We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful hotel”
Review of The Sandpiper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sandpiper
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Saint James Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a beautiful hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Sandpiper for a week in October 2012. Everything about the hotel was excellent.
Location - very near to Holetown (a 3 minute stroll away) with it's bars, restaurants, supermarkets and shops
Rooms - luxurious, clean, comfy beds, modern bathrooms, well fitted kitchenette, serviced daily with evening turndown
Room Terrace - large with 2 loungers and a large table
Pool - small, but perfect for the size of the hotel (44 rooms)
Beach - crystal clear water, white sands, warm water
Restaurant - breakfasts with large choice of fruit, cereals, savoury cheese / hams / smoked fish, plus a selection of cooked dishes under cover or to order. Dinners extremely well prepared meals I would say Michelin star standard
Prices - drinks very reasonable, especially rum cocktails and beers. Food prices comparable with other top class restaurants in the area,
Eating out - We tried a number of food places in the area, Tides Restaurant was superb - well worth a visit, we also tried a couple of local cafes, but for the prices charged not really up to scratch, next visit we will try some other recommended local restaurants
Staff - from the initial introduction to the hotel facilities by the duty manager, the General Manager and Director to Harold (who runs the beach bar) who is a font of knowledge on where to go or what to do, to the friendly cleaning ladies, the restaurant staff, receptionists, all were so friendly, helpful and always willing to have a word or two and answer any questions we had

Room Tip: 1 bed suites superb, try and avoid roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterH03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    30
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
40
191
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Antwerpen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Towards the end our stay in Barbados we had dinner at the Sandpiper restaurant.
The meal was very good and the souffle was excellent, equalling the Reclaimer in Paris which specializes.
The service was efficient and the menu, similar to the other restaurants on the Island.
Most of the fare being imported.
However it was the most expensive wine list that is almost double anywhere else we visited and that includes The Cliff, Cin Cin and Tides. Reminds me a little of the criminal prices they charge in Mauritius. But apart from that at least they are open on a Sunday night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed two short nights at the Sandpiper. This hotel/resort is a great choice... starting with the location of the resort. The beach is lovely, calm waters perfect for swimming and floating. It is a very short walk to Holetown, a town filled with options for dining and shopping. The rooms at the hotel are spotlessly maintained.

I would say that The Sandpiper is more of an experience than your typical hotel/resort. Upon arrival, instead of a regular check in (provide credit card, etc.), the manager comes and greets you. Your luggage is taken away, and the manager takes you away - on a nice tour of the property and then shows you to your room. Your welcome drink and luggage are promptly brought to your room. Another example, we had wished to go to dinner in Holetown. After speaking to reception, we agreed on a particular restaurant. The front desk took care of all of the reservations, and in our room was a handwritten note about our reservation, the location of the restaurant, etc. Turndown service is wonderful, and they leave a little treat bedside.

I could go on, but let's just say two days was not nearly long enough at this wonderful resort. It was the perfect way to begin our three week vacation in the Caribbean!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SunWanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

I have in fact been to the sandpiper about 5 times and I have never been disappointed. All of the staff do try their best to make sure you have the best stay which suits you, but without being to in your face. The facility's throughout the hotel are outstanding. They have everything from an Internet room to a beach bar.
The best which the sandpiper is located on is to die for! With white sand and clear flat turquoise sea.
I have stayed at many hotels on the west and south coast of barbados and the sandpiper is by far the best, I would highly recommend it to anyone with little kids to elderly couples.

Stayed August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadia_Ronksley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

What to say? A little gem of a hotel, with a friendly, intimate feel.
The staff were all so lovely, from the restaurant staff, the guys at Harold's Bar, the gardeners, the cleaners, Leejay on reception, Winston, Andre, Ryan, Daniel, Shane and Lenny of the waterspouts team...everyone had a smile on their face and were happy to help.
Free waterspouts was a Godsend for our boys who learnt to water ski whilst there and the 3-4pm 'kids hour' with inflatables was much loved by many and offered a great opportunity for children staying there to meet others.
The complimentary two hour tennis clinic (Mon-Sat)\was much enjoyed also.
The restaurant was great and offered some of the nicest food we tasted during our whole stay.
A lovely beach, and beautifully kept gardens. As night falls, torch lights all over the property are lit which makes for a lovely sight.
We met many repeat customers who were all very happy to be there, as we were.
A very hard place to leave, we'll be back for sure next year. Counting the days already :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nattydread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A small, first class beach hotel. The rooms were fabulous, our suite had a kitchen, lounge and large, private outside terrace.The whole place was spotless and the staff incredibly polite and diligent, nothing was too much trouble. It has one of the best restaurants on the island yet they were perfectly happy if you preferred to go to the supermarket and use your kitchen to help keep on budget; nobody was in the least bit pushy. The beach team kept you supplied with chilled drinks with a delicious sorbet at 11.00am. The watersports guys were helpful and made sure everyone had a chance to get in to the sea. We would go back in an instant as the whole thos of the place was unassuming quality...keep it to yourself!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roger c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Less of a hotel and more like "coming home" this, surely, is one of the best small hotels in the world. We first came 20 years ago, and have just returned from our tenth stay. I think that says it all. The staff are fantastic - so helpful and with a high attention to detail; very friendly and entirely professional. There is a very low turn around rate of staff, so each time you go back, you are remembered.The food is fabulous and, although there are many excellent restaurants in the area, the restaurant at The Sandpiper is one of the best. Being small, The Sandpiper is very sociable, more like a small private club, and it is hard not to meet people. There are value added factors too, like the complimentary tennis and watersports. The sister hotel to the Sandpiper has an excellent spa too. This hotel is not a value hotel. If you want a value holiday, then this is not for you. But if you want to be pampered, looked after and are looking for something special, then this is absolutely one of the best. Shhhhh..... Don't tell anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.4 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
1.9 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#2 of 4 in Holetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper

Property: The Sandpiper
Address: Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sandpiper 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sandpiper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandpiper Hotel Saint James
Sandpiper Saint James
Sandpiper Hotel Saint James
Sandpiper Barbados
The Sandpiper Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing