We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding winter getaway in a beautiful setting!”
Review of Royal Westmoreland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint James Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Westmoreland
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding winter getaway in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our group of 6 adults and 2 small kids just spent 7 nights in a 3-bedroom Royal Villa at Royal Westmoreland. We all had a fantastic (and very relaxing) vacation and none of us would hesitate to go back again! Each of our party has travelled extensively all over the world and we were thoroughly impressed both with the spacious, tastefully-decorated villa and with all of the facilities at RW. In addition, the staff were all very helpful and universally friendly. Among the many highlights was the outstanding cooking of Malcolm, the chef provided by RW to cook for us on 4 occasions when we requested his services (he isn't cheap, but you end up with a top-restaurant quality meal - for about half what it would cost in a good Holetown restaurant - in your own villa, and don't have to do any cleaning up afterwards!).
Some of the comments on TripAdvisor about RW being isolated or deserted are pretty inaccurate in our opinion. It's actually in a great location up the hill from the West Coast, with stunning views out of over the Caribbean Sea and, while it's hardly isolated, it is a quiet and peaceful place (which we saw as a big advantage, especially with Holetown only a 5-10 min drive away). We rented a car and would strongly recommend that anyone visiting Barbados do so, whether staying at RW or anywhere else; there's so much to see on this beautiful island that remaining confined to a resort for your entire visit would be pretty silly. Also, having a car makes getting around RW and to/from either Holetown or Mullins Beach a lot easier (the only small criticism we would make is that it would be worthwhile to offer golf cart rentals to guests staying in villas, since this would make it a little easier to get around the complex without having to hop in your car; having said that, from Royal Villa #3 it was no more than a 10-min walk to the Clubhouse/Guest Services office, which is the central hub of RW). Finally, a quick word about the beach: despite some of the negative comments on TripAdvisor, we thought Mullins was a very good beach with crystal-clear calm blue water, which is especially good for families with young children (we never had any problem getting loungers for all 6 of us, although that probably had to do with it being late January, when no one is on school vacation/holidays in North America or the UK). The Mullins Beach Cafe is excellent (and decent value by Barbados standards), with drink service straight to your loungers down on the sand. It's a pretty narrow beach, but that seemed to be the case at almost all West Coast beaches which we saw in Barbados. Admittedly, it's a 10 min drive from the main RW property, but we were quite happy to spend a few hours down at the beach most mornings and then retreat to our gorgeous villa up the hill, with our own private pool and terrific views, for the afternoon. At the end of the day, it's a trade-off: if you absolutely want the beach only 200 yards from your room, then maybe you should stay somewhere else (but then you won't get the beauty, tranquility and much better value of RW, with a terrific golf course at your fingertips).

PS: if you love golf, the course at RW is very good, and the golf-inclusive villa packages are great value. But it's also worth trying the outstanding layout at Apes Hills, which is only 5-10 mins further up the hill; it's a pretty expensive course to play, but the scenery at Apes Hills is extraordinary and the course is in fantastic shape (even though the greens were a bit slow).

Room Tip: Royal Villas #2 and #3 appear to have the best views (of the Caribbean) of all the Royal Villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicksinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    21
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
62
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

we have just returned from a 2 week stay at Royal Westmorland over the Christmas and New Year period. our villa was really lovely and the chef Malcolm and housekeeping staff were excellent. we are regulars to the island and wanted to try the Westmoreland experience and I am sorry to say we were a bit disappointed. there is not much happening on site and it was generally a bit quiet. the beach at Mullens is not good and we found the beach vendors aggressive. we travelled down to Paynes bay beach each day which is much better and has good facilities. you definitely need a car when staying here as it is a bit out on a limb. we were part of a large party so had a great time, but we would not go back as we prefer to be nearer to Holetown and Paynes Bay beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tattybEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan462, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, glad to hear that you enjoyed your villa and felt that the staff provided a good service.

Royal Westmoreland prides itself on offering relaxing holiday breaks away from the hustle and bustle of the busier areas of the island. However we do provide the opportunity to enjoy spa treatments at The Indulgence Spa, a round of golf on our world class golf course, a game of tennis and lunch at the clubhouse.

Mullins Beach is very popular and enjoyed by many making it extremely busy during the height of the holiday season on Barbados. Sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with the beach vendors, as with every beach in Barbados Mullins beach is public therefore we are not able to manage the vendors that frequent it.

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your entire holiday experience, we sincerely hope that this will not put you off returning to the island in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at westmorelands over new year ... We had a 3 bedroom villa with our own pool and house Keeper and cool who were both great! Malcolm's food was delicious. So service wasn't a problem although I did miss tag convenience of room device etc.
The main problem I had with this place was that it's a little secluded and out of the way of anything. Great if you want peace and quiet but it's still a little strange as the villa we were in is In a little chl dr sac type environment .
The house was clean enough but the outside garden area and terrace was dirty ... It was covered on bird poo and so were the sun beds which had no covers on them ... The pool was freezing cold too. So my daughter didn't get in which was a waste.
We decided to check out amenities but they were not so great .. The beach attached to west morelands (Mullins beach ) was crowded and people were literally on top of one another. So we didn't stay long.
The food at the beach bar was
great though!
Overall I wouldn't stay again .. Might be good for people with young a babies but not teens ... It's a little dull.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan462, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback.

Royal Westmoreland have maintenance staff on call everyday and we are confident that any issues that are raised with them are actioned at their earliest opportunity. This response may unfortunately be delayed in peak season periods.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring the matters you outline below to our attention and apologise for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. It is our goal to consistently provide excellent service and accommodations and your feedback is very important to us. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Unfortunately during peak season all beaches on the island do get very busy. The provision of sun loungers on Mullins Beach is managed on a first come first served basis to ensure they are distributed fairly.

A copy of this file has been made available to Senior Management for their records. I know they share our vision of providing the best customer experience possible and I am confident they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our villa Coral blu was nice and spacious, the cook Deborah is very good and the maid is Nice. Do not let them wash your nice cloth.

Staff from Westmoreland , the worst!!! One morning at the gym a man said to me: "we do not recognize you can we see your ID.
The beach staff from westmoreland is far the WORST!!! At the beach don t count on ChairsWe were given 3 chairs after 30 minutes for the four of us. No food or coffees served on the beach only for preferred guests. We are given a card when we arrived and I suppose it is not the same colour as the owners so the service is different. For the $$ $$$ we paid we did not have the service we expected. Our pool was dirty for 2 days and this morning I have a mouse in it no skimmer to remove it myself. How long will it take to remove it who knows?
The spa is run down we maid reservation and cancelled.
Not"royal" at all

Room Tip: This is not from a golfer point of view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sabreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan462, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback.

We have over 150 luxury villas here at Royal Westmoreland many of which are privately owned and rented via external companies who are responsible for their management and maintenance. The villa that you stayed in is privately owned and not managed by Royal Westmoreland, therefore the maintenance of the swimming pool is not Royal Westmoreland's responsibility.

We take extreme pride in the cleanliness of our rental villas, swimming pools and golf course all of which we guarantee when you book via our direct rental programme. Unfortunately we cannot be held responsible for maintenance issues at the privately owned villas on the estate.

The levels of membership available at private villas does also vary unlike the villas on our direct rental programme which all come complete with Royal Westmoreland Membership allowing access to all of the Royal Westmoreland facilities.

A number of the privately rented villas do not have memberships available, therefore guests staying in these villas are not entitled to use the Gym, Beach Club or other Royal Westmoreland facilities. Due to this situation all staff are instructed to verify house guests cards to ensure only those who have paid for the leisure memberships are using the facilities. We are sure you can appreciate that with over 150 villas, during peak season it would be impossible for staff to recognise all guests when carrying out these routine checks.

Mullins Beach, like all beaches in Barbados is a public beach and Royal Westmoreland is therefore only allowed to place loungers in a designated area. Within peak season this area does fill up extremely quickly and therefore sun loungers are allocated on a first come first served basis to ensure they are distributed fairly. We can assure you that no discrimination or preference is applied to individuals based on the type of card that they have purchased.

Mullins Beach Bar is privately managed and it is their policy to only serve cold drinks on the beach and food in the restaurant only. However as a Royal Westmoreland guest you are given the choice to eat either within the restaurant or on the private deck which is reserved exclusively for Royal Westmoreland Members and Guests.

We hope that this explains why some of the situations detailed above have occurred. If you would prefer to book one of our villas direct in the future please contact our Reservations Team via the link bellow and they will be more than happy to assist.

http://www.royalwestmoreland.com/contact
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in a Royal 3 bed villa which overlooked the pool. The villa was very large and spacious and exceptionally clean. Housekeeping attended the property every morning and did a very thorough job, even offering to do our laundry. There was excellent wifi connection throughout. The grounds are beautiful and incredibly well maintained.
The nearby pool was always very quiet with plenty of sun loungers.
The beach facilities were very good with plenty of parking and sunloungers/umbrellas/towels were provided free of charge to Westmoreland guests.
We hired a car for the duration of our stay, which given the location of our villa was, in my opinion, a necessity. We were there in the off season though, so maybe the shuttle service would be better in the high season.
We were offered 12 complimentary rounds of golf during our stay and my husband and two sons really enjoyed the course. Lunch at the clubhouse was pretty good value and the setting was lovely.
If we return to Barbados, then we will almost definitely return to the Royal Westmoreland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjhmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just come back from Royal Westmoreland's in Barbados!! Amazing place facilities were second to none! The resort facilities were fantastic the villas are central in st. James we hired a car for convenience as there is a very long walk to the beach although the resort offers guests a regular bus shuttle to and from the beach.
I cannot wait to go back!! I'd rather hire a villa than stay in a hotel as there are so many place to eat.... Highly recommended!!! Resort, vill and staff were 5*****

Room Tip: Forest Hills Villas have there own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed in a private residence and loved the views and all the facilities. VERY luxurious and beautiful grounds. Cannot fault the location......wonderful in every way. All the attractions on Barbados are within easy reach and this makes a perfect base to explore the island. The facilities at Mullins are included for Westmoreland members and you can use the private areas at Mullins with free sun beds and umbrellas on the beach. It's really idyllic!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
2.7 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,049 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
2.6 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#13 of 26 in Saint James Parish
293 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,029 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Westmoreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Westmoreland

Property: Royal Westmoreland
Address: St James, 24023, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Westmoreland is an exclusive Barbados estate and country club, a gated community of luxury homes and holiday villas with exceptional facilities, including the world-class Royal Westmoreland championship 18 hole golf course. Spread across 750 acres of lush tropical landscape in the Parish of St James overlooking the Platinum coast, Royal Westmoreland offers the ultimate Caribbean lifestyle, for a holiday or for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Westmoreland Hotel Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing