We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a Treasure”
Review of Treasure Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Treasure Beach
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“It's a Treasure”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

My husband and I spent a week here and were so pleased with our choice. We had looked at and considered several other resorts and read many tripadvisor reviews before making a decision.

One of the best things about this resort is its size, only 40 suites. We really prefer this to staying at a huge resort with hundreds of rooms where you are sharing beach space, restaurant space with literally several hundred other people.

It is on the beautiful west coast of Barbados where the beaches are stunning. Every day we took a long walk along the beaches which fronted many other resorts. We always came back very well pleased with our own resort.

Our suite was lovely with a view of the ocean from our large balcony which had two very comfortable, cushiony chairs and a table for sitting. Each balcony also had a built-in rack for hanging wet suits and towels which is a great idea as often there seems no place to dry them. As well there is a sitting room with desk, couch, lamps, mini frij and granite counter with sink. In the cupboard underneath there is a teapot, cups & saucers, cutlery and napkins as well as a selection of tea. Being an early riser I would make myself a nice pot of tea every morning and sit on the balcony looking out on the ocean. The bedroom is very nice and the bathroom quite large with two vessel sinks, a large shower and a tub. Air conditioning was very effective at keeping the bedroom cool for sleeping. There is also an ocean view from the bedroom windows.

Although not an all-inclusive, breakfast and afternoon tea are included. Both were very good and we really enjoyed the sandwiches, scones, cookies and tea every day at 4:00. We ate in the restaurant only twice since we wanted to try other places on the island. The food was quite good although rather expensive, but not out of line compared to other restaurants. There is also a Manager's cocktail party Friday evenings, followed by a barbecue. Everyone gathers around the pool (which looks very pretty with torches and luminaires all around it) and partakes of drinks and really good appetizers. Speaking of the manager, the very personable Jason was always in evidence, greeting everyone and very hands-on in the running of the hotel.

We could not fault the service, the staff in the restaurant, beach and housekeepers were very professional and friendly. Our rooms were cleaned spotlessly every day, even to the balcony being mopped and railings and chairs being wiped down. We were always left fresh beach towels which has not always been the case at other resorts where we have stayed.

Honestly, there is only one wee thing that I can think of to complain about and that is that the bar in the closet is hung so high that I literally could not reach it (I'm a shrimp at 5'1") and my husband had to hang my clothes up for me.

Now I have to tell you, I am a bit of a complainer but I'm too old to change now, and if that is the only negative thing I can come up with, then you can rest assurred that this is a pretty darn nice place. As another reviewer has said, I wish I was there on the balcony looking out at the ocean right now.

There were a number of families with children (I think there was some sort of school holiday in Britain) but I have never seen so many well-behaved children in my life and they certainly did not detract from our enjoyment of the resort. I personally prefer a mix of couples, families and singles to an adults-only environment.

To sum up, we definitely plan to return, hopefully next winter.

Room Tip: third-floor rooms are quieter, no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lillybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    104
    34
    15
    3
See reviews for
79
316
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We were invited to stay with our friends in their home in Mustique and were looking for a hotel to stay in en route in Barbados. We dislike large statement resorts and were looking for something intimate on a beach. We stayed in both the garden facing and ocean facing rooms, both were excellent and the views from the ocean facing room were superb. The hotel exceeded our expectations in all respects. It says something about a hotel when most of the staff seem to have spent the majority of their lives working there and almost all of the guests are repeat visitors and would stay nowhere else in Barbados. It proves you don't have to take out a mortgage on your home to experience the best. We will definitely return ! Mr & Mrs H, Wiltshire, England

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevorjharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

All that can be said of this place begins with the word "super". My wife and I were looking for a place to enjoy our anniversary and take in the quiet pleasures of sunny Barbados. The management and staff of this hotel were personally involved in all aspects of ensuring our experience would be first class. Kudos to Jason, the general manager; Chef Kirk; John, the head waiter; Leroy at the front desk; and the head bartender, Richard (a good friend). By the way, ask for Room 35, the Hibiscus Suite. It Is worth the upgrade.

Room Tip: The Hibiscus Suite for spectacular view. privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moblove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We have stayed in St James before but this was the first time in Treasure Beach - hopefully not the last. It is a great area with excellent restaurants nearby (Cariba, Scarlet, Daphne's, The Cliff ). It is well placed right on a lovely beach, with a pool in the garden. There were some children staying when we were there , but they were all well behaved. As already mentioned there are no umbrellas in the garden, but trees do provide some shade. Staff are easily available to put up more chairs where you wish- beach or garden.
We only used the restaurant on one evening - food was very good but portions very large and only a 2 or 3 course deal. Similarly at lunch time the sandwiches could easily be shared. Some nights there was musical entertainment. Jason, the new Manager, came round every morning to make sure everyone was happy. Our only complaint was that the airconditioning was fitted to blow across the beds - making one bed very draughty. The suites were comfortable and well equiped. The toaster, kettle and fridge were thoughtful additions and the Molton Brown toiletries lovely.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagcarrier1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We recently spent 9 nights at Treasure beach hotel over Easter. It's a good, small hotel, only around 35 suites.
The rooms consist of a large, airconditioned bedroom, large bathroom with bath, shower and twin sinks plus a sitting area with a sink and fridge. The room set up was good as our son (7yrs) slept on the sofa bed in the lounge at no extra cost since the price is for 'room' (we booked direct with the hotel). Maid service was twice daily: morning plus an evening turn down service so they pulled out and made up the sofa bed nightly and cleared it up in the morning which was great as that would have been a pain. The room was a good standard but not top notch, our windows needed a bit of TLC, as did the shower area and the patio.
Breakfast was included and it was a very good standard with a good fruit and cereal selection plus self sevice hot breakfast and an egg counter for fried, omlettes etc.
Daily afternoon tea was also inlcluded at 4pm which was lovely but a bit of a scrum.
Dinner in the restaurant was also very tasty and reasonably price for the area (BD$99 for 2 courses) but a bit lacking in atmosphere. One night a BBQ for guests was laid on but at BD$140 per person we declined. I don't know how good it was but as the literature showed no child prices and no drinks included we could do much better than a bbq for that price.
The pool is small but big enough for the number of guests and well looked after. Beach is also small and sadly, despite the room book saying there are enough sunbeds to go round, it's not true. There was several different beach attendants, some were fab, always looking to help and would make sure you got a sunbed but some clearly didn't want to be there and didn't clear towels off saved beds and simply told guests 'no' when they asked for a bed at times which is quite unacceptable.
We noticed quite a few reviewers mentioning the new manager - Jason. We were not impressed with Jason. He would visit each tables at breakfast - which is a nice idea. BUT, he never remembered what was said day to day and never responded, i.e. if we said we were doing x activity today, he wouldn't offer any further info about it and never once asked the next day how it was. This made it feel pointless and insincere - I don't think he gave a monkeys what we were up to and didn't take the opportunity to offer any insight. He even said on our last morning 'so, any plans today folks?'. Given it's such a small hotel and he's trying to create a personal, intimate feel I thought he should know who's leaving etc. and try to 'add value' to people's trips through his knowledge. Also, he didn't work weekends which we though was a bit odd. Some of the other staff were fab though, the guys in the restaurant really did remember you and used that knowledge to give you better service and experience. Reception staff also always ready to help and guide, book taxis etc.
Be aware that a 10% service charge is in the room though so you are paying US$30+ per day for tips.
We had some great food in the area - The Tides being the highlight - excellent all round meal & we ended up going on our last night too as it was so lovely. They welcomed children too which was nice for a high end restaurant. We also rated Cariba nearby and Scarlets (though a bit loud). Ragamuffins in Holetown was the low point - dreadful food and couldn't talk due to karaoke in next door bar.
We went out and about to see the island quite a bit and had some good experiences, we enjoyed the Atlantis submarine and the Wildlife park was especially good.
Wish we had known 2 thiings before we went - 1) beach towels were included in the room and very generously replaced / topped up and 2) long trousers have to be worn in the on site restaurant & my husband only brought 1 pair and we knew we needed them for the upmarket restaurants such as The Tides so they were a bit overworn by the end!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex_Becca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We went to Treasure Beach in early April for a week.The room we had (22) was simply superb in terms of space and more particularly a great view of the ocean framed by a wonderful mahogany tree. Food was excellent,with a different menu every night.
Niggles? Well some new gym equipment would be welcome and a boat for guests(given there was no formal watersports) would be a great addition.Overall a really nice place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This is our third visit to Barbados and first to Treasure Beach. It is a small friendly and well run hotel. We had a Garden View Room on the second floor which not only overlooked the garden and the swimming pool but also a wonderful view of the Ocean. Wifi in the rooms is great.

The restaurant was excellent with a varied and daily change of menu. The restaurant staff are friendly and look after you very well. The only thing missing for me was a decent cup of fresh decaffeinated coffee - they only have instant.

Our suite was great, good sized bedroom and bathroom and a very nice sitting room with doors opening out on to a balcony with coffee table and chairs all kept clean and tidy with the daily maid service.

Staying at this hotel was my first experience of being welcomed personally by the manager, who I feel that given time will be presenting a first class hotel. He is very enthusiastic.

A very nice touch is the fruit skewers served to you at 11.00am at the beach/garden followed by a cool towel. Beach vendors are not persistent and a simple 'no thank you' is enough for them to move on. However the reflexology massage from Eddie is well worth having.

With the hotel being so small, it is easy to get to know fellow guests. We went to Treasure Beach for a bit of rest and relaxation and that is exactly what we got.

Any niggles - not really but I do just question if there are enough umbrellas should the hotel be fully occupied. I am sure Jason, the manager would address any issues that may arise as he wants to put the hotel on the 'map'.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjehw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.2 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
8.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Beach

Property: Treasure Beach
Address: Paynes Bay, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treasure Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treasure Beach Hotel & Spa represents one the finest and most popular hotels in Barbados. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this 35-room all suite charming boutique hotel. With the beautiful Caribbean Sea as your backdrop. Located on one of the most stunning sandy beaches in Barbados, this hotel is set in lush, tropical gardens. The resort's sumptuous suites form a horseshoe shape around the fresh water pool. The newly modernized hotel rooms are cool and airy and contemporary in design. The new Deluxe suites include private plunge pools that overlook the inviting Caribbean Sea. Delicious offerings are available in Kathy's Restaurant; enjoy fresh local ingredients as you dine under the stars in this award winning eatery. Our new Spa Suite is very popular with guests where you relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, West Indies, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Treasure Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Beach Saint James
Treasure Beach Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing