We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, classy and sophisticated”
Review of The Sandpiper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sandpiper
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2006

We stayed in Barbados a couple of years ago in a fairly good hotel (Treasure Beach) but decided we wanted something more sophisticated. Having compared many reviews on Tripadvisor we settled on the Sandpiper. It is not a large hotel but has rooms and suites set within beutifully maintained gardens that run down to the beach. We stayed in a one bedroom suite that also had a lounge, small kitchen and a balcony overlooking the sea. As with most guests, we chose to breakfast on our own balcony each morning (full menu available, just leave a card outside the room the night before and give a time slot). A fabulous start to the day. The hotel is situated midway along the west coast which is perfect if, like us, you like to eat out a lot. Although we had a vehicle, the fact that the hotel is situated on the edge of Holetown means that it is possible to get to a number of quality restaurants without hiring a car. It is also within easy walking distance of the local, very good, supermarket.
The beach is in a sheltered position and has it's own pontoon. The hotel has an excellent water sports facility and also has a gym. We did not try the restaurant (although we did have room service occasionally). Our favourite restaurant? There are many excellent ones but we do have a soft spot for Lone Star.
Any drawbacks? Some of the other hotels nearby are a bit debateable although you are really only aware of them if you walk along the beach. All in all, a very well run hotel, not flashy, just quietly sophisticated with attention to detail. We would certainly not only recommend the hotel, but would also stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank INDISGUISE1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 304 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2006

We stayed here for a week in October, just after the hotel had re-opened after its annual refurbishment. We were in a one-bedroom suite, which I'm sure was bigger than our flat in London! We loved everything about the hotel and didn't see any other hotel on the island that we thought could match it. We've stayed in Antigua before and found Barbados to be more developed, particularly on the west coast as the hotels are all fairly near each other. This didn't matter with the Sandpiper as the beach in front of the hotel is big enough and it felt sufficiently secluded.
These are just some of the things that made our stay great:
- the staff and management were friendly and helpful: from being shown to our room by the general manager, to people knowing our names after just one day - I just wish I could remember everyone's names to thank them
- the watersports that were free and the staff who were always willing to get the speedboat out for a knee-boarding session
- the food: particularly dinner but also the opportunity to have breakfast on our balcony
- the drinks: rum punches and mango daiquiris....yum - especially sitting at Harold's bar after the sun had gone down...
- the sunbathing and swimming: there were always sunloungers available and a member of staff would put towels on them for you to lie on, and also bring iced jugs of water. The sea was usually really clear so that you could see the fish in the reef a few metres off shore. The pool was also good for a refreshing dip and was usually empty. The hotel also looked really nice from the beach - it wasn't a big apartment block like some of the others.
- free internet access so that we could check-in online
- entertainment: low key, which is what we wanted - steel bands and local bands rather than karaoke and cabaret.
Apart from all of this, we also had a great time on the Island Safari and Cool Runnings trips, and had good food at Tides and Olives. We went to the Cliff for a special occasion and thought that everything about it - location, service, food, drink - was brilliant.
All in all the whole stay was perfect and the Sandpiper was just what we were looking for - quiet (even with kids there), relaxing, good service, good food and drink, good facilities - definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
19  Thank JKDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

We stayed at Sandpiper for four days on our way home from the Grenadines, having selected it largely on the strength of the reviews here. We owe the other reviewers a debt of gratitude. The Sandpiper was just perfect!

We were met by the general manager who escorted us to our suite and welcomed us with a lovely explanation of all the room and hotel had to offer.

We appreciated the understated, comfortable luxury of our suite and impeccable service of the excellent staff, from the reception to the beach attendants. The property was perfectly manicured - beautiful flowering plants were everywhere in bloom, and provided privacy for the suites. The mongooses skittering about in the gardens in the mornings were amusing and provided good entertainment as we ate breakfast on the veranda.

The restaurant was very good (and like the rest of the property - lovely) but do venture out and try the other exceptional restaurants within walking and short driving distance - the car service associated with the hotel provided very professional drivers.

The beach is somewhat small but there were more than enough comfy loungers and umbrellas (and space) for all. We loved the iced water and sorbet service at our loungers, and were delighted with the snorkeling - and surprised by the variety and number of fish and coral in the reef inside the buoyed off swimming area right off the beach. We did not take advantage of the watersports offered at the beach, but those who did clearly enjoyed the waterskiing, sailing and other water activities provided.

As for negatives, I have tried, but I could not think of any worth mentioning. We looked at other properties (Coral Reef Club, the sister property was also very beautiful) and have stayed elsewhere in Barbados, and will most certainly be returning to Sandpiper.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank dcbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2006

We've just come back from a wonderful stay at The Sandpiper in Barbados. The hotel is lovely and the staff and owners made us feel incredibly welcome throughout our stay.

The Sandpiper is in Holetown, where there are a number of shops and good restaurants, though the food at the Sandpiper is excellent. The hotel is next to the beach, with coral reefs which were excellent for snorkelling and the hotel provided a range of complimentary activities such as sailing, speed boat rides, kayaks which were all great fun.

We will definately return - the sooner the better!

17  Thank Claireinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
120
Reviewed June 5, 2006

Absolute perfection. We stayed here 10 nights for our honeymoon and having read all the reviews on this site, and having visited all the other major hotels on the West Coast, we definitely made the right choice.

We always took the view that there are far too many places to stay in the world to revisit the same hotel twice but we will definitely be going back. Most people do.

Ok, the pool is small but with that sea and that beach, you don't need a pool. The food is fantastic, all the rooms are beautiful, the staff are great and the location is second to none.

You would have to be seriously fussy to have any complaints at all. Sorbets, iced water and free watersports during the day; turn down and cookies in the evening; and reliable, friendly service throughout make this hotel special.

Go.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2006

Simply superb! We stayed for 6 nights at the Sandpiper and not one complaint. They give new meaning to service and hospitality. From the manager escort to your room upon arrival to the nightly turndown with good night cookies it is worth every penny. The extra touches that Russell and his staff provide are amazing and beyond any expectations. We can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank cecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Aikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint James Parish hotels
0.4 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
1.9 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#1 of 4 in Holetown
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
2.1 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper

Address: Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $439 - $2,806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sandpiper 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sandpiper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Hotel Saint James
Sandpiper Saint James
Sandpiper Hotel Saint James
Sandpiper Barbados
The Sandpiper Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing