard lots about it last year and didnt make it. This year the food was good, great staff and great cocktails. relaxed setting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great addition to the Barbados foodie scene”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have eaten in Scarlet numerous times since it opened and have to say after The Cliff and Sandy Lane's infamous Caribbean buffet - this is a favourite of mine.

If like me you are a lover of good food and great cocktails - this place is a must!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IEatToLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Unusual but great!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Doesn't look much from the outside - a bright scarlet, wooden shack - but when you get inside..there is plenty more scarlet paint but the atmosphere is electric. Its not a very large restaurant and other than one long comfy bench seat with tables along its length, most of the other tables have bar stool height seating. There is also seating along the bar. It was a very busy restaurant, frequented by tourists and locals - obviously a popular place! The noise levels were quite high due to the number of bodies and music. As the place was so busy I was worried that service would be slow - I was very wrong! Amongst the crowds busy waitering staff weave amongst the tables and ensure you are always topped up with water and swiftly bring out the food. The food was really excellent and slightly better value than some of the other nearby restaurants.
On previous visits to Barbados I have always wanted to try Scarlet's but never got there - this time I did and enjoyed it... I'll be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarperG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A 'must' in Barbados”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We visit Barbados multiple times a year and every trip without equivocation we go to Scarlet (often more than once!) The vibrant atmosphere, attentive service and the amazing food, all keep us coming back, time after time! Needless to say we've already booked for Christmas!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Free_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarlet also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Mullins, Saint Peter Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Scarlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing