We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Sandy Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Lane Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We've dreamed of staying here for years.
Finally we did, just for 2 nights.

The ocean view room on the 3rd floor was amazing. So much room, such a wonderful view.
Comfy beds, luxurious bathroom, brillaint media centre.

The breakfast was out of this world, surely anything and everything you could want. All fresh, tasty and in the perfect setting.
Dinner at Bajan Blue, though expensive, was perfect in every way.

The staff at Sandy Lane provide and excellent service in all areas of the hotel.

The pool area is so clean and beautiful, though there were a lot of children there, so it's not the most peaceful place.

The beach area is well attended, the loungers are so comfy!! Paparazzi round the corner taking photos of this week's celebs! The sea here is warm, shallow at first and the pontoon is fun to swim out to.

All in all it was a dream come true, everything was as wonderful as expected, many things surpassed that expectation!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom-Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 889 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

I thought the Sandy Lane had the best service of any hotel in the Carribbean nthat we had ever stayed at. The staff was highly attentive to all our needs.
The room, though a bit smaller than others we have stayed in, was beautiful, and wiith a well=appoingted bathrrom. There was a lovly patio, on which we spent most of our 'room time'.

The food in both diningrooms was excellent, andthe luch on the vderanda was also delightful.
A very pleasant feature was that you were assigned a beach chair, and it was hyours for the entire stay.
One evening there was an excellent cultural show on gthe terracde, free for hogtel guests.
We are not golfers, but there are two and a hjalf golf coursed attached to the hotel.
One caveat - it is VERY expensive - but worth the price

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on a floor where we could walk out from our patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

On a recent trip to Sandly Lane we found many of the staff had poor attitudes and delivered poor service to guests. On many occasions we had issues with the restaurant and bar service and instead of finding solutions the staff just compounded them further. Supervisory staff that we encountered were poorly trained in conflict resolution and would only repeat "I am only trying to do my job" - I have news for Sandly lane, we are all only trying to do our job!. I would recommend management engage in a staff exchange program as it is clear sandy lane staff are not aware what are the international standards of such a calibre hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
49  Thank BGI99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

There are several top quality hotels around the Caribbean. Just to mention a few : La Samanna/St Martin, Guanahani and Isle de France/St. Barts, Parrot Cay/Turk & Caicos, Caneel Bay/St John, Cap Juluca/Anguilla, One & Only/Nassau, Half Moon/Jamaica, etc.
What puts Sandy Lane apart from them is that on top of a perfect location, which it shares with all the above mentioned, this hotel, in its reencarnation after the rebuilding done in the nineties, created an architectural elegance difficult to match.
Caribbean luxury resorts mostly go for very nice styles in a casual relaxed beach atmosphere. Sandy Lane opted for something that looks very classical outside and from the inside could easily blend into any Interior of a British country house hotel.
Oversized rooms, huge patios or terraces with sofas and armchairs, marble on floorings, door frames and bathroom, huge bathtub, separate WC area and oversized shower cabin with marble bench and multinosel jets provide a sense of elegance which is unique in the Caribbean.
Atention to details as a small bar area with Nespresso, honor bar and everything you need, wood claded closet interiors as of the 19th century, beautiful doble sliding doors accesing the bathroom, 7 automation panels through the room which control whatever you could imagine including the 52' LCD hidden in a frame as a painting, bathrobes of the highest quality cloth, a heavenly bed, all of them make the experience of staying in this hotel something above average.
The public areas with its 2 restaurants, library and bar are extremely elegant and down to any simple chair every piece of furniture is of the outmost quality and taste.
The pool is a little overblown : huge, with cascades, sunken bar and multiform, could have been a little more understated. In any case it will impress anybody.
The Spa is astonishing for the Caribbean. To find something similar you would have to visit Chewton Glen's Spa in the UK. Elegant, huge, tasteful, sophisticated is how I would describe it.
The staff is very well trained, everybody very kind and efficient. The Manager seems to know his job and takes advantage of the well educated inhabitamts of this little but succesfull country.
If you are looking for the top luxury Caribbean hotel and you want elegant formal interiors of top quality with a European Spa, choose Sandy Lane.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This resort leaves out no detail. It is amazing on every level. It is expensive, but in this case, you get what you pay for. The service exceeds almost every other resort we have been to. The beach is very pretty as well as private and the spa is over the top. We are already planning our next trip back.

Room Tip: upgrade to the ocean view, it is absolutely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shellgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely 9 night break at Sandy Lane. It is about 8 years since we were last year and it hasnt changed a bit. Still absolutely fabulous from the minute you arrive to the minute you sadly leave.

We really cant find fault with this hotel in general although there were a couple of very minor issues that interested us.

Firstly, after arriving, being shown to your room and AFTER tipping both check in lady and bag guy, you find a letter on your desk to advise you that there is a no tipping policy at the hotel! The letter states that should you wish to tip at the end of your stay, then please feel free to do so where any gratuities will be shared equally amongst the resort staff. This is fine but a bit like shutting the door after the horse etc.......

We had no problem with this as it was policy but still prefer to tip those who show the most attentive service and helpfulness throughout out stay. Also at the end of the trip and whilst checking out there is no mention of this "end of stay tipping" at all and you are left feeling a little mean!

Having said that the hotel and staff are amazing and should probably get an equal share of tips but still........

Rooms are still great with an updated in room system including the lights, tv, curtains etc which is all fab. Our room was in the Orchid wing which is overlooking the gardens but very pretty.

WiFi is complimentary throughout the hotel but can be a little erratic in connection - we lived however.

Couple of issues in our room like a light bulb being out throughout our stay and a panel in the wardrobe being a little loose, but these are fairly minor so we didnt really worry.

All restaurants are great with L'acajou being our favourite, with the food being innovative and well presented. Bajan Blue is great but sometimes there is just too much choice (not to mention too much on the plate) - pick a theme and stick to it!! Spa Cafe is great for lunch by the pool.

Yes, as in other reviews, it is expensive but you get what you pay for in this life and I for one don't mind paying for this kind of luxury!

Will definitely be back sometime and I am sure they will remember our names!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richandjaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

January was our fourth trip to Sandy Lane. Although it gets more and more expensive, we find ourselves finding reasons to stay a night longer every year: what started as 7 nights has gradually morphed into 11 or 12. The reason is because they know what makes a hotel tick: very good staff, lots of them, using your name (but not in a fake way) and having things like a top class spa and choice of restaurants.

As an earlier reviewer has said, it's not the best beach, it's not the most modern or beautiful rooms - but it just works. The whole point of a holiday is to become totally relaxed, and this is exactly what happens to a different level at Sandy Lane.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Businessman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyLaneHotel, Resident Manager at Sandy Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Thank you, on behalf of the entire team at Sandy Lane, for taking the time to post your comments and for your kind review of our resort.

It is always our great pleasure to welcome our guests who have stayed with us repeatedly and who fully enjoy all our resort has to offer.

We are disappointed that our rooms are not fully to your satisfaction and wish to reassure you that we are continually enhancing our product. Tidal changes occasionally alter the physical appearance of all beaches. At Sandy Lane we are fronted by 1,000 feet of pristine, white-sand, coral beach, considered by many to be one of the finest on the island and in the Caribbean.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are pleased to learn that with each lengthened visit, you enjoy our top class spa, fine selection of restaurants and our warm staff. We believe that our staff is truly one of our greatest assets and appreciate that you highlighted our Barbadian hospitality.

If you have any photographs or videos from your stay that you think capture the essence of the resort, please do upload onto Trip Advisor and visit us on Facebook, Twitter, Flickr and YouTube where you can share your Sandy Lane memories with other guests.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandy Lane soon, for another totally relaxing experience.

With warm regards,
Eric R. Mapp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint James Parish hotels
0.9 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
646 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#1 of 4 in Holetown
476 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lane Hotel

Address: Sandy Lane, BB24024, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saint James Parish
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Price Range: $1,306 - $2,912 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandy Lane Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and exclusive, Sandy Lane is set in an ancient mahogany grove overlooking a 1000 foot crescent of gorgeous white sand beach. Accommodations include 112 rooms and suites as well as a stunning 5-bedroom villa. With a magnificent 47,000-square-foot spa, four restaurants, six bars, nine floodlit tennis courses, beachside service, 45 holes of championship golf and The Treehouse Club facility for kids and teens, Sandy Lane will cater to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sandy Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Lane Resort
Sandy Lane Barbados
Hotel Sandy Lane
Sandy Lane Hotel Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing