We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Treasure Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treasure Beach
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire, uk
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed at the Treasure Beach from the 2nd to 16th May 2010 and I can honestly say that it was perfect in every way. The staff, from the management to the pool/ground staff, are friendly and attentive. The suites have a lounge area with patio/balcony attached and a small kitchen area with kettle and fresh supplies for making tea/coffee and a fridge. The bedroom is large and air conditioned with twin or double bed (ours was 2 singles pushed together but still very comfortable), wardrobe with plenty of hangers, drawers, dressing table, stool and chair. The bathroom has twin sinks, separate shower and bath, toilet and shaver socket. Hairdryer, clock radio, TV and mosquito killer are included in the bedroom.
The hotel is built of lovely coral stone and exudes class. It is quiet with a single pool and only allows children at certain times of the year so is pretty peaceful. You do get the odd beach vendor walking by selling everything from fresh pineapple to jewellery but they don't hassle you and are quite happy to stop for a chat without you having to buy.
The restaurant is lovely with a superb chef Kirk, who is really keen and regularly tells the guests what he has managed to buy at the market and what he plans for the nights menu. I really couldn't fault his food or enthusiasm. We had delicious baby lobster one night which was "to die for". And my husband said that the coconut creme brulee was the best he's ever tasted.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast every day was lovely with fresh fruit, cereals, cooked breakfast and made to order pancakes/poached eggs/omelettes, etc. There were fruit kebabs on the beach and ice cold towels at 11 am every day and the staff were only too happy to bring you drinks either on the beach or by the pool. All in all a perfect, relaxing holiday in probably the best location in Barbados.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hoppyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    105
    34
    15
    3
See reviews for
79
318
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

The Treasure Beach Hotel was our choice for a final 3 nights of luxury and relaxation on our honeymoon in Barbados, having spent a week learning how to Surf in Christ Church.

We were greeted on arrival with a free drink of our choice and it quickly became apparant that the staff were all happy, friendly and polite. We noted that as soon as we arrived all the staff knew who we were and which suite we were in, a nice touch and you felt more welcome as a result.

We had chosen the Hummingbird Suite from the photos on the hotel's internet site, when we arrived we were not disappointed. It was beautiful and the views from our room and balconies were amazing. This was the best room in the hotel, and it was worth every penny. An especially nice touch was that there was a bottle of bubbly in a bucket with a nice note of congratulation when we arrived, so it was straight into the plunge pool for a cool off and a glass of fizz!

The plunge pool on the balcony is fantastic and I sat in there chilling many times! It was great to watch the sun go down from there as the sunsets were really pretty. I'm not a great lover of the sun - so I was especially pleased with the electric awning over the balcony. We were able to asjust it easily as the sun moved round and it meant that my wife could sunbathe whilst I could sit in the pool with in safety of the shade!

We were on a meal plan, which included dinner and breakfast, although we were able to swap dinner with lunch, which we did on a couple of occasions. The food was wonderful - the Goujons of Flying Fish with a Basil-Mango Mayonnaise is an absoloute must - I had it every day! Although we never made use of it - room service doesn't cost extra, which is a really good thing in my opinion!

The hotel's restaurant is open to anyone and is known as "Al Fresco". I'm not sure if the restaurant is amazing in terms of scenery and atmosphere as a restaurant alone, but as a hotel restaurant it was well situated, with good food and excellent service - we couldn't have asked for any more.

We only ventured out for evening meals a couple of times, but there are a lot of fine eateries nearby, including The Tides and Cariba. We spared ourselves the expense of the Cliff Restaurant, but it has a good reputation and is nearby. There is a Petrol station opposite the hotel, with an ATM and basic provisions should you need anything the hotel can't provide.

The hotel had excellent WIFI access throughout and it was nice that they ensured no one used phones or laptops in public areas.

The hotel prides itself with repeat customers and many of the guests staying here were regulars. There were no children staying here, I don't think family holidays are the hotel's target market, but we actually quite liked the peace and tranquility as a result! We did feel a bit young (aged 28/33) as most of the clientelle looked 50 plus. This wasn't a problem as we were here to relax and not to socialise, but we thought it worth noting so that others are aware. (Note that we came in low-season, so things could be different during busier periods)

Tuesday nights are the hotel manager's cocktail evenings, with free drinks by the candle-lit poolside for an hour, followed by a BBQ. We strongly recommend you make the most of this as it was very socialable and we were saddened that we had swapped our dinner for lunch and had made reservations elsewhere. There were also some nice canapes flying around too! We enjoyed the drinks and canapes, missed the BBQ and returned to catch the end of the very talented steel drum band that played until 10pm.

Liked Best: The suite, plunge pool and view.
Liked Least: Having to leave!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarcyPigPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We had a second floor ocean view room and struck lucky, as our room was 10 metres from the waves, with fantastic views of the bay and the sunset. Other rooms, particularly those on the ground floor, and the pool and garden view rooms had less of a view. The room had an open lounge area, with fridge, behind the balcony, and the bedroom had lots of hanging space, and large, comfortable beds. The bathroom was very spacious, with bath and separate shower.

The food was magnificent. The chef has a real talent for creating imaginative food, and the service was friendly and efficient. The restaurant area has an awning that is cranked back when possible. Breakfasts were very good, although rolls (rather than toast), were hard to get hold of. Cold towels and 'fruit kebabs' were provided at the beach area at 11am, and a complimentary afternoon tea is available at 4pm - much appreciated touches.

The biggest downside is the lack of shade at the beach. There is a magnificent mahogany tree at the edge of the sand, but the area under this gets too crowded.

The hotel is situated amongst the more expensive west coast hotels, and is well situated for exploring other parts of the island. We hired a Moke for a week, and found the driving pretty relaxing.

There were 2 evenings when entertainment was provided, but the ambience in general was one of peace and relaxation. If this is what you want, then Treasure Beach is well worth consideration.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pwjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

I've just returned from Treasure Beach where I attended my brothers wedding at the nearby Tamarind Cove Hotel. My first impression actually wasn't "wow" but more of a "Oh...is this it", but then you shouldn't really compare caribbean hotels to the likes of Dubai and Thailand. However after experiencing the hospitality, friendliness and general relaxed nature of this hotel I was soon settled and very much enjoying my stay. We did had two problems with the room - the air conditioning didn't work - we were swiftly moved to another room,. This new room had a tempremental safe - within hours of reporting this we had a new circuit board to resolve the problem.
The hotel manager Hamish and his team were brilliant - approachable, caring and all contributed to a truly memorable holiday.
We stayed an extra 3 nights due to the volcanic ash cloud, again no problem with the hotel assisting us in obtaining confirmation that British Airways would cover our expenses (which they did without question). So we could relax and enjoy our extra time.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel - and if you are thinking about looking at Tamarind Cove next door (around £700 more this time of year) forget it, Treasure Beach lives up to its name - don't waste your money!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flossy069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Treasure Beach is perfectly located on a beautiful sandy beach a short journey away from Holetown on the West Coast of Barbados. The sea outside the resort is crystal clear for swimming and the rocks to the left nearby are ideal for snorkeling. My husband even saw turtles a little further out. We spent 10 very lazy days - a perfect escape from City life - watching the world amble by, reading book after book and sampling the local cocktails. Our suite looked out onto the pool/gardens/ocean and our room was cleaned from top to bottom every day. The atmosphere at Treasure Beach is one of laid back friendliness. I would probably recommend B&B versus 1/2 board as you do not want to miss out on some of the top-class restaurants the West Coast has to offer. That said, the food at Treasure Beach was delicious - we particularly enjoyed the shrimp/vegetable curry and the bajan fish soup. If you are looking for a tranquil haven to escape to, this would definitely qualify.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertles45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed over Christmas with our daughter, the room was small and the vegetation blocked out all daylight, so you needed lights on all day, I mentioned (room 19) was overgrown with vegetation to the manager, who smiled and said yes its a little overdue for a cut back!!!
That was a bit late for us!!, christmas lunch/dinner was rolled turkey breast !!(awful) and a cold one at that! christmas pudding was microwaved and was like a peice of rubber, the entertainment was quite good, and the aperatiffs were tasty and varied, breakfasts were on the whole good and afternoon snacks were also good, the other pain was that we were woken up on 3 occasions by staff at around 6 am and even on Christmas morning!! I had to go outside on Christmas morning to ask them to be quiet, one said 'merry christmas' I replied never mind that please be quiet! I must have sounded a real grump! but the noise was tootaly unnessary.
Sun beds, pool, and bar staff were ok, not great but OK! the real dissapointment were the size of the rooms, and at that price you expect space!!!! not a good place to take your children to sleep in the very cramped lounge. you expect of this size to be of a 3 star airport hotel, I would recommend this place for a couple who wanted peice and quiet and a good beach on the doorstep!! but at a lesser price than what is charged at Christmas and other 'so called peek times'

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skirlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Nice hotel with fairly ordinary but very comfortable rooms and if you smile at the staff they smile back. Well located with a bit of shade from the old mahogany tree. It is true that my fellow countrymen do tend to reserve their sun loungers at 06:30. What surprised was the quality of the food. Now I don't think that Barbados restaurants excel - any of them. If I am going to pay £200 for dinner it ain't going to be in Barbados but the food at Treasure Bay was as good as most of the rest and not as expensive as the rest.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeDaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint James Parish hotels
0.2 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
623 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
1.6 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
0.7 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#8 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Beach

Property: Treasure Beach
Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treasure Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treasure Beach Hotel & Spa represents one the finest and most popular hotels in Barbados. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this 35-room all suite charming boutique hotel. With the beautiful Caribbean Sea as your backdrop. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this hotel is set in lush, tropical gardens. The resort's sumptuous suites form a horseshoe shape around the fresh water pool. The newly modernized hotel rooms are cool and airy and contemporary in design. The new Deluxe suites include private plunge pools that overlook the inviting Caribbean Sea. Delicious offerings are available in Kathy's Restaurant; enjoy fresh local ingredients as you dine under the stars in this award winning eatery. Our new Spa Suite is very popular with guests where you relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Treasure Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Beach Saint James
Treasure Beach Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing