We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”
Review of Royal Westmoreland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Westmoreland
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently stayed at Royal Westmoreland for my honeymoon and it was Amazing so wanted to let everyone know :)
The bookings team in the UK could not help me enough from start to finish with booking requests, flights with Virgin and Obviously, most important, to make sure there was a nice cold bottle of Banks beer waiting for us in the fridge when we got there!!! We managed to get a fantastic offer and looking to book for this Summer with friends as there is still availability!

The accommodation ( Celebrity Villa ) is top class far better than the villa my “friend” had booked privately, our location was better and standard much better. Most importantly my husband is a golfer and to have golf included as well as discounts on Food and spa is brilliant.

Lastly just wanted to mention the concierge on resort, they really are brilliant - My husband had to have a tooth out and they were so helpful booking a appointment with a reputable dentist and even drawing a map! (I must mention you have NO access to concierge if you book privately (although some advertise they do!) ).

All in all a Amazing honeymoon and cant wait to go back :)

Room Tip: I would highly recomend any of the Celebrity ( Exclusive ) Villas - Any of the Royal Villas are gorg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank becz_kiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    21
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
63
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've been to Barbados before and always stayed in All Inclusive hotels so this was a bit of a change. We found our Villa directly and saved ourselves about £3,000! Lovely Villa right next to the golf clubhouse and the gym suited us perfectly. We had two rounds of golf included in the price of our stay, but you can use the excellent practice facilities any time - so it was just perfect for us. We went to the private beach area on two or three occassions which was fine - although it's right on the road. Ventured out in the car on other days and found other beaches on the east side. Eating out was very expensive - we've been sheltered by the all inclusives in the past - so take advantage of the maid service. Our Beverny was a really great cook - meaning we ate real baradian cuisine, which is what we wanted anyway. We'd certainly go back if we were in a group and golfing, but might stick to hotels as a couple in terms of value for money.

Room Tip: Try booking direct with owners for a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BridgetR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Royal Westmorelands is absolutely the place for you if you want luxury, privacy, easy access to St James and flexibility. We stayed in a Royal Villa for 12 days, 2 couples, and it was so lovely. We had a beautiful view of the sea, the best maid service ever and a beautifully clean villa that was like a home from home.

It was my husband's 40th whilst we were there and the staff bent over backwards with all of our requests....decorating the villa whilst we were out that day, arranging a days fishing, organising a private chef for the evening and booking a guy that played the steel drums for us. The day could not have been better and it was thanks to the staff of RWM that made it complete.

Our husbands are big golfers and have played lots of amazing courses but they were blown away by the course, the service and the staff. They played Sandy Lane as well but couldn't fault the RWM approach. Myself and my friend went to Sandy Lane for lunch whilst the guys played golf and having pondered about booking there for a holiday, RWM would win hands down if there was a choice.

RWM is in a great location, close to lots of lovely restaurants and of course, the supermarkets as we're self catering. We did hire a car which is almost imperative.

Mullins beach? Questionable. A nice lunch and beautiful sunset but we didn't go there to sit on the beach as our villa was so much better.

We have vowed to go back. If a self catering holiday is your thing in an amazing setting but close to the great St James restaurants then this is your thing.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Visited this accommodation with a group of friends and stayed in a Royal Villa. The villa was spectacular, the daily housekeeping was awesome and the amenities were just fabulous.

The on site facilities including the gym and concierge are second to none. The staff are extremely friendly and will do anything for you. The concierge can find anything for you - seriously challenge them!!

The off site facility (private Mullins beach) was again just spectacular!! Free private members parking and entrance to the beach. On arrival you are immediately shown to your sun lounger with towel and advised that if you need anything to put your yellow flag on and the waiters will come and serve you. Cocktails on the beach without moving - brilliant!! The food at the restaurant is also lovely.

If you don't have a car staff if available will also pick you up from your villa and take you on site anywhere you want in a golf buggy.

Definitely worth a stay, I relaxed the moment I booked in!!

Room Tip: Anywhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Putock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

rentedaround rented a 2 bed villa on the Royal Westmoreland estate that lives up to all expectations. the villa was well appointed and tastefully furnished with large open plan living/kitchen/dining area and large terrace overlooking the 10th tee and the Caribbean sea beyond.
The villa has 2 large bedrooms, both with en-suite's and both are air conditioned.
As a renter, you are entitled to use all the facilities and get discounted green fees for this great golf course.
This Villa also comes with a fantastic house keeper, Francina who is larger tha life and will make sure you are truly welcomed, nothing is too much trouble for her.
I would highly recommend a visit as you are well located for all the West Coast attractions and only 30 minutes away from the South Coast bustle.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IanBTotteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We visited Royal Westmoreland 3 years ago staying in a royal villa which is a three bedroomed villa. This time we stayed on forest hills in a two bedroomed spacious villa. Some things have changed which I think reflects the fact that when we came before the RW was in the top five places to stay and now it's struggling to get in the top ten. Three years ago the housekeeper who looked after the villa washed and ironed your clothes so you had no washing to take back. Not that I need this service but if you have experienced this before and then it is no longer included then you feel somewhat disappointed. The sanctuary swimming pool and bar area was a little disappointing. Last time we visited the staff were very motivated. But they came across as apathetic this time. One guy sat in a small office making sure you were a member as you walked in but felt it was ok to just point at sun bed cushions and towels and leave you to it to sort out your umbrella etc. To put this in to context there were no more than 16 people around the pool so he was hardly rushed off his feet. If this resort is to continue marketing Itself as a five star holiday destination it has to address these issues . On a more positive note the RW is still a fabulous place to stay. Accommodation is first class. The grounds of the resort are impeccable. The plants and trees are perfectly manicured. The guest services and clubhouse staff are fantastic. Special mentions are Chris, Natalie, Karen and Pat. There is a shuttle bus to mullins beach where RW own a part of the beach bar. The sunbed service there is fabulous. There is also a spa at the beach with a fabulous small pool with a waterfall. If you come here to stay you have to remember it is not a hotel. Lots of people live here permanently. It's a world class golfing destination. It lacks atmosphere because of this. But if you want a quiet peaceful holiday with great views and good amenities I would have no hesitation in
recommending a stay here. You will however need a car.

Room Tip: royal villas are large approximate 2500 square feet. The 2 bed forest hills and cassia heights villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank patentattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan462, Chief Executive Officer at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your views about Royal Westmoreland. We will look into your comments and feed them back to the team here regarding the Sanctuary, but we are delighted that your experiences with Guest Services and at the Clubhouse were so good. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Greg Schofield , CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I can't find the words to describe Royal Westmoreland. The views from the Condo we stayed in were simply breathtaking, we could see almost the entire West Coast of Barbados. The trees and plants on the compund created an surreal nature setting which my husband and I both needed --- a great getaway from the busy city life.
The beach was just less than 5 mins away, we jumped into our Coastal Rental car and skipped to beach every day. The agent from the car rental gave us several hot spots to visit and she was so very helpful. I had to thank her for the tips when we departed, we had so much fun.
I would reccommend Mullins Beach which is not to far , it's just fabulous. Barbados has so many beaches, you can choose one on any given day and check it out. It was fun trying a different beach each time. Staying on the West Coast was well worth the trip.

Room Tip: West Coast views are better than south coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
2.7 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,050 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
9.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
621 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Westmoreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Westmoreland

Property: Royal Westmoreland
Address: St James, 24023, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Westmoreland is an exclusive Barbados estate and country club, a gated community of luxury homes and holiday villas with exceptional facilities, including the world-class Royal Westmoreland championship 18 hole golf course. Spread across 750 acres of lush tropical landscape in the Parish of St James overlooking the Platinum coast, Royal Westmoreland offers the ultimate Caribbean lifestyle, for a holiday or for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Royal Westmoreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Westmoreland Hotel Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing