We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look anywhere else...but leave one room free for us!”
Review of The Sandpiper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sandpiper
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We decided on the Sandpiper after doing loads of research, but it was a personal recommendation that did it for us. We stayed here for 10 nights and it couldn't have been more perfect. Everything from the personal welcome, the attitude of the staff, the food, and the rooms was first class.
We were fortunate enough to have a suite, and it was almost too large! Big comfortable bed, nice furnishings, balcony with table, chairs and sunbeds, kitchen with all the usual white goods (not that we cooked but the fridge came in handy...), nice bathroom with good quality toiletries, seperate lounge etc. etc.
What really makes this place special is it's discreet location and the staff. As far as we could tell, none of the rooms are overlooked, and it is very unobtrusive from the beach. It has a big beach area for sunbeds, and the watersports (including speedboat rides) are included. All of the staff are really attentive, and good fun as well. People obviously come back year after year, and we'll be going back next year.
One hint if it's your first time to Barbados is that all of the beaches are public, but some are more public than others....it seems that the ones fronting a hotel are pretty much taken by the hotel as they put loungers out and nobody else really bothers to sit there, but some hotels kind of use the more public areas. The brochures just show a nice beach (as they all are) but it pays to look at the hotel details. The Sandpiper's beach is perfect, as it's not easy to get to unless you go through the hotel, which of course, only guests can......
Some of the nearby hotels are a bit dated as well, and there's a few which looked good in the brochure but we're glad we avoided.
PM me if you need more details.
We only ate in the retaurant twice as there are som many places to try out, but it was really good and not overly expensive, although eating out is generally more than UK prices.
Some other nice touches which pleased us were that we had no long debate about how much it would cost to keep the room until 3pm, it was given to us at no charge - if it had been let we could have had use of another room. Also breakfast can be ordered in the room at no extra charge.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotelscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for The Sandpiper
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 297 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2009

This is our second time at The Sandpiper and I don't really know what else to write apart from read my previous review!

Staff - Excellent
Staff are very friendly, polite and will do everything they can to make you feel wecome and relaxed.

Room - Excellent
Clean, comfortable and our room (20) was less than 20 feet from the beach.

Food - Very Good
Breakfast was superb with a wide range of hot and cold food. Fruit is always fresh as are the pastries and the juices are really good with a different smoothy every morning.

Only downside was that the quality of the food in the resturant in the evening has slipped. We had dinner twice at the hotel and neither of our meals was that good for what we paid. We both had fillet steak on one of the evenings and both of our steaks were very fatty and I didn't eat any of mine. Unlucky? Maybe.

For lunch try Spagos Italian, 2 minutes walk along the beach from Sandpiper. Best pizza we have ever had!

Location - Excellent
30 minutes by taxi from the airport, Holetown is an ideal base from which to explore the Island.

Overall, very good and would go again but would not eat in the resturant in the evening again.

If you stay in Holetown try eating at Angry Annie's, Groots and Mews.

Oh and the Sunsets are amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasperC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We had a suite at the fron of the property overlooking the secluded sandy beach. It was beautifully furnished, very clean and quiet.
From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and every member of staff greeted us by name. The restaurant is probably the best hotel restaurant we have ever had the pleasure of dining in (the other being Thala Beach in Australia). The food and level of service was second to none.
If it is a romatic quiet luxury week in Barbados this is the place.
A lot of the guests were returning year after year and it is easy to see why.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drtravelinstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Just returned, and we had the best family holiday ever! We had a 2 bedroom suite (which accommodated 5 of us) and it was fantastic. Very spacious, with a small kitchenette, which was handy if you just wanted to make a snack. The staff were excellent, attending to your every need. Location is handy for the supermarket (food and drink at the hotel is exceptional, but very expensive) and small shopping mall (your usual duty free products), which is about a 5 minute walk. Plenty of restaurants to choose from, although you need to book for the evening, but the hotel is happy to do that for you. With three teenagers, this hotel ticked all the boxes. They were occupied every minute of the day. The water sports facilities are good, offering everything from water skiing to snorkelling. Being our first time in Barbados, we were surprised at how built-up it was. From what we could see, most of the hotels along the west coast (St.James area), positioned along the beach front, have a busy road running all the way along and you could hear the traffic from time to time (they like their horns). For some, this is probably not a problem, but as we live in the countryside, we did notice the noise level (hence our reason for only giving four for location). Of course this did not spoil it, but thought it worth a mention if you haven't been to Barbados before. As there was no need for us to move far from the hotel, we didn't explore any other part of the island, so we cannot say what it is like elsewhere. If you are looking for a family holiday, where you can all do things together, this is the place to be. It is a small, friendly hotel, where majority of the guests return year after year. No more worrying about where to go each year now, as the children have already stamped this as the place to be!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tommo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

This hotel is superb. Better than we had hoped after reading some reviews regarding it being tired. We stayed in a one bedroom suite #3 with large balcony almost on beach. View of beach obscured by a tree but the balcony was very private unlike suite #1, right on beach but overlooked from the deck.
This hotel absolutely excels at most things. The staff are very attentive but not in your face. The fact that they have all been there for so long says a great deal about this hotel. The young guys in charge of the water sports (complimentary water-skiing etc) are fantastic with kids and so enthusiastic. Constant smiles on their faces - really!
The food in the restaurant was very good, definitely some of the best on the island.
We were lucky the weather was kind, around 30 degrees every day with one day of full-on rain. The beach is very safe for children and very clean.
The water sport guys said to us on several occasions that this was the best hotel on the island and certainly from what we could see, it was. Fair less pretentious than Sandy Lane (obviously cheaper too!) but small, friendly and totally relaxed. The swimming pool is small but the beach is so good that hardly matters.
We ate at The Cliff. We had the tasting menu which was first class but found that food was delivered a little too quickly but the setting is out of this world. I have heard reports that it is stuffy but we didnt find this at all.
Try Scarletts - great food, cool atmostphere. The Fishpot was very disappointing - great venue but food poor (although I have heard others say it was fab so maybe we were unlucky). Ragamuffins in Holetown have a great night on Sundays apparently. The Indian in Holetown (The Sitar) was superb.
We have no complaints about The Sandpiper at all. We have stayed in some top class hotels (albeit much larger ones) in Egypt, Dubai, Oman, Phuket all fab but this has to top them all as it has it all - food, service, setting, people. Please stay here - you will love it.

Just read through my review. Almost feel like deleting it cos I don't want everyone to go there and spoil it!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MouseP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I've stayed here many times over the last ten years and always thoroughly enjoy seeing the same attentive staff every time. Wonderful food and a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbicanbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at the Sandpiper for 2 nights at the end of a trip round the Caribbean to Antigua and St Lucia. We booked the hotel for it's location on the beach in St James', it's location in Holetown and in part due to the good reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel is family run and has been operating for around 25 years. The benefits of this are that the hotel is extremely well run with excellent service and the overall feel is of a very slick operation. Our room was upgraded on arrival to a Garden Suite, which was well located and spacious. The hotel (as with many in the Caribbean) is obviously old and was dated in some areas. The public spaces are well maintained and have clearly been recently refurbished. Our room however was a little dated and the bathroom was definitely in need of updating. The bed linen and towels were of the quality that I would expect of a 3* hotel, not a 4* and certainly not for the prices you pay to stay here.
The Sandpiper really excels though in the evenings. The restaurant is excellent and very high quality for the Caribbean and we ended up eating there for both nights of our stay. The service in the restaurant is first class, again an indication of how well run this hotel is. We had pre and post dinner cocktails in the bar, which had music most evenings.
The only downside for us to our stay there was that the hotel seemed to be populated by conservative Brits from the home counties in their 50's and 60's, many of whom I suspected were repeat visitors. As a consequence, the atmosphere was sedate and not very cosmopolitan. My husband and I are in our mid-30's and we stuck out like a sore thumb! We were there to relax, so this wasn't a problem for us, but if you want a hotel with a lively bar atmosphere in the evenings you would be wise to look elsewhere.
Overall we had an enjoyable stay at the Sandpiper and the quality of service and the restaurant really stood out for us. If I were to return to Barbados though, I would stay somewhere else that was more design-led and less traditional.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
1.9 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.3 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#2 of 4 in Holetown
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,081 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
846 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper

Address: Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $440 - $1,001 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sandpiper 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Sandpiper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Hotel Saint James
Sandpiper Saint James
Sandpiper Hotel Saint James
Sandpiper Barbados
The Sandpiper Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing