We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angler Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Angler Apartments
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

This was a good place to stay for getting about the island. Chandra is a good host and cook. This is not an all inclusive hotel. It is for the independent traveller only which suited us to a tee.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 154913Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    30
    9
    5
    9
See reviews for
4
38
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

We stayed for a week and really enjoyed ourselves - the grounds of the property are lovely, and we had the beach across the road to ourselves for the most part. The room was clean, and had all of the appliances, dishes, etc. necessary to make meals if you wanted. Chandra does have dogs, but we found them quite well-behaved. By our third day there, they were so used to us that they didn't even seem to notice when we came in the gate!

Chandra arranged taxi service to and from the airport for us; the rest of the time, we used local buses to get around. These are inexpensive, can get you pretty much anywhere on the island, and are loads of fun (especially if you take a yellow bus!). The bus stops were about a 30 second walk from Angler's. If you can, ask Chandra to make you a meal - we did this twice. Her meals are excellent and reasonably priced. She also makes awesome rum punch!

When we travel, we like to learn about local culture and history as much as possible, and to feel that we've seen things beyond the typical tourist-oriented stuff. Consequently, we wouldn't be happy staying at one of the many luxury resorts in the area - Angler's was a comfortable, quiet home base for our trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

Angler Apartments is great. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, no frills but beautiful lush gardens and a access to a private path to a private, secluded and beautiful beach with great snorkeling. The place has character, comfortable clean rooms with AC, a beautiful breezy porch and Chandra is a wonderful caretaker who arranged an effortless and cheap car rental for us, called taxis, gave good, honest advice, and acted like a wise, local friend. The west side of Barbados is the place to be for relaxed, adventurous, and beautiful surroundings with great food. The price was affordable and we were so happy not to be in the resorts of the south side. We went down to that area for a night out, which was fun and enjoyable, but I just remember being so glad coming "home" to "our spot" at Anglers. Simply fantastic vacation. - Aaron

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

This is my second time to Barbados. Everyone knows how friendly the people are. The present owner of the Angler Apartments is not born in Barbados and it was SO evident.
Non of the friendly, warm Barbados welcome here. Money only.

I booked online with my credit card but the lady wanted I went to the bank and brought her cash! So take all your money with you! Don't ask for anything, because you won't get anything.

The apartments are very simple. Fridge,bedside lamps, air con' etc all not working. In 8 days the apartment was cleaned twice. The greenery around the place is nice and it's quiet. There is a beautiful beach nearby. But for the rest it's a bus ride.

There are other apartments in the area better quality for similar price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellersinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosain, Manager at Angler Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
This guest did not want to pay her bill as she claimed she paid the travel agent. Travel agents do not collect monies on behlaf of the hotel. I showed her her reservation and also that I did not charge her card for a deposit. She said she would contact the agency and then decided to pay me in BDS$.
The statement about the a/c and appliances are untrue as most appliances are new and all eqipment are in ezxcellent working order.
Her statement about maid service is also not true as her unit had to get a thorough cleaning by the room attendant every day the she worked.
This guest and her partner a local jet skie operator made sure that they trashed the unit when they left, breaking most of the dishes, left the unit in a horrible state and broke even the garbage bin, yet this same guest did not show any discontent with her stay at the Angler or the unit. Instead she always smiled and she had a long chat with me about her current life style in the country she now resides in.

I was very surprised at the state she left the apartment in and am shocked at the untruth that she has posted in her review. Money is the root of all evil. It is difficult to believe that she wanted to stay for free and because she had to pay for her accommodation she got so upset that she had to write this terrible review to turn potential customers away.

May GOD guide her to be a better person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint James Parish hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

Fantastic value for the money. You simply can't find anything like this in St. James. This was our first time anywhere in the Caribbean, and Chandra made the experience very authentic and memorable; she is a caring host and a great cook. The beach was breathtaking and felt very private, and a two-minute walk from Angler's. Help with the transportation from/to the airport was much appreciated.
Highly recommend for a value traveler.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRWL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

oh my god. this place, first of all the surroundings was nice, with lovely trees and fruit trees. the rooms are horrible..smelly,moldy,the sheets are fuzzy,the towels are worst, and they smell, her 2 dogs are crazy, they try to bite and she lets them come all on you and doesnt tie them or cage them, she has them in her office/house and its so unprofessional. i just found the time to comment, because i saw someone post tha it was the best, oh the appilances are old and should be in the barbados museum. the hot water sucks..i could go on and one....the best thing was the beach over the road..

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimmy90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

Having just returned from a stay of 13 days at the Angler Apartments, I have to say I was pleased. The Angler lived up to its promise of serenity, convenience and value. The buses were down at the corner making getting around the island easy. The beach was across the street and was beautiful. From the beach you could walk to Bridgetown and most importantly to Mt. Gay rum distillery, about 4 miles, well worth it. The owner, Chandra, takes alot of pride in her property and it shows, the landscaping is full of flowers and trees. Chandra was both accommodating and charming and I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.9 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best E Villas Prospect
Best E Villas Prospect
#1 of 1 in Prospect
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Lane Beach Apartments
Coral Lane Beach Apartments
#7 of 24 in Saint James Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Best E Villas Providence
Best E Villas Providence
#19 of 67 in Christ Church Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
7.6 mi away
Carib Blue Apartment Hotel
Carib Blue Apartment Hotel
#47 of 67 in Christ Church Parish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Healthy Horizons Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angler Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler Apartments

Property: Angler Apartments
Address: Clarke's Road #1 | Derricks, 170209, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Angler Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angler Apartments offers a home away from home vacation. A small intimate, cozy, unpretentious hideaway surrounded by lawns, tropical fruit trees, gardens of palms, tropical shrubs, haliconias, orchids and flowering plants. The atmosphere and feeling one gets whilst staying here is one of calm, spiritual and totally relaxing.Most of our guest find this very appealing.Our accommodation are budget but we have a private access to the most wonderful beach on the West Coast 90 meters walk from the units. Our restaurant offers Caribbean, vegetarian and Indian cuisine home cooked to individual preferences.Ideal location- a walk to the bus stop, 3.5 km to 3 shopping centres and malls, many restaurants and a 24 hour medical centre. Bridgetown, the Cap[ital is 6 km away and Sandy Lane is 5 minutes away.Angler appeal to families, singles, artist, writers, students, sports and those wishing to avoid impersonal restorts, but to those who love dogs, birds and an informal atmosphere with personalize service and superb hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Angler Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angler Apartments Hotel Saint James
Angler Apartments Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing