We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandy Lane - a little bit of heaven”
Review of Sandy Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandy Lane Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sandy Lane - a little bit of heaven”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Sandy Lane is the best hotel in the Caribbean!! From the minute you get off the plane the pampering begins. You are met by a hotel representative and escorted through customs (no lines!) and when you arrive you are met with a wonderful tropical drink and escorted to your beautiful accommodations. The staff is so accommodating and the property is just beautiful. The little shops have beautiful things to buy and the spa, pool and restaurants are outstanding. The Concierge is on top of their game and everyone, housekeeping, bellman, drivers and pool staff make you feel like you are the most special people there. The beds are beyond comfortable and the room temperature is perfect. We were even offered help to pack when we were preparing to leave. Our wake up call was at 4:30 AM and coffee was delivered to our room at that hour to help us feel good before we left and if that wasn't enough, we were met by a hotel representative at the airport to get us through the check-in process with ease. The hotel is expensive, but worth every dollar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JoAnnandBobHuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    65
    45
    23
    21
See reviews for
223
407
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

It nearly pains me to admit that it would take a lot from a hotel to beat Sandy Lane. It may not be the coolest or the most modern or the hippest of hotels but to me it's the most comfortable, luxurious, special place. Service is second to none, location is fabulous and it has such a glamorous yet relaxed feel to it. Kids club must also be second to none as well as the spa. You can see my pictures and read more on my blog here http://doubleu1.blogspot.co.uk/2013/10/barbados-sandy-lane.html

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minna O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have stayed in many of the top hotels in the world, but this experience capped them all. From the warm and genuine welcome, the efficient and luxurious transfers at the beginning and end of our stay, to the elegant comfort and spaciousness of our room, it provided wonderful memories that made the expense well worthwhile. The General Manager and his team were regularly walking around, and were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Although we only had a short stay we were never made to feel less welcome. The Spa swimming pool is an innovative design, with interconnecting pools and a waterfall, and the Restaurants were first rate. The bay is superb for swimming, with soft sand and clear bue water. We could not fault the Hotel, and will certainly want to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms have a glorious sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjtNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Coming from the UAE where we are lucky and used to 5 star hotels and service, I wrongly assumed that I may have issues with the famous Sandy Lane having read some reviews...... however I had a superb time there, from the warm welcome to the sad goodbyes when I left, all was excellent and just look forward to getting time to go back again.

Room Tip: I was in Seahorse wing overlooking the sea and was quiet with exception of listening to the waves wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I went to Sandy Lane for a part of our honeymoon. We were there for 05 nights in the middle of April, 2013, and got the "romantic escapade" package.

The hotel has redefined what I thought was an excellent hotel. Right after we stepped out of the baggage claim area, there was a very nice lady in the classic Sandy Lane pink uniform with a little placard waiting for us. She walked us to the taxi area, where there was a Mercedes waiting for us with fresh water and some local magazines (the Mercedes was a little worn out - it was a Series C from the early 2000s, I guess).

When we got to the hotel - after about a 30 minutes ride -, we were greeted by a lot of people. There were so many people greeting us, it was almost overwhelming. They offered us a welcome cocktail and some nice little towels to freshen up and we went straight to our room to have our check-in (the check-in is made in the room, not in the front desk). Check-in, by the way, was a breeze, as I had filled up all me info in a questionnaire they sent before we got there.

The room was magnificent. We stayed in an Ocean Room in the upper floor. The view was simply amazing. In the morning, you get an amazing color of the ocean; in the afternoon, a beautiful sunset. We were just coming from the Sherry-Netherland Hotel in New York (which is also a very good hotel, with nice rooms), but the room at the Sandy Lane is way better. For starters, it`s huge. You get a very nice balcony where you can enjoy your view. The bathroom is gigantic with a nice tub (unfortunately, it was not a tub with jets, but it was a big tub though) and an amazing shower with 05 jets. Also, you have digital controls on the walls where you can play with the lights, turn the volume of the TV up and down, set the "do not disturb" or "clean room", open/close drapes, etc. By the bed, you have a sort of an Ipad where you can control pretty much everything in the room (including the AC, lights, drapes, etc) and it also gives you the time and the weather forecast.

Hotel facilities are great. The beach is fantastic. In the first day, we picked a spot and it was ours for the rest of our stay. The only minor problem is that there is a construction at the end of the north bay (I think it's a private villa) which made some noise in the first day while we were at the beach. Also, there are several catamarans (by several, I mean 3 or 4) that "park" nearby the hotel for people to swim; as they sometimes play loud music, that was a little annoying. But they don't stay for very long.

The pool was pretty nice as well. There is no ocean view from the pool, but you are surrounded by a beautiful garden, right by the Spa. The Spa is fantastic. Simply the best one I've ever seen. We had four different massages and it was great. At the spa, you have a smaller pool with warm water, with special relaxing jets. Fantastic. Also at the spa, you have the gym, which is fully equipped with brand new Life Fitness apparel. Very, very good.

The food at the hotel was amazing. Breakfast is enormous, with pretty much anything you can think of. We usually had a small lunch by the beach or the pool. At dinner, we went to L'Acajou for 04 nights, as it's simply amazing. There's a gentleman playing the piano every night. The food is fantastic; every day was a new discovery. You must know, however, that the food is pricey; by the way, everything at the hotel is more expensive than in most other hotels. Yet, it's the price you pay when you want really top-notch service. This is really not your typical hotel.

Last but not least, the staff of the hotel is out of this world. I've never met such a wonderful staff. They were all - from the people we saw and talked to everyday to the people we saw only once - extremely friendly. It's quite impressive the amount of training Sandy Lane must give to its staff. We were even surprised one evening, when we got to our room and there were roses all around - they new of our honeymoon. Such a nice touch.

Overall, this hotel has set a new standard in terms of what I think a hotel should be like. I would recommend to anyone who's looking for a relaxing and romantic vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filipeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I was a little sceptical at first as I don't like 'posh'.....however this place is just wonderful, I think the staff make it particularly special.they are welcoming, friendly, lovely and discreet. Truly was a spectacular week.....

Room Tip: Doesnt really matter which room you're in they are all beautiful and the hotel is not large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nenedeblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

3rd visit. Staff are excellent, place is beautiful, standards high. If you are dithering about going, just go. Yes, it is expensive, but it is an experience that will stay with you for a long time - and if you cannot chill out and relax here, then you really need to look at your life.
The Coopers, Hertfordshire

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoNameHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint James Parish
0.9 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
611 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
1.4 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
757 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,012 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lane Hotel

Property: Sandy Lane Hotel
Address: Sandy Lane, BB24024, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandy Lane Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and exclusive, Sandy Lane is set in an ancient mahogany grove overlooking a 1000 foot crescent of gorgeous white sand beach. Accommodations include 112 rooms and suites as well as a stunning 5-bedroom villa. With a magnificent 47,000-square-foot spa, four restaurants, six bars, nine floodlit tennis courses, beachside service, 45 holes of championship golf and The Treehouse Club facility for kids and teens, Sandy Lane will cater to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandy Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Lane Resort
Sandy Lane Barbados
Hotel Sandy Lane
Sandy Lane Hotel Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing